Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the transfer to Blu-ray
Timecop clearly wasn't filmed to the very highest technical standards - I was struck by the contrast with Alien (a 15-years-older film) which I watched on broadcast HD the same evening. That said, Timecop is high enough quality to make the Blu-ray transfer worth having. I am not sure I would recommend getting the Blu-ray to replace a DVD unless you have money to burn, but...
Published on 27 Dec. 2010 by M. R. Hudson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story along with average action - not bad!.
Not chalk and cheese here, but its far better than the atrociously bad "Enemies Closer" - where the villain (played by Van Damme) was beyond laughable.

Here he is lawman charged with solving crimes to do with time travel, perhaps the "man of the match" is the late Ron Silver as a nasty, overambitious and corrupt politician whose nefarious plans...
Published 3 months ago by ALewis,


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the transfer to Blu-ray, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
M. R. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Timecop clearly wasn't filmed to the very highest technical standards - I was struck by the contrast with Alien (a 15-years-older film) which I watched on broadcast HD the same evening. That said, Timecop is high enough quality to make the Blu-ray transfer worth having. I am not sure I would recommend getting the Blu-ray to replace a DVD unless you have money to burn, but definitely worth the extra if you just want a copy to add to your library. As usual with Blu-ray, you can pick out details in printed signs etc., in the scene backgrounds, which is interesting in its own right. The sound track is fine with plenty of punch in the explosions and gunfire. Also, whatever the details of film stock, cameras and so on, the colour palette of the movie is often rewarding.

As for the movie itself, it keeps drawing me back despite its flaws. Its handling of time paradoxes seems vague, almost as if it's a time-travel movie made by people who don't actually find time-travel very interesting. The plot is skeletal. Still, the emotional aspects work despite - or perhaps because of - Van Damme's rather flat portrayal, the narrative drive is not lacking, and the near-future setting has a curious plausibility. Perhaps because of budget limitations, most of the future world is still our old one - actually more likely when you think about it. Some of the B-movie / budget-limited aspects - a time machine that accelerates by spurting rocket flames out the back, for luv's sake - will generate affection or derision, according to your taste. As you will guess, I tend towards affection.

Finally, the James Bond cast-off one-liners ("that had to hurt" after killing a baddy, I mean come on!) and the (deliberately? but surely not) risible demise of the arch-villain, well, take them or leave them, The Terminator this ain't. But nonetheless a film that, I suspect, has enough to draw others back regularly as it does me, so if you haven't seen it or want to re-acquaint, this Blu-ray is definitely the best option. Recommended for those, like me, who feel enough intuitive attachment to this odd, semi-cult movie to want to own a copy in HD rather than waiting for it to turn up in HD on broadcast. I hesitated for some time between 3 and 4 stars, and would have given 3.5 stars if feasible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timecop, 6 Sept. 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
I wasnt expecting this to be a good film at all. For one a film about a cop whose job it is, is to stop time travel didnt seem like my kind of film. But this actualy happens to be one Van Dammes best films. Good acting, good action and a intresting story which has some good twists.

This ranks in my top 5 Van Damme films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you want to watch just one Jean-Claude Van Damme movie it should be this one, 24 Sept. 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
First, to get the things straight, I am the first to recognise that JC Van Damme is not really an actor and his movies are usually nothing more that settings for some martial arts displays. But "Timecop" is the exception to the rule.

This is a quite clever story about a very special police force, which fights against the abuse of time travelling. Timecops search fugitives who escaped in the past (there is no travels into the future), bandits, who go to the past to loot and plunder using modern weaponry, crooks, who try to make fortune using knowledge of future events, finally terrorists, who try to influence the future by changing the past. The whole concept is vaguely inspired by SF novel by Paul Anderson, "Time Patrol". JC Van Damme plays one of the Timecops, Mia Sara (delicious and distinguished) is his wife and Gloria Reuben (highly attractive and well spoken) is his new partner. No more details about the story, but it is surprisingly clever, touching and contains surprising twists. There is only limited kicking and jumping from JC Van Damme, so if you are a martial arts fan, you will be probably unsatisfied - but if you enjoy good SF, you will be delighted. And the ending is really, really unexpected, and not stupid at all.

Bottom line, this is a nice surprise from JC Van Damme, for whom it is the best role until now. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent use of time., 30 Mar. 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I do not normally go in for flying feet and the like. Usually they are accosted with dubbed voices. However in this film everything came together to create a great entertainment ands a thought provoking story. Van Damme had to be more than him self and the interaction between Van Damme, Mia Sara, and Ron Silver, not to mention others, is worth the ticket price.

The title is "Timecop." And that is what Max Walker is. More than once he must thwart the efforts of Senator Aaron McComb whom has found a new source of soft money. There are the ever-present time enigmas to deal with and in the process you can not tell the good guys from the bad as they all dress in black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story along with average action - not bad!., 9 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
Not chalk and cheese here, but its far better than the atrociously bad "Enemies Closer" - where the villain (played by Van Damme) was beyond laughable.

Here he is lawman charged with solving crimes to do with time travel, perhaps the "man of the match" is the late Ron Silver as a nasty, overambitious and corrupt politician whose nefarious plans are thwarted by Van Damme.

Somewhere the films by Van Damme haven't been bad - he was excellent as the main baddie in The Expendables 2 - but others are less worthy.

Another good film that could be grouped alongside "Hard Target" etc in saying that the said films are anything but boring!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, good transfer, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The transfers pretty good, I would say both the movie and video quality is a 4 out of 5. If you're a fan of JCVD, like me, I can highly recommend this product. And this is not windowboxed like the dvd-version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Van Time !!!, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
"Timecop" is to me alongside "Universal Soldier" the best Van Damme movie of all time... Maybe one of the best Timetravelling stories on film, to me ... But everyone`s got different taste, so............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timecop [DVD], 8 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
In the year 2004, time travel is a reality, and a new breed of criminal has emerged with it. Suddenly, it's possible to alter historical events, so the Time Enforcement Commission was formed to enforce a simple rule: No one goes back. But someone has broken that rule, and Max Walker is engaged in a fierce manhunt for a corrupt senator who has acquired the power to change history. A truly brilliant and thought provoking movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, poor Dvd, 30 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
This Boulevard Entertainment Dvd is a poor release of a pretty good film.

It's Widescreen but is non-anamorphic (it will look squashed on your Widescreen TV)
Has only Stereo sound
English Subtitles only
And the Trailer is the only extra.

The picture and sound are good throughout considering, and it can be bought for a penny and postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pleased i gave this a second time chance, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Timecop [DVD] (DVD)
One of those classic action films I personally grew up warching, I'm sure plenty of my younger but not too young generation did too! This is often stated as one of Van Dammes' best and it is. Theres a plot in there sure, but it really is a class A romp in terms of special effects (1994 style) and high kicks (read 'between' the lines). All in all sit back and grab some popcorn, recommended with as high a dose (as many) 90's action and sci-fi flicks you can find and settle in for a trip back through memory lane. Bloody great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timecop [DVD]
Timecop [DVD] by Peter Hyams (DVD - 2005)
£1.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews