Customer Reviews
Quo


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome early Quo, 28 Mar 2005
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
This album was originally released in the early 70's 2 or 3 albums into their heavier denim era. It often seems to get over looked in favour of the more popular Hello or Piledriver albums but in my opinion, this is the best of all of their early albums.
It starts off with the unmistakable Backwater. Sung by bassist Alan Lancaster, this is a fantastic blues rock song with a great story line and driving rhythm. It has the trademark 12 bar riffage, but played with a real passion that was certainly missing during their 80's stuff. The mix into Just Take Me sees drummer John Coghlan at his absolute best.
Muso's quite rightly discuss the values of John Bonham, Cozy Powell and Ian Paice but guys, Coghlan is right up there with them. Just listen to the way he mixes power with feel on Just Take Me and the way he leads the time changes during Slow Train, not to mention the great drum solo...the most underated rock drummer from that era!!
Break the rules is an absolute classic, again blues rock at its best with Rossi in story telling mode. After the brilliant Drifting Away, which again sees Lancaster at the mic, Don't Think It Matters, Fine Fine Fine and Lonely man are great album tracks leading into the afore mentioned Slow Train.
It really bugs me when lazy writers churn out the "3 chords" stereotype thing, because Slow Train is a classic piece of 70's rock...great riffs, time changes, story telling, jigs, drum solo's, heavy rock, the works. You just have to turn the damn stereo up, batter your eardrums up some more and nod ya head, because this is rock music at its best!!
The addition of Lonely night on this re-mastered version is a welcome treat, nice finisher.
This is the classic Quo line up of Rossi, Parfitt, Lancaster and Coghlan at their peak. In this early era, Rossi and Parfitt used a much heavier guitar style, and put together some very original and complicated guitar pieces. There was a real magic when they concentrated on their playing, leaving Lancaster to the vocals, backed up by Coghlans thunderous drumming that was only really present on this album.
So, do yourself a favour, buy this cd, turn it up and I promise you...if you have any rock n roll blood in you, it will blow you away. Fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rip-roaring juggernaut of an album!, 2 April 2006
By 
Bazzer (Eastbourne, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
Status Quo continued their inexorable rise to superstardom with 'Quo' - quite simply an amazing record!
Continuing the trend of their previous releases 'Piledriver' and 'Hello', 'Quo' absolutely rocks, with every song right out of the top drawer.
From the opening of 'Backwater' to the closing number - bonus track 'Lonely Night' - Quo just put the pedal to the metal and don't let up for the whole album.
Surprisingly, only one single was ever released from the album ('Break The Rules', charting at No 8) I say surprisingly simply because of the excellent quality of the songs on offer, and now it seems quite strange that they didn't release at least one more single - 'Backwater', 'Drifting Away' or 'Don't Think It Matters' would have fit the bill quite nicely, in my view.
A top class album and an absolute must have in any collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quo's purple patch, 20 Nov 2006
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
This is from the period where Status Quo were 'aving it' as Liam Gallagher would say. Along with 'On The Level', this is pretty much flawless no nonsense rock. You have to admire the simplicity of the sound and its effectiveness. Despite the basic song structure there are some moments of great musicianship. Quo were a very 'tight' band in the studio at this time able to knock out an album a year, probably only spending a month in the studio. Not sure who plays the solo on 'just take me' either Rossi or Parfitt but this reveals a higher level of guitar skills than is usually associated with the Quo. Like early AC/DC, the formula works and it is standard blues/rock pub fayre. The Quo sound doesn't take long to start sounding a bit tired, but it is rather harsh that NEVER do you see Status Quo albums in the classic albums lists when they clearly made at least 3. That's a lot more than can be said for a good many bands...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Quo album ever, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
Apart from the Live album, this has to be the best Status Quo album ever, featuring my all time favourite songs: Backwater Road/Just Take Me. It rocks from beginning to end, with songs by Ricky Parfitt and Alan Lancaster which they sing on, in fact I think Rossi only sings on two. A beautiful slow number, "Lonely Man" and the wonderful climax of "Slow Train", I have always loved this album and always will, don't dare tell me everything Quo do sounds the same until you have listened to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH!!!!!!!!, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion the best quo album ever,this disc showcases a band totally confident in its own ability and the music is all the better for it.Following on from the superb HELLO album this is even heavier,strangely it only got to no2 unlike its predecesor (and subsequent following albums on the level/blue for you)

Opening with riff-tastic 'Backwater' flowing into 'Just Take Me' featuring some quality drumming from coghlan,'Break the rules' follows and is the only atypical Quo track,not surprisingly it was the albums only single,'Drifting Away and Dont Think it Matters' return us to heavier waters,had sabbath used some of these riffs you would have talked about them for years.The diversity of the band is highlighted by the atmospheric 'Lonely Man' and the stunning 'Fine Fine Fine' with its country rock feel and a beautiful solo from Rossi(so underated in the bands heyday),finally the piece de resistance 'Slow Train' an epic following in the footsteps of 4500 times,this starts of slowly before working itself to a frenzy with a couple of jigs, excellent drum break before crashing to a breakneck finish,marvelous stuff.

bonus track : 'Lonely Night' superb little track but never going to oust any of the original album tracks.

All in all despite being released in their popular 70's phase this really is a undiscovered gem,reaquaint yourself with it,you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
Great Album, great service too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quo-oo-oo, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
Quo at their best, when they were doing heads-down, no-nonsense rock albums and not bland pop covers. Bring back John Coghlan and Alan Lancaster now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars status quo, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
the quo at there best and see them back together is fantastic i watched them on you tube the crowds of fans there were great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quo at its best, 1 Dec 2007
By 
N. Verma (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
This is quo at its best - tracks like backwater and just take me out rival punk and quite frankly many modern bands. The remastering is excellent - rossi and coughlan up in the mix. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK MASTERPIECE, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Quo (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the greatest rock albums of all time from start to finish it is simply fantastic every track is of the highest quality should be in every rock fans collection in my opinion its quos best album from their golden period early to mid 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quo
Quo by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews