Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Guys
This is a fantastic package: all three series, combined with various extras for a great price
For some reason, this seems to be an underrated comedy that doesn’t get much mention, but there are some brilliant characters here, and although the formula perhaps gets a little tired by the end of the third and final series, episodes like the camping exercise and the...
Published on 7 Nov 2005 by Mr. D. A. Cure

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pioneer of Mockumentary,a unique watch !
This comedy disguised as a police documentary is a great and unique watch!

At first when I saw this on TV, I instantly clicked with it and thought it was great idea.

I think it was the first mockumentary style comedy I saw, probably not as polished/sharp as the legendary Office, but still a great watch none the less.

The main thing is it's...
Published on 18 Dec 2006 by Low-Quality


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Guys, 7 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic package: all three series, combined with various extras for a great price
For some reason, this seems to be an underrated comedy that doesn’t get much mention, but there are some brilliant characters here, and although the formula perhaps gets a little tired by the end of the third and final series, episodes like the camping exercise and the fete are hilarious! I would recommend this for fans of The Office, and perhaps Alan Partridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny cop show, 24 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
how unusual, it's funny and my young son loved it,spoof fly on the wall series ,give it a go ,i thought it was funnier than the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly recommended comedy gem, 25 Aug 2005
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I caught the second and third series of this show when it originally aired on the BBC back in the late nineties, and have been waiting to see it released on DVD ever since. And now seeing the first series for the first time (without a laugh track - which makes no difference) confirms this show as an comedy gem. It's not hard to see Operation Good Guys as a more surreal ancestor of 'The Office' though some people may disagree. I know a lot of people who might not have seen or even heard of this show - so check it out on DVD now!! Also includes some good extras - including a 'Where Are They Now' segment on the Good Guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Spoof "Fly-on-the-Wall" Series, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny series which paved the way for future and more well-known programmes such as "The Office". I've always found people either "get" this type of humour or they don't, so if you like "Spinal Tap" or "Brasseye" then give it a go. The episodes do have a low-budget feel but this does not make them any less funny.

I remember when the series was first shown it received less attention than it deserved, and I was surprised the BBC commissioned a second and then a third series. I'm very glad they did because the series got funnier as it went along, the best episodes and laugh-out-loud moments appear in series two and three. The downside is that from the second series onwards, a laughter track was added which was completely unnecessary and detracts from the "documentary" feel. It's a great shame the DVD release did not have an option to turn this off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series of laughter and total quality, 1 Aug 2007
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Before the boring and mundane series of The Office, there was Operation Good Guys. This DVD box set is just written to perfection. It is so funny that I cannnot stop watching it. The first series for me is the least funny of the three, but at the same time superbly written and excecuted. The jokes and mayhem just get better and better in the next two series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS, 18 Sep 2005
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
It's one of the funniest things I have ever seen. I have watched it so many times and the other people I have passed it on to have said the same. Anyone who has watched it tends to quote lines from the series. It's london humour at it's best. Sorry to be a cliche. This mix of characters is excellent. Often something so simple as this in it's production is so funny. For me it is one of the best comedy series for decades. Look, if you have a good sense of humour and like Only fools and Horses and the pheonix nights, office etc comedy genius of this world - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's going to be a hobling!, 4 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic package: all three series, combined with various extras for a great price
For some reason, this seems to be an underrated comedy that doesn’t get much mention, but there are some brilliant characters here, and although the formula perhaps gets a little tired by the end of the third and final series, episodes like the camping exercise and the fete are hilarious! I would recommend this for fans of The Office, and perhaps Alan Partridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overloooked !, 30 May 2006
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The first time I cast eyes on Operation Good guys , I couldn't work out whether it was real or not so I turned over . Then one night , with nothing else on I persevered with it , and I wholeheartedly urge you to do the same ! This DVD is a ' must have ' , forget the Office , with which it has been compared , just sit and watch the episode called 'Castaway' , David Brents dance was funny yes , but D.I. Beach's run-in with the leechs is something else !! if that doesn't have you rolling around the floor nothing will !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!!, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
These Guys are so funny, every time you watch it you will pick up on something else to laugh at in the background, delivered fast, and a great price that's worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult in waiting, 1 Dec 2010
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
It beats me how this has never become a cult classic; it is clear from other Amazon reviews that I am not alone in my affection and admiration for the programme. It has often been described as a precursor of "The Office," but while they are both "fly-on-the-wall" documentaries, the latter is much more low-key in its approach and is nowhere near as surreal. "The Office" is undoubtedly a TV classic, but trust me, this will have you weeping with laughter. Incredibly, the dialogue has been largely improvised by the very talented cast. It is a real ensemble performance, but one must single out for special commendation David Gillespie's Jim Beach, a comic creation to rank alongside Captain Mainwearing and Basil Fawlty. It would be equally remiss not to pay tribute to John (Strings) Beckett's songs and the many guest stars (and BBC executives!) who pop up from time to time. The "extras" are very funny. Indeed, my only complaint concerns the laughter track which has been added to Series 2; it really does not work and is absolutely unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation Good Guys Complete - Series 1-3 [DVD]
£7.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews