Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dividing line between the old and the new, 12 Dec 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
After five stone classic studio albums Quo released this double set, recorded in 1976 at the Glasgow Apollo. Though, like all live albums, it only offers a glimmer of the experience of being there, it's a worthy record of what Quo were doing in those halcyon days. The rapport between band and audience is unmistakeable.
The track order as listed by Amazon is somewhat awry, though this remastered issue does contain a reordering of the tracks on the original LP. "Rain" has been brought forward to track 6 while "Caroline" and "Bye Bye Johnny", having originally ended side 3, now finish the CD behind "Roadhouse Blues". "Roll Over Lay Down" is however still well down the order and never was track 3 as listed here.
Putting all that aside, the material presented here was the staple of Quo's live act, including lengthier versions of "Forty Five Hundred Times" and "Roadhouse Blues" which took on a life of their own in concert. Many of these songs remain in Quo's live act today, though the Alan Lancaster ones have not surprisingly been dropped. This is a shame, as "Junior's Wailing" virtually started Quo's boogie phase, albeit a cover sung by Lancaster.
This is one of the best live albums you'll ever experience and is much better than "N.E.C." and "Live Alive Quo". Buy this and the previous five studio albums and you'll own all the essential Quo material (but don't forget "Whatever You Want" and...and so on...and on).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud, honest and a stomper all the way through!, 24 July 2006
By 
David Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
As a believer that you can only tell a really great band by the strength of their 'live recorded' material, this puts the Blue Boys in a class of their own. At the time, Quo were building up their fan base and wanted to record an album that reflected this - it was no surprise that they chose Glasgow and The Apollo to strut their stuff. I guess I'm a little biased on this as I was one of the lucky ones to be there and hearing it 30 years on still gives me a buzz. As far as actually reviewing 'Quo Live' is concerned, all I can say is that it was summed up at the time by the late John Peel on Radio 1 as brilliant, commenting that 'Bye Bye Johnny' was the best cover version of C.B's classic that he'd ever heard....and to all those who say the Quo are 'one dimensional', I say, 'Go see em' live and if you don't tap your feet and leave with a smile on your face, then you got no pulse!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magnificent Status Quo, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
The racous intro from the Apollo Galsgow's MC says it all. "Will you welcome the number 1 rock and roll band in the land, the magnificent Status Quoooooo!" In 1976, Quo were the number one R&R band in the UK, Europe, Australia and NZ. Quo had swept aside the early 70's pop culture that had filled the charts after the Beatles demise and had avoided slipping into the super heavy Sabbath/Purple/Zepplin scene. They could rock, but they still seemed like 4 lads who'd stumbled on a good idea and were just having a good time. Lots of people critisize Status Quo as a one dimensional 3 chord band, but when you actually listen to their songs, at their raw best on LIVE, they are complicated and sharply arranged rock classics.
This album is almost like a time capsule. I wasn't at the Apollo but listening to this I feel like I was. From the balcony swaying under the weight of the crowd to the rip-tearing tightness of the live arrangements, it's all there. If you never buy another Status Quo album, buy this one. Your collection of greatest rock albums to hear before you die will now be complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anybody Out There Who Wants To Boogie, 27 Nov 2012
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the best live albums recorded along with Lizzy Live and dangerous,Purple Made In Japan,Ufo Perfect Strangers and Frampton comes alive.I was there and stomped my feet all night long along with thousands.
A must buy for anyone who likes loud rock live and in yer face.well done Quo,well done Glasgie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably The Best Live Album EVER!!!!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
I originally purchased this on cassette back in 1977, and through the years wore it out until it became un-playable. A few years ago a good friend who had a new & second hand record shop was able to find it on vinyl for me, although there was a small scratch on one side of one of the records. I wasn't sure if this classic album was available on CD, but when I discovered a copy I promptly bought it (Making it one of only three albums that I own on cassette, vinyl and CD format, and the only non Bob Dylan album within this group). Quo Live showcases a rock group at their peak playling more than the rumoured 3 cords. All their great songs are here including Caroline (Their second best song ever), 45 Hundred Times, In My Chair etc. etc. Also a few covers in the form of Bye Bye Johnny and the wonderful Roadhouse Blues, (Where they show The Doors how it should be done). Unfortunatly their best ever song, Paper Plane, is not here, but this does nothing to take away from the package. If you are a fan of good no-nonsence, heads down boogie, then this is the album for you. It will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quo, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Z. Fincham "Mayd of Merlin" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant! Everything everyone else has said in their reviews was absolutely spot on!..Thank you to everyone who helped me make the best choice I could have made for 'him'!!!...made his christmas!!!..ROCK ON!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to Quo?, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This is quite simply one of the best live Albums you are ever going to hear if you like head down, no nonsense boogie music. Forget what Quo have become and listen to this with an open mind. I guarantee you'll be playing air guitar before the end of the album.

If you've never heard 'Forty Five Hundred times' live you're missing out on a great Rock moment.

Back in the 70's these were the greatest live act I'd ever seen, if you just wanted to have a great rocking time with a few beers thrown in. Indulge,enjoy and roll back the years! Classic stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL HAIL THE GLASGOW APOLLO!!!!, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Aah the Apollo,one of rocks hallowed grounds,now sadly gone,too young to have been at this ,how i wish i could have been there,up loud, the manic intro from Jackie Lynton still makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!!!

Opening with 'Juniors Wailing',Quo are on fire from the off before 'Backwater/Just Take Me' crashes in much heavier,rawer than on album,who said Quo Weren't heavy,this album proves Quo were up there with all the other Rock giants,a frantic 'Is There A Better Way' leads into a stunning 'In My Chair',possibly the highlight of the album featuring some blistering lead guitar.
'Little Lady' keeps up the pace before a lusty glasgow crowd singalong on 'Most Of The Time',the heavy metal boogie continues with the then Current BLUE FOR YOU album's best track 'Rain' and then we have have it ,the extended jam '4500 Times',marvel at the way this band controls the track up to a frenzy then back down again,not bad for a band that couldnt play eh?,by the time its over you need a neck brace!!!!
Yet there's more -a mammoth 'Roll Over Lay Down' rattles your speakers before 'Big Fat Mama' & 'Dont Waste My Time' have them begging for mercy.The extended cover of 'Roadhouse Blues' featuring the jig brings proceedings to a close,is there anyone with any energy left to do the jig?.The cd closes with a pounding 'Caroline' and a breakneck 'Bye Bye Johnny' and you collapse to the floor exhausted. ha ha.

In the 70's live albums were king and this is one of the best,desrving of its place at the top table with KISS ALIVE/ALL THE WORLDS A STAGE/LIVE AND DANGEROUS ETC..

One small point - it does take a bit of getting used to the rejigged track sequence after so many years of playing the vinyl but stick with it,its a belter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third best live album ever!, 21 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
1976.A band who,though we did not know at the time,were about to evolve into radio-friendly chart monsters(nothing wrong with that,at least at first).Before they did,they recorded this monster, which is a testament in sound and musical quality to how a live gig and live album should be.It begins with THE legendary shouted "Is there anybody out there who want's to rock?"intro,which gets louder and louder and then,just after the announcer has built it up to a frenzy,they amble on,tune up and start very low key with Juniors Wailing,sang by of all people, the bassist!This throws the listener a bit-wot no crash bang wallop?-but that sets the tone for this surprising set.Lots of non rehearsed in between song banter,tuning up, fluffed lyrics.It has the feel of a mid quality bootleg and works all the better for it.It's powerful,exciting,and makes you really feel you are there,and certainly makes you wish you were.The music is fantastic, there is very little slack, and the atmosphere generated by band and crowd is just incredible.This is how great albums, great concerts were done in 1976,and most live albums are sterile by comparison.Roadhouse Blues, with "the, er, the little er, the bit,right, the bit"is unbelievable,Don't waste my Time a real Highlight,but it is unfair to single any one moment out.This is a very special document indeed, all the more so given their subsequent decline.It is THE Quo album, possibly of THE Quo concerts.And since you ask-the second is "If you want Blood"AC/DC, and 1 has to be Live and Dangerous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars status quo, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
only was able to find this album on amazon been looking for it for a long time so glad i found it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live
Live by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews