Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quo announce themselves as craftsmen
There is no one undisputed "best" Quo album, but "Hello!" is certainly a contender among long-time fans. Their second classic album for Vertigo, it's more sophisticated than its predecessor, "Piledriver", though of course I mean "sophisticated" in a relative way. Those who complain of Francis Rossi's penchant for lightweight pop in later years might be surprised...
Published on 7 Dec. 2005 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quo's best
I think this album has a lot of hype behind in, atleast in hardcore Status Quo fan circles. Maybe a 9 minute song and a cool cover helps?

Reason to believe is a random boogie. And it's Better Now and Claudie sound annoyingly weepy - the melodies annoy me, the lyrics are good.

And I will admit this too - 4500 Times has never grabbed me, apart from the...
Published 2 months ago by Silent river


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quo announce themselves as craftsmen, 7 Dec. 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
There is no one undisputed "best" Quo album, but "Hello!" is certainly a contender among long-time fans. Their second classic album for Vertigo, it's more sophisticated than its predecessor, "Piledriver", though of course I mean "sophisticated" in a relative way. Those who complain of Francis Rossi's penchant for lightweight pop in later years might be surprised to discover that he was writing melodic songs for this 1973 release. There were two major differences back then however. One was that Quo presented themselves as a scruffy, hard-driving band. This may be a more clinically-produced effort than "Piledriver" but there is no gloss. Keyboards, when added, are kept firmly in the background. Secondly, Rossi as a vocalist keeps his personality in reserve. These were the days when Quo were young and intense, too into their music to be showbiz stars.
As for the music, both sides of the LP began with songs that have become standards, "Roll Over Lay Down" and "Caroline". These songs have been belted out by many a pub band. "Claudie", "And It's Better Now", "Reason For Living" and "Blue-Eyed Lady" are all distinct, melodic songs worthy of supporting the main attractions. "Softer Ride" is more unusual, with its slow, almost moronic "I ain't gonna work" opening. The moment Quo move to a higher gear on this song is exhilarating. The original album closed with "Forty-Five Hundred Times", at around ten minutes Quo's longest studio track. This song has since taken on a life of its own, having been also worked up into its longer live concert form on the "Rock 'Til You Drop"
album. The quiet opening, led by Rick Parfitt, always creates a sense of expectation and when the rest of the band come in that expectation is totally fulfilled.
Many fans prefer the flawed intensity of "Piledriver", but "Hello!" is probably Quo's most consistent album, a true 1970s classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quos answer to Sgt Peppers & Machine Head, 29 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
Great shadowed black album cover . early 70s songs start with the huge hit 'Caroline' and ends with the classic "4500 times" which is much a boogie/blues epoch as Bohemian Rhapsody was to operatic rock . If I could give Hello 6 / 5 stars I would. Softer ride & Claudie are standout numbers that still sound fresh today almost 30 years on. And its better now shows amazing light & shade to Quos musicianship. Status Quo have been criticised for 3 chord mindless boogie but have endured and improved over the past 30 years to stay on of Britains most populr rock acts with huge followings in England,Continental Europe,Australia and Scandinavia . Great album to play along with rock to or just get a party going. Impossible not to smile & tap your feet after a couple of minutes of Hello playing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best Quo album of all time, 17 Jun. 2003
By 
A. M. Ben "ABM" (Madrid, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
After all these years gone since the first time I listened to the "HELLO" album, my opinion remains unchanged: this is the very best Quo album. Other fans may prefer the 1974 follow-up entitled "QUO", as its the probably the hardest Status Quo album, but I think this one rocks really hard and (even more important) it is a collection of eight really brilliant compositions. Here you will find some of their most loved classics (see 'Caroline', 'Roll Over Lay Down' or '4500 Times' or the recently live recaptured 'Softer Ride'), and another incredible half, with the lovely 'Claudie', the awesome 'Blue-Eyed Lady', the 100% Quo boogie 'Reason For Living' and the more subtle (and very beautiful) 'And It's Better Now'. There's not any song here that I could say: "Right, this one shouldn't have been in the album", because the whole work is great. Simply the best Status Quo record of all time, their very masterpiece. A must, not only for Quo fans, but for every Rock 'n' Roll or simply good music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Five Pillars of Status Quo, 30 April 2006
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
In the period between 1972 and 1976 Status Quo released five successive album of unbelievable consistency and quality. Hello is widely regarded as the very finest album Quo have ever released; the best of the best. Caroline, Roll Over Lay Down, Blue Eyed Lady, Softer Ride and 4500 Times are all essentail 12-bar rockers that would probably figure in almost all right-thinking Quo fans' top 20 tracks; in fact seven of the eight tracks (not counting the extra track) figured in a recent poll of the 50 best Quo tracks, a testament to how essential this album is for not only any Quo fan but fans of top notch melodic hard rock. In conclusion, Hello is an essential, highly recommended album and with On The Level and Piledriver is, in my opinion, the absolute peak of Quo's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'must have' Quo album!, 19 Feb. 2006
By 
Bazzer (Eastbourne, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
For anybody who wants to hear Status Quo at their magnificent, scintillating best, look no further! Hello is that release!
Although there are only eight songs (nine if you include the bonus) every single track here is right out of the top drawer, from the opening 'Roll Over Lay Down' to the closing 'Forty Five Hundred Times'.
Two songs were released as singles ('Caroline' and 'Roll Over Lay Down') but in my opinion Quo could have picked any or all of the songs on offer here and put them out as singles and they would have charted well - such is the strength of the album!
Listening to Hello remastered brings home to me just how disappointing some of their later releases really were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello we've arrived!!!!, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
By general consensus this is the best Quo Album,although as usual i'll be differnt from the pack,i think QUO(1974) is their career best,however this is a superb album.
Quo were now on fire and from the metal boogie of 'Roll Over Lay Down' thru to the Epic '4500 Times' there is not a weak moment.Everyone's fav track 'Caroline still inspires a shake of the head and a grin on yer face,just perfect Quo.The rest of the disc is made up of light and shade rockers 'Softer Ride & 'And it better Now',the pop sensibilities of 'Claudie' & A Reason For Living' and finally the forgotten classic 'Blue Eyed Lady ( should have been a live favourite).

Bonus track : Joanne a excellent country/eagles type rock,would have sat perfectly on the album.

A magnificent album which should be noted was the start of Andy Bown's keyborads creeping in,it should be said fairly unobtrusively at this point,enhancing rather than overpowering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of course it's a classic...., 26 April 2005
By 
Mr. D. T. Goldblatt "crapmodem" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
This is generally regarded as one of Status Quo's greatest works, if not the greatest. Certainly it contains some classics, including the track that finally established them as a mainstream chart act, Caroline. Also featured is the "how long does it last this time?" 4500 times, the favourite album track of the vast majority of their most devoted fans; and live favourites Roll Over Lay Down and Softer Ride.
However, the previous reviewer said "no one can deny that they rapidly slipped into self-parody". Well I and thousands of others DO deny that they slipped into anything even approaching self-parody. What they did was explore other types of music and musical styles, with varying degrees of success.
It may annoy some of Status Quo's most aggressive fans that they remain a successful act over 30 years later. But have they done so despite the changes or because of them?
What the excellent Hello album does (and did) is act as a benchmark. Along with the previous release, Piledriver, it said "this is where we are now" and did so very well.
Perhaps the only criticism I could make of it is that it was produced too well. Status Quo have always been at their best when performing live and this album gives only tiny hints of that magic. It is a studio album. The same tracks played live and I would cheerfully have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the lot..., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
If "Piledriver" suggested Quo were capable of producing great albums, 1973's "Hello!" certainly delivered.

Whilst other albums produced tracks that indvidually were arguably better than some of those in this collection, in terms of a consistent album's worth of music, in my opinion, I am not sure Quo ever surpassed "Hello!"

It starts with a thumping rhythm of "Roll Over Lay Down" (eventually released as part of a live EP in 1975), it then moves into a classic album track "Claudie" (finally played live by Rossi on a solo tour in 2010). The album doesn't let up with another two strong album tracks "Reason for Living" and "Blue Eyed Lady".

The album then moves up a gear with what was the start of side 2 on the vinyl LP - "Caroline" was the single released from the album and is one of Quo's most recognised tracks. Originally penned as a slower shuffle, it was given the full Quo treatment and is a classic up-tempo rock/boogie number.

"Softer Ride" keeps the pace going - whilst it changes rhythm and volume throughout it just simply "works". A great track.

"And It's Better Now" slows things down briefly, but is only a pause before what is probably the best track on the album...

If you wanted one song to showcase Quo, I am not sure you could do better than "Forty Five Hundred Times". At almost 10 minutes long, it takes you from a gentle opening through fast paced, hard edged rock and back again. Turn the volume up loud, sit back and enjoy...

So if you could only buy one of Quo's numerous studio albums, it should be this one.

Simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Status Quo-Hello, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
Classic album from a great band.Quo's first No1 album and arguably their best amongst many great albums over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quo's masterpiece, 17 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Hello (Audio CD)
Believe it or not Quo had a golden period in the mid seventies where they were a welcome change from prog rock. They were often criticized but for not having 101 chords in their songs but surely that was a good thing. No one can deny that they rapidly slipped into self-parody but the run of albums from 'Piledriver' to 'Blue For You' contained a fair share of gems. 'Hello', which followed 'Piledriver', is unarguably their best album containing classics such as 'Caroline', 'Roll Over Lay Down' and 'Forty Five Hundred Times'. It still stands up today. If you're a younger listener you're probably aware of the trademark sound but you might not realize how good they sounded at their seventies peak. This album is imbued with both immense physical energy and melodic (yes, melodic), concise songs. And best of all it still stands up today as a straightahead rock record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hello
Hello by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews