Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humax P.V.R Freeview Recorder
As a gadget person I'm always on the look out for something a little different. I wanted something to replace my old video recorder, and this looked just the job. With its built in freeview tuner, and Hard Disc its great for recording the 30 or so freeview channels, and the Electronic Program Guide (EPG) is very easy to use. It will record for up to 40 hours, thats around...
Published on 28 Dec 2004

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible customer service / continued breakdowns !
Initally I was pleased with this machine - however it broke down /froze /wiped all recorded programmes /hard disk error / made terrible noise back in july 2006 .

sent it back to Humax N.I. after much chasing around with their very poor customer service staff.

Exactly the same thing happened in October 2006 - sent back , took approx

four...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by disgruntled


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humax P.V.R Freeview Recorder, 28 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
As a gadget person I'm always on the look out for something a little different. I wanted something to replace my old video recorder, and this looked just the job. With its built in freeview tuner, and Hard Disc its great for recording the 30 or so freeview channels, and the Electronic Program Guide (EPG) is very easy to use. It will record for up to 40 hours, thats around 13 video tapes!!!! and the pictures stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humax box of magic, 28 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. D. Collier "cheese_block" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
Bought this item last month and so far I've been more than impressed. Initial setup was faultless, it quickly found all available channels and then poped up with it's clear crisp picture. The range of channels isn't bad, it's not sky and it doesn't allow you to pay for more, but that's freeview. The recording features are seemless with the fairly speedy 7-day programme guide, see a program you want and reserve it to be recorded. It doesn't allow you to record one program and watch another, but I think there's a new model coming out soon with allows this, and you can always watch the normal analogue whilst recording on the digital. It's not Sky+, but then you pay a fortune for that service and a subscription. I think Humax have come up with a fantastic box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Bargain, 30 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
Having been using this for about a year, I can recommend it whole heartedly. Quality is excellent and it is easy to use once you get used to it. I think that I can say that it is the best value for money product that I have ever bought !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If 80GB isn't enough upgrade the HD., 18 Jan 2006
By 
Luke Shutler "luke_s" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
The Humax is great, and if you visit their website you see they really pride themselves on customer support. I needed to contact them to get the firmware updated on mine and they were brilliant, they even sent me the cable to allow me to update the box from my computer - free of charge!
I got the 40GB model which at the time was the best value. I've since discovered that you can upgrade the disk yourself up to 120GB using a standard ATA (IDE) disk (not serial ATA). Just pop it in and format! Now you have loads of space for all of those recordings!
A number of people have complained about clipped recordings - this happens when broadcasters broadcast the programme later than the advertised time. Many VCR's are able to cope with this due to the fact that they pick up on the start - finish signal that is broadcast simultaneously. However this signal is not broadcast on digital for some reason so is unlikely to feature in any DVB based PVR box like the Humax.
Overall, highly recommended, there is a dual tuner version available too if thats what you need!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Freeview reciver ever that you'll ever find., 4 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. Jack Gray "jackmaster" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
Words cannot describe my description of such a wonderful piece of British engineering. The Humax PVR 8000T/80 has everything for the DTT nut, and to put it simply, an impressive piece of kit.
Pictures, and sound are both of the highest standard, and to own one of these receivers is a dream come true. Features are brilliant, and the Installation Wizard automatically kicks in when you first plug the receiver in, and automatically searches the channels for you, and just under 2 minutes you're in.
I cannot rate this product highly enough.
So what are you wating for. BUY ONE!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!!!, 30 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Ciaran M. Gallagher "Ciaran" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
This will change the way you watch TV forever...!!! The pause and rewind live tv functions are just great and the fact that you can just browse through freeview's 8 Day programmes then reserve the programmes you want to record is just great and really simple too.
If you have the latest software this PVR is faultless and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great item: how did I manage without this., 2 April 2006
By 
Michael D. Bradley "Mike Bradley" (Inverness, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
Until I received this item, I had an old VCR. Taping freeView channels with the VCR was a real pain in the rear, so I decided to go for this item.
It only has a single tuner, meaning that if you schedule a program to be recorded, you can't watch another channel whilst the program is being recorded. Thing is that is does have an "aux" function, so if you already have a freeView box, you can watch a different channel from your other freeView box, whilst it records. There are two scart sockets on the device. One to your telly and one coming in from a VCR -- or another freeView box. So the single tuner thing isn't a problem if you already have a freeView box.
Setup is a synch, although the menu's aren't overly intuitive. Only thing that might confuse folks is that, when you've done your channel discovery, you might find that channel 1, BBC1, might not actually have anything on it, so you might wonder why you can't get a signal for BBC1. In fact in my case, BBC1 was on channel 801 (cos I'm in Scotland?), so you simply delete BBC1 on channel 1 and move 801 to the beginning. So no problem.
Taping stuff to the HD is easy. You press a button to get a list of channels and the the programs, and then just press the OK button to add it to your schedule. The device picks up the channel and start and end time. So there's minimal effort to record stuff. It's very much like SKY+. Very good really. When you're playing what you've recorded, the fast forward function (say FF'ing through adverts) could have been a bit better - they could have improved it by allowing 2x, 4x, 8x etc recording as per a DVD player. So the controls for this kind of thing are mediocre.
The menu's are okay - adding channels etc is not so good. However, the functions that you use most regularly are easy. Scheduling recordings and playing your saved records is a piece of cake. Changing channels and the usual freeView functions are easy too.
They've gone to a lot of effort with parental control, but this is more of pain in the rear and adds functionality that most people will never use - that's my opinion anyway.
Remote is pretty good - nice and thin with all the functions neatly laid out. You can make it compatible with your telly as well.
Setup was easy and model looks okay: nice and thin using less space under your telly than a thick VCR. Personally, I hate having media (such as VHS tapes, CDRW's) that use up space in my house. So I really like the idea of saving stuff to HD. If you wanted to archive stuff, you'd have to go to get more hardware.
The unit displays the time when on standby or the channel you're on, when in use. It's a horrible "old fashioned" block character leds display (like a clock radio). Personally I don't think they should have bothered with this (specially since BBC1 = 801 in my case). Otherwise the unit looks great.
I've had the unit a week and it's never let me down. My old freeView box used to lock up 2 or 3 times a week and needed power off an on to fix. This machine doesn't seem to lock up at all. It always records what you tell it to, based on my experience. So I found no problems with reliability.
So all in all, chuffed to pieces with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Changes How You Watch TV!, 11 Jan 2006
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
This little piece of kit will totally change how you watch TV. It's very easy to set-up - just plug the scart in and power it - you're good to go! It also allows for you to connect your VCR, DVD or even another Freeview reciever (Very handy as this will allow you to watch a different channel while the Humax box records another). The 8000t is totally simple and easy to use - just bring up the complete 7-Day TV guide and click the programme you want to record. The box will do the rest - couldn't be easier. You'll never miss your favourite shows again, it's fantastic! Recording quality is perfect, pin-sharp image and crisp sound.
The Humax PVR8000T is now a very reasonable price. With a big 80GB hard drive, you can record up to 40 Hours which, for most of us, is plenty. This is a great product because it really will change how you watch TV, you'll never be controlled by TV schedules again and you can watch what you want, when you want to. You can even pause live tv and come back to resume play where you left of hours later! I can't recommend this product highly enough - it's easy to use and very reliable. Well done to Humax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good piece of kit, 12 Oct 2006
By 
C. Nation "chrisnation" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
After 3 1/2 years without TV at all, Film4 went to Freeview and that got me going. Cheap set-top boxes - and some not-so-cheap ones - attract plenty of adverse comment, especially on reliability, so it seemed sensible to add the budget for a s.t.b. to something better - and this is it.

This unit is a breeze to set up - in fact it did the whole thing by itself. It's extremely easy to use. Recording is two clicks on 'OK' once you've highlighted your prog in the guide. The 'i' for info button is really handy for checking details of progs that you may want to record but could well be repeats that you've already seen.

As a single tuner unit, it has its drawbacks - what you are recording is what you can watch [& vice versa]. As has been mentioned, a second s.t.b. gets round this limitation, as does finding a repeat broadcast at another time of day - especially graveyard hours: this is very common on Freeview channels other than 'the big 5'.

Obviously, with twin-tuner units [including Humax's excellent model] now under £200, the price of these single tuner units is way down, to top of range s.t.b. level. I'd recommend one as a straight replacement for a s.t.b. on a secondary TV or maybe double up with two for your main TV. I think I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible customer service / continued breakdowns !, 15 Jan 2007
This review is from: Humax PVR8000T/80 Set Top Box (Electronics)
Initally I was pleased with this machine - however it broke down /froze /wiped all recorded programmes /hard disk error / made terrible noise back in july 2006 .

sent it back to Humax N.I. after much chasing around with their very poor customer service staff.

Exactly the same thing happened in October 2006 - sent back , took approx

four emails to get any response - was told they were busy !

Came back and I was told that Humax had installed a new hard disk .

Guess what ... the same problems have happened yet again . I have sent numerous emails to three different Humax departments over the course of several weeks and am still waiting for their " customer service " department to come back to me .

I will never buy any Humax product again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Humax PVR8000T/80  Set Top Box
Used & New from: £39.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews