Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original "Psycho"
Well, I know this isn't the most fun film to watch, afterall it tells the real life story of Ed Gein, the man who inspired the films "Psycho" and "Silence of the Lambs".
But it is a brutally honest look at the life of this famous serial killer (the first person to be given that label).
I think this film is very well put together, giving a balanced look at...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by H. Trivass

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serial Killer Fun
Ed Gein was notorious in the 1950's for his crimes against people. Theseincluded digging up dead people, making them into attractive interiouritems and shrinking their heads, as well as then going on to kill peopleand eat them/make fetching suites out of their skins. Inspiring suchcharacters as Norman Bates, Buffalo Bill and The Leatherface clan, thisstory differs in that...
Published on 26 April 2004 by Mr. Robert A. Spacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serial Killer Fun, 26 April 2004
By 
Ed Gein was notorious in the 1950's for his crimes against people. Theseincluded digging up dead people, making them into attractive interiouritems and shrinking their heads, as well as then going on to kill peopleand eat them/make fetching suites out of their skins. Inspiring suchcharacters as Norman Bates, Buffalo Bill and The Leatherface clan, thisstory differs in that it's REAL. The story sticks to the facts, onlydramatizing them where nessessary. Perhaps the american censoring board,coupled with a compact special effects budget meant we don't get to seethe crimes in their full horrific glory, but still a good film, underratedin it's popularity. One for serial killer fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original "Psycho", 23 Mar 2006
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I know this isn't the most fun film to watch, afterall it tells the real life story of Ed Gein, the man who inspired the films "Psycho" and "Silence of the Lambs".
But it is a brutally honest look at the life of this famous serial killer (the first person to be given that label).
I think this film is very well put together, giving a balanced look at the man, both from his point of view and the point of view of other people. This man was clearly insane, and we see that if this had been noticed earlier, lives would've been spared.
I have to say, at one point I did feel sorry for Ed Gein. Although I do not, in any way shape of form, condone what he did, this man was lonely, troubled and mentally ill. He had a bad childhood, full of death and pain, he idolised his mother (who was always nasty to him) and her death was the final straw. He felt like his world had collapsed around him. It got to the point where he even tried Vodoo to bring his mother back to life. Eventually he did, but it was all in his head.
A brutal look at a very troubled mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Innacurate portrayal., 22 July 2009
By 
Ms. E. C. Danaher "night hawk" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
This film was a very innacurate portrayal of Ed Gein. I base this on the fact that I've read a lot of credible sources with information about his life, including the book 'Deviant'.

I suppose the aim of the film was to entertain, so I give it the benefit of the doubt for creating a character that may fit in with a traditional horror flick, however I didn't find this film particularly entertaining, and if they'd depicted him accurately maybe they could of salvaged this film.

Not everything about this film was incorrect, but it just didn't feel right. I didn't really get the feel for the dreary wisconsin town either, which is something I always picture when thinking of Ed Gein, as it only adds to the creepyness of the situation.

I think the actor did an alright job, and the actress who played his mother seemed to be okay too. But if you're interested in the history of Ed Gein better go watch a documentary. If you want to watch a good film, go watch something else.

Two stars because the makers of this film tried hard, and the acting was alright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Fan, 15 May 2007
By 
This film is really well done. It doesn't need to be gory or even scary, it simply tells Ed Gein's story as it really happened. Terrific acting and every scene is beautifully shot. Ed Gein had a level of weird that is still unsurpassed and the scene where he dances in his skin suit banging his little drum is really freaky. It's a creepy, intelligent film which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to red, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
Not read this book yet I have only picked up snippets about him . Iam wading through my collection of true crimes and murders but seems very interesting .seller sent book very quickly no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great DVD if like me, you are into serial killer genre. There is definitely some links to Psycho in this film, but In my opinion, this film is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Acting & Realistic..., 4 April 2010
No need to just this insight into a fascinating psychotic Killer Ed Gein. I could talk forever about the perplexed mind and speculated motives from books as well. But this Movie is one of the best in style with BTK killer (SERIAL KILLERS IN FANCY MOVIE STYLE shooting we see here). Not same style, BTK in Kansas and more hyped modern movie style there, also worth checking out.

Ed Gein derives from a Northern Farmer Desolated realm of Winconsin. much more obscure, alittle town with around 632 citiziens only. Plainfield Cemetary surely must be forever haunted.
Well I will not reveal too much, but its a "Must" too see!
seen it many times, perhaps ten?

However find it stupid to READ the movie front DVD cover, Ed Gein described as First serial killer in America. Ohh they always been there, BTW. you forgot H. H. Holmes from Chicago, in the turn of the 1900 century, who killed in hundreds and Albert Fish operated before Ed Gein, The vampire of Brooklyn, a man with abnormal psychopathic S/M Sadistic mind, a Cannibal devouring children. Jane T. or the unknown infamous house-invasion Axe Butcher, crawling at night into houses from the streets of New Orleans, more than 100 years ago, plus countless clandestine Killers, often unknown to many people and medias and such!

Ed Gein was more of a collector and tried to ressurrect the dead. But killed only few compared to others?. And the psychosis and indoctrinating of his Mother played a huge role in this yearning within him. Very perplexed that there are not more valid information about this real living man, once upon a time. there are gateways to annihilation within this abyss.

More DVDS, with real analysing of criminal minds, like Ed Gein and others included, could be you should check out what i written of Dvds below, if this movie is for you?

Try Also:

America`s serial killers - portraits in evil. (A 10 episode Box-Set, get it at Amazon)

Most Evil - Doctor Michael Stone (Another Box-Set including Gein also, get it at Amazon)

Greetings,
PH.D Madsen (Copenhagen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting version of well-known story., 9 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is well-known that Ed Gein was the real-life inspiration for The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and Psycho. This film tells the story,through flashbacks in the mind of Ed Gein,and through scenes of his everyday life and interactions with the people of Plainfield,Wisconsin. His overbearing and religious mother seems to take a lot of the blame for her son turning into a monster. The father is an unaffectionate bully, but does not feature much. There are genuinely creepy scenes, and the sets and the period are obviously well-researched. Steve Railsback as Ed, and Carrie Snodgress as the mother,are very effective.

My only problem with the movie was that I did not feel I had learned anything about Ed Gein,or what made him do what he did. His line:" A man needs his hobbies " just does not do it for me. He could have taken up fishing, football or swimming. I never got the sense of really knowing the man. Perhaps his real-life secrecy meant that little is really known about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Psychology to the fore..., 18 July 2008
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, it's not the most dramatic of serial killer biopics, nor the most intelligent (that honour would probably go to John McNaughton's excellent Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer), but the psychology is interesting: a violent pig farmer for a father, bible-spouting hell-raising "harpie" of a mother (use of that the word got Gein's brother killed for his pains) and educationally subnormal son, haunted by a fearful childhood, living alone in a remote house, reading about anatomy, death and head shrinkers while grave robbing to resurrect the recently dead. Definite recipe for disaster, that. Especially when he used bones of the dead to make furniture, amongst many other souvenirs!

Contrary to other reviews here, Gein's story was primarily the model for the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Psycho. This has long since passed into American folklore, but it does make you wonder how many more serial killers lived out in the hills in the bible belt.

This is not a definitive film, though its virtues are worthy of three stars: highly evocative sets, locations and cinematography, powerful and understated performances, notably from Steve Railsback and Carrie Snodgress, and an attempt by the scriptwriters to get under the skin (literally) of its subject. Its failings relate to the weak suspense and dramatic climax. But it certainly ain't a 1-star film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very upset, 11 Sep 2007
By 
G. T. Brown (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Gein [DVD] (DVD)
yes , the facts were there , but the film? it was slow and not as scary as reading about this guy , i read about this guy for a long time and none of the shocking stats that make you shudder were in this film.
i will buy the other ed gein titles and hopefully get scared by a scary film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadc772b8)

This product

Ed Gein [DVD]
Ed Gein [DVD] by Travis McKenna (DVD - 2005)
17.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews