Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


447 of 455 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the seminal pieces of television broadcasting
Kenneth Clark (1903-83) was a distinguished English art historian, and very much a member of the old school. Patrician, cultured, privileged, he saw art as somehow pure, as untouched by the corruption of politics and materialism. 'Civilisation' is not so much a television series as a lecture series, one which represents a fascinating watershed in the history of mass...
Published on 21 Mar 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
177 of 209 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to love
Judging by the other reviews here it seems that not many people are going to agree with me, but in the belief that dissent is good and that civilisation thrives on alternate points of view I'm going to challenge a lot of the superlatives that have been thrown at the series.

Speaking as someones who is passionately interested in the arts I was surprised that I...
Published on 2 Jan 2008 by Hector Lerbioz


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond all superlatives, 16 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series surpasses all superlatives in its excellence. Not only from the point of Lord Clarke narrative but the magnificence of what he describes.

Here in one programme as yet not equalled in its comprehensive richness by anything to date is all the aesthetic beauty of our western culture from the so called dark ages to comparatively recent times.

Please ignore the complaints that Lord Clarke has not included the riches of Eastern culture indeed that was not his intent. Indeed it would have made the series far too superficial even in the 640 minutes alloted to it!

But he has delved more deeply into the growth of Western Civilisation from earliest Christian times and brought vividly to a wide audience not only the wonders of our culture but its evolution. This is a sublime feast for lovers of Western art that should make us justly proud of our heritage.

Do not hesitate to purchase this beautiful series, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely good but let's face it, one of a kind, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Norman Housley (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Rewatching it I constantly thought how impossible it would be for a TV channel to show anything today that was so erudite, so uncompromising, so elitist. But talk about dumbing down has to take into account not just the volume of informative TV that is shown today, but also the extraordinary gamble the BBC took back in 1969, in making such a big investment in unabashedly highbrow programmes. Perhaps it could be regarded as the swansong of the Reithian ideal? What Clark and the production team manage to deliver is, for all its shortcomings, a comprehensive assessment of what Civilisation means. Again and again you are astonished not just by Clark's knowledge but also by his bravado, his willingness to dismiss artists he doesn't rate, his reminiscences, his insights and the connections he makes. It is great television, one of a handful of series that justifies the medium - again, from a Reithian perspective of course.

It has also become a first class piece of cultural history in its own right. Throughout the series the threat of nuclear war and of the challenge to established social mores from the youth revolution shadows and informs what the presenter says. Most dramatically at the close, but actually throughout the programmes, this bestows on Civilisation an extraordinary elegiac quality that enhances both its charm and its intellectual edge.

Most importantly, this series makes you think about what civilisation does mean, what a society's values are, and what makes for a healthy community. It informs, provokes and stimulates. It is a real treasure, but an unrepeatable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to civilisation, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Derek Greatrex (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series when it was first shown, and what a relief to get back to civilisation, not just in the subject matter but in the presentation! In those days Lord Clark could assume that his audience had an intelligent interest in the subject, a love of beauty in great art and music, some understanding of spirituality and an attention span longer than that of a fretful toddler. He felt no need to patronise them with inept reconstructions of events, but allowed the text and the beautiful camerawork to have their effect; and no CGI in those days, thank goodness. What some people see as his dated speech and clothes make him, to me, far more worthy of respect than a presenter who looks and sounds like a scruffy teenager. When old folk like me complain that television has declined, this is what it's declined from. Watch and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but NOT technically perfect, 28 May 2011
By 
Lee Mendham "Lee M" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen reviews here and elsewhere which gush over the quality of Civilisation's Blu-Ray release, but while I hate to burst anyone's bubble I'm afraid I can't agree that this is a perfect presentation. If there's one thing the series tells us, after all, it is that works of art - and there's no doubt that this series is one - should be scrutinised with a careful, dispassionate eye.

It is undoubtedly true that the high definition transfer shows off all of the great works of art and architecture in far greater detail than ever before, but despite claims that the image has been restored it often flickers and wobbles in an annoyingly distracting fashion, even on static shots where it's most noticeable. These problems were present on the previous DVD release, and I'm hugely disappointed that the BBC didn't spend the time and effort to fix them for the show's high definition presentations. For that reason I can't give the blu-ray five stars.

The depth of Clark's scholarship, together with the improved picture detail, mean that I would still recommend this blu-ray to anyone who's interested, but always with the caveat that the technical quality is NOT as good as we've come to expect from most blu-ray releases. The BBC really must do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Self-effacing History from a Self-effacing Gentleman of the Old School, 2 Sep 2013
By 
G. HOLMES (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surely, Lord Clark's famous series of cinematic lectures on his interpretations of civilisation, invented the genre of the popular television documentary series? I've watched this episodic history so many times on live television, and latter on DVD that I find myself mouthing Lord Clark's dialogue that I must have learned almost subconsciously by heart. This Blu-ray edition has really revivified the viewing experience for me at least. I thought the DVD rendition was amazing, but the transfer to Blu-ray is breathtaking. I think Blu-ray has made the most of the 35mm colour film stock the series was originally photographed in. The whole viewing experience is a bit like an expertly shot moving colour-slide show where the colours are vivid, and the images are extra-sharply focused. We've all come a long way from when we thought VHS was fantastic haven't we? 'Civilisation', is a must-have for the amature art history nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark documentary, 29 April 2014
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
The greatest problem with this 1969 BBC documentary series is its name. It really doesn’t cover civilization, but only some parts of culture, mostly music, painting, sculpture and architecture. Science, for example, is only dealt with tangentially. And it really doesn’t cover the whole world but only European culture. And West European culture at that, since the important cultural contribution of Eastern European countries like Russia is almost unmentioned. Even the art of places like Scandinavia and the Iberian Peninsula, which most people would include in Western Europe, are barely mentioned. And it only covers the world from the Middle Ages on, with scant mention of the ancient Greco Roman world. So basically, this series is about high culture in a relatively small geographical area, mostly Great Britain, France, the Low Countries, Italy and the German speaking world, between the late middle ages up to the beginning of the 20th century. Yet what incredible art was created in those places during that period. In our politically correct age, we would like to believe that every country and every people has contributed equally to world culture. Unfortunately, this is not true. European culture, especially the high culture of the period between the renaissance and around 1900 achieved a depth, a craft, a complexity, a moral seriousness unparalleled in human history. So if you are willing to accept that this TV program is not really about global civilization but about a qualitatively important subset of it, then this is a magnificent TV program.

With his upper class accent, politically conservative views and erudite art knowledge, anchor Kenneth Clark (an art historian of repute) seems almost the stereotype of the English gentlemanly aristocratic scholar. As he visits historical locations in several countries, the stunning color photography, vividly showing us how Western Europe looked during the late 1960s, becomes another considerable plus of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KEEPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER, 16 May 2011
By 
Roger Clark (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this series on DVD as an exercise in nostalgia. A couple of radio critics had said the programmes were dated and you couldn't get away with Clark's patrician style of lecturing today.

Maybe... But listen to what he's saying. Look at what he's showing us. Within a few minutes I was sitting bolt upright in my chair. This was no exercise in nostalgia. What Clark was saying was more relevant today than when this series was first broadcast in 1969. Then the West was menaced by Communism. Now it's menaced by militant Islam - just as it was in the past Clark points out. What seemed like quaint references to the religious foundations of Western civilisation in the atheistic 1960s now have a new relevance. They show what we're fighting for. The series helps define where we came from and where we're going. It's a classic and like all classics speaks beyond its time. Critics of Western civilisation, especially those who want to destroy it, should view the programmes as well. They'd learn a lot and might become more civilised.

Now Kenneth Clark's "Civilisation" has been remastered and released on Blu-ray and it keeps getting better and better.

Critics may quibble about the occasional scratch on the film, or a slight wobble here and there. But overall the series looks sumptuous in Blu-ray. In fact, it looks better than most people would have seen it when first shown in 1969! Or for that matter any time since on TV. I first saw these programmes on a small screen in black and white. The loss was enormous. By making the series in colour and on 35mm the production team locked up an enormous amount of detail in the film - storing up treasures for the future. Only then would the technology become available so we could view the programmes in all their glory. Now - for the first time - with HD and Blu-ray can we appreciate what is there.

The series was originally broadcast in a 4:3 format - before widescreen TV came in - and that's retained for this Blu-ray edition. No trimming, so we see the entire image. This means black margins on either side of a modern screen, but that's better than losing valuable parts of the carefully composed images. The colours are gorgeous and you can see every detail in the works of art. Clark now seems to come into the room. I noticed facial expressions - sometimes a twinkle in the eye - that I never noticed before. These make him more human and his mandarin style more acceptable.

Of course, not everyone will agree with everything Kenneth Clark says. How could they? You would have to be a clone of Kenneth Clark to do that. But so what? The series has sweep and stimulates ideas. If you're one of those people who has dismissed these programmes out of hand - even laughed at them - think again. This series was groundbreaking when it first came out. It was enormously ambitious and pioneered many techniques we now take for granted. From it flowed a huge number of documentaries that have graced our screens ever since. Kenneth Clark was a highly intelligent and knowledgeable. Only a fool would reject him out of hand. Many of the things he said are relevant today and have more resonance now than when he first uttered them.

The series was commissioned by David Attenborough who was head of the BBC's new TV network, BBC Two. In the booklet that accompanies this boxed set Attenborough explains how the series was conceived. As a boy he had subscribed to a partwork called "An Outline of History" edited by H.G. Wells. 'I remember how excited I had been that a great writer had decided to tackle a major slab of knowledge about which I knew little and was going to give me an outline of it,' he says. 'Once I had absorbed what he had to say I believed I would be able to slot historical events into position.'

So Attenborough decided to commission a documentary similar to Well's partwork. 'Television was a visual medium,' he says. 'Why not survey the beautiful and influential works of art created by European artists in the last two thousand years and examine them accompanied by the loveliest music composed at the time they were created?'

But the series was more ambitious than that. It was more than a gorgeous slide-show. It was a 'history of ideas as illustrated by art and music.' Attenborough, therefore, invited one of the foremost art historians of the time, Kenneth Clark, to write and present the programmes.

Don't get hung up on the title. There are endless ways we can interpret civilisation. The BBC considered many titles including "One Thousand Years: Reflections on Art and Western Civilisation." This gets nearer to what the programmes are about, but was too ponderous. Clark said it would have been easy in the 18th century. Then you could have entitled the series: "Speculations on the Nature of Civilisation as illustrated by the Changing Phases of Civilised Life in Western Europe from the Dark Ages to the Present Day." But this was impracticable so they settled on what we have now.

There were 13 programmes - each 50 minutes long. They were concerned only with Western Europe. 'Obviously,' said Clark, 'I could not include the ancient civilisations of Egypt, Syria, Greece and Rome, because to have done so would have meant another ten programmes, at least; and the same was true of China, Persia, India and the world of Islam. Heaven knows, I had taken on enough ... Should I have then dropped the word "Civilisation"? I didn't want to, because the word had triggered me off, and remained a kind of stimulus; and I didn't suppose that anyone would be so obtuse as to think that I had forgotten about the great civilisations of the pre-Christian era and the East.'

Alas, there were! You can still find critics who rubbish the series because Clark failed to tell the whole history of mankind in 13 programmes. They miss the point. This is an outline of Western civilisation - one man's view of 'the new developments of the European mind,' as Clark put it. And he has many interesting things to say about it. The programmes are 'filled with great works of genius, in architecture, sculpture and painting, in philosophy, poetry and music, in science and engineering,' he said. 'There they are; you can't dismiss them. And they are only a fraction of what Western man has achieved in the last thousand years...'

Clark discussed the problems of making "Civilisation" in the Foreword to his book on the series. He points out that television is a different medium from print. You can go into intricate arguments on the written page, deal with abstract thought, add footnotes and qualifications and really spread yourself. With television time is limited. Every subject must be simplified. 'Only a few outstanding buildings or works of art can be used as evidence,' he said. 'Only a few great men can be named...Generalisations are inevitable...'

But television can do things that are impossible in print. 'I am convinced,' he writes, 'that a combination of words and music, colour and movement can extend human experience in a way that words alone cannot do. For this reason I believe in television as a medium, and was prepared to give up two years writing to see that could be done with it.'

And in his autobiography Clark wrote:- 'When I set about the programmes I had in mind Wagner's ambition to make opera into a gesamtkunstwerk - a total work of art - text, spectacle and sound all united.'

Yes, the series was that ambitious and a gigantic experiment. At that time no-one had attempted anything as challenging with so much filmed on location. "Civilisation" raised the standards of television. The medium was more than a Punch and Judy show. It could deal with serious subjects and communicate with a vast audience many of whom, at that time, lacked the opportunities to find out about the arts. The series may creak a little now - Clark himself thought it would be out of date in two or three years - but what is remarkable is how well it stands up to modern viewing. It's an exaggeration to say "Civilisation" is ground zero: intelligent television starts here. There were other intelligent programmes on TV at that time, but nothing on this scale. "Civilisation" is part of our heritage - essential viewing. Like a splendid wine it improves with age.

When first screened the series had enormous impact and changed people's lives. Clark received letters of praise from UK cabinet ministers (including a future prime minister) and three cardinals. People on the point of suicide changed their minds and carried on living. A student - as you can read in another review - changed his university course to art and Clark was mobbed like a film star when he came to the United States.

Inevitably there were critics. Satirists sniped. So did jealous intellectuals. Why hadn't they been chosen to present the series instead of Clark? Some were so wide of the mark you wonder how anyone could take them seriously. Still, you can have a good laugh at their absurdity. Marxists - remember them? - hated the series. Others claimed Clark's 'message was fundamentally positive and optimistic.' All Clark discussed, they asserted, was the steady march of progress of Western civilisation - a civilisation superior to all others. He did no such thing. The programmes contain scepticism and many doubts. Episode 12 is called 'The Fallacies of Hope.'

Unbelievably, a university lecturer complained about Clark's 'sophisticated vocabulary.' You needed a dictionary, she argued, to follow what Clark said although he translates foreign expressions and explains technical terms when he uses them. She objected to 'slow-moving and staid camera movements, fetishized close-ups, loving pans of great works of art, and dulcet tones of chamber music.' They conveyed, she said, 'an aura of serious contemplation.'

How, for heaven's sake, are you expected to examine great works of art - works of genius? Just a quick glance and move on laughing hysterically? As for music - there's a wide variety carefully chosen. Besides chamber music there's plainchant, symphonies, great choral works, opera, Monteverdi's Vespers, Josquin, William Walton, Stravinsky and a great deal more. Nearly all of it was written within 20 years of the object shown on the screen. So the music complements what we're watching. Is two minutes too long to listen to a church organ on which Bach and Mozart played? If you've got the attention span of that lecturer it is.

Those who adopt such a childish attitude will get little out of this series. The programmes are more subtle than critics claim and require an intelligent engagement on the part of the audience.

Writing in his autobiography in 1977 Clark said:- 'My approach to history was unconsciously different from that now in favour in universities, which sees all historical change as a result of economic and communal pressure. I believe in the importance of individuals, and am a natural hero-worshipper. Each programme had its hero - Charlemagne, the Abbot Suger, Alberti, Erasmus, Luther and Montaigne, Mozart, Voltaire, Jefferson, Rousseau, Wordsworth, and finally Brunel.'

Actually there were many more - Leonardo, Michelangelo, Turner - I could go on! One programme he pointed out was called "The Hero as Artist" ... 'The majority of people,' Clark contended, 'share my taste for heroes, whether football stars or pops singers, and so were glad of an historical survey that emphasised outstanding individuals rather than economic trends.'

And he did something else that was unfashionable. He dared to admire figurative art - images of living things - people, animals, plants - and the world around us. At a time when influential critics and museum directors were claiming abstract art was the only legitimate form of expression and attacking artists who dared paint a portrait, still life, or landscape, Clark defended this kind of art. The critics were blighting creative artists, he argued. In an essay published in 1981 Clark attacked what he called 'iconophobia' - the hatred of realistic images by those who argued it was wrong to depict natural objects and wanted them suppressed.

'When I was in New York a few years ago,' he wrote, 'not only were three of the chief public galleries - the Guggenheim, the Museum of Modern Art and the Whitney - almost exclusively devoted to non-representational art, but in the Metropolitan Museum, which was instituted for a very different purpose, the whole main floor had been emptied - Titian, Rembrandt, Rubens, Tiepolo, Degas, Cezanne - all banished, and in their places hung pictures that contained no image of anything on earth or in the waters.'

Influential critics had turned their back of works of genius and were encouraging everyone else to do the same. Such philistinism was doing enormous damage. Artists, said Clark, who failed to conform to this contemporary rejection of representational images had 'no hope of winning a competition or being chosen for an international exhibition unless they conform to it. A painter whose work I have long admired cannot get a teaching job at even the most humble provincial Art school because his work is naturalistic.'

Clark, however, was never hostile to modern art - just its excesses and the claim that only one kind of art deserved respect. "Civilisation" is a triumph of catholicity. Clark appreciated an extraordinary wide range of art. As one critic observed at the time:- 'Again and again he compels us to look at art and to see it afresh.'

The programmes not only deal with ideas; they're a celebration of beauty. Which are my favourite moments? Well, there's a shock at the beginning as Clark sits on a river bank in France in the sunlight near the Pont du Gard. However complex and solid civilisation seems, he tells us, indicating the enormous Roman aqueduct in the background, 'it is actually quite fragile. It can be destroyed.'

The programmes on the Renaissance are particularly satisfying. He thinks the palace of Urbino 'one of the most beautiful pieces of architecture in the world,' and the pictures prove it.

Monteverdi's Vespers sound as the camera swings round the mighty facade of Michelangelo's Vatican. The dome is much admired, but the design was modified by Della Porta after Michelangelo's death. 'Well,' says Clark with a shrug, 'we can go on admiring it, and think rather more of Della Porta.'

Then there's that marvellous moment at the beginning of the final programme when a helicopter - camera on board - sweeps up New York's East River. Diving beneath the Brooklyn Bridge - and accompanied by Walton's First Symphony - it heads towards the skyscrapers on Manhattan Island. New York, Clark informs us, 'took almost the same time to reach its present condition as it did to complete the Gothic cathedrals.' There is, however, a difference. One was built to the glory of God, the other to mammon. New York may looks like a celestial city from a distance. 'Come closer and it's not so good.'

Clark's favourite moment came at the end of the programme Grandeur and Obedience. He wanted to finish with the words:- 'I wonder if any thought that has helped forward the human spirit has been conceived or written down in an enormous room.' So they set up the camera at the end of a vast corridor in the Vatican. 'We had no need of lighting, as evening sunshine was pouring in through the windows,' he wrote. 'I walked away from the camera the whole length of the corridor and, still visible, disappeared through a door.' The camera pulled away at the same time, tracking back and back and back - the corridor stretching, it seemed, for ever into infinity ... 'In some ways it is the most effective shot in the whole series,' Clark thought.

Having said that, film is a difficult medium to work in. Every movie I've ever watched - including the great classics of Hollywood and Art cinema - has blemishes. There's always something one would like to change - some improvements that could be made. But in the end these are unimportant. The virtues far outweigh the faults. And that is true of "Civilisation". It was a huge pioneering effort and much longer than any feature film - 640 minutes. There was no way it could be perfect and satisfy everybody. The programmes are there to open minds and stimulate debate. Critics who thought they were smart and witty when they dismissed the series as "Trivialisation" missed the point. And none ever produced anything as good for television.

I could go on, but must stop somewhere. If you are intrigued by the programmes I recommend Jonathan Conlin's book on the making and reaction to the series. As you might expect it's called "Civilisation" and published in the BFI TV Classics series of books. You won't agree with everything Conlin says, but it's an intelligent analysis.

As for those who still snipe at the series I issue a challenge - produce something that's better than Kenneth Clark's "Civilisation." Go on - do it.

In the meantime, I recommend the series is included on every school and college art course and elsewhere in the curriculum. The programmes talk up to their audience, not down, and will make them think. Each episode is divided into chapters 7 or 8 minutes long. Even if teachers don't want to show their students whole episodes they could show extracts and stimulate interest that way. If educators are too myopic to show "Civilisation" then students can now buy the series on Blu-ray, or DVD, and watch it at home. They'll gain a wider appreciation of art and civilisation and be one-up on the class. And who knows - the series might change your life...

PS: Is too much to hope that Kenneth Clark's TV documentary "The Royal Palaces of Britain" will soon become available on Blu-ray and DVD? The film, which was produced jointly by the BBC and ITV, was a precursor to 'Civilisation' and a luxurious production. It was made in colour on 35mm stock and broadcast on Christmas day in 1966. The programme had music specially composed by Sir Arthur Bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVEN MORE RELEVANT TODAY, 29 Oct 2006
By 
Roger Clark (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
I HAVE UPDATED AND WRITTEN A MUCH LONGER REVIEW TO THE BLU-RAY EDITION OF THIS SERIES WHICH YOU MIGHT LIKE TO LOOK AT.

I bought this series as an exercise in nostalgia. A couple of critics on Radio 4 had said the programmes were dated and you couldn't get away with Clark's patrician style of lecturing today.

Maybe... But listen to what he's saying. Look at what he's showing us. Within a few minutes I was sitting bolt upright in my chair. This was no exercise in nostalgia. What Clark was saying was more relevant today than when this series was first broadcast in 1969. Then the West was menaced by Communism. Now it's menaced by militant Islam - just as it has been in the past as Clark points out. What seemed like quaint references to the religious foundations of Western civilisation in the atheistic 1960s now have a new relevance. They show what we're fighting for. And no, I'm not related to Kenneth Clark, though I did meet him a number of times. I think this series should be on the curriculum of every school. It helps define where we came from and where we should be going. It's a classic and like all classics speaks beyond its time. Critics of Western civilisation should view it as well. They'd learn a lot.

P.S. Since I wrote this review the series has come out on Blu-ray. I've made further comments about that edition here on Amazon. Looking at "Civilisation" on a big screen where you can see masses of detail that was invisible before not only enhances enjoyment, it helps understanding. Some of the critics are missing a lot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars especially enjoying is the lack of special effects, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
as the title gives away, I especially enjoy the lack of special effects that would and rightly so accompany the series if it were made today.

too much emphasis is placed on stimulating our senses with special effects, in fact, so effectively that it takes away from subtleties in case of

the Civilisation the following of the thought processes that led to the conclusions Kenneth Clark has come up with. In short it makes one think

rather than purely being bombarded with images and so encourages ones own imagination, more like reading a book does.

So personally thats why I like it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've waited 40 years to see these artworks in all their splendor splendor!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant documentary written by the insightful, articulate and interesting Kenneth Clark, which can only be fully appreciated with this Blu-ray edition – – – I've waited 40 years to see these artworks in all their splendor splendor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD]
Civilisation - Complete BBC Series [DVD] by Kenneth Clark (DVD - 2005)
£13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews