Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era!
To many, the classic era of Quo was fading fast. They had produced 2 or 3 average albums towards the end of the 70's, and it was clear that there were problems brewing in the group. In-fighting about the musical direction that Rossi was taking the band was grating upon bassist Alan Lancaster, and drummer John Coghlan had just about had enough of the rock lifestyle, but...
Published on 28 Mar 2005 by russwims

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not changing the Status chord
I decided to review Status Quo's albums in the same way they play their music.
Not much to write about here. This record is exactly the same, as the one released the previous year. The only difference being the title and the record cover.
Published 7 months ago by Jose L. Teixeira Ribeiro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era!, 28 Mar 2005
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
To many, the classic era of Quo was fading fast. They had produced 2 or 3 average albums towards the end of the 70's, and it was clear that there were problems brewing in the group. In-fighting about the musical direction that Rossi was taking the band was grating upon bassist Alan Lancaster, and drummer John Coghlan had just about had enough of the rock lifestyle, but somehow, they managed to pull their-selves together and produce this absolute gem of an album! Granted, their are a couple or early 80's horrific electronic drum sounds and keyboard noodles, but on the whole, this album rocks!!
In the 10 yrs since Quo changed to their harder edged rock sound, the songs changed from the wonderful story telling blues rock of early albums "Quo", "Piledriver" and "Hello" with their complicated guitar/drum interchange, to a softer boogie/rock format, which although not getting the pulse racing in the same way, had its own charm and still maintained the magic that we all loved Quo for.
The fantastic Lancaster/Parfitt/Coghlan driving rhythm is still as sweet as ever but with a more contempary feel. Openers, "Never too Late" and "Something Bowt You Baby I Like" are great pop tunes but with a rock feel to them and most of the following tracks are very credible additions to the album.
But there are 3 absolute belting rock classics on this album. Firstly the Chuck Berry classic "Oh Carol" is wonderful. Played with so much power and passion, it brings a massive smile to my face everytime I hear it. Secondly, "Dont Stop Me Now" is the most infectious guitar hook ever, with a really atmospheric vocal and driving beat from Coghlan, brilliant! But perhaps the best is the final track "Riverside." Naff lyrics but what a song. A really clever Pulp Fiction - esque "finish at the start" kind of thing, followed by great riffage, melody and the best time change ever, you just cant help turning it up and head banging all over again!!
This, the last great album by the classic Rossi, Parfitt, Lancaster, Coghlan line up is up there with the best early stuff from the 70's. This was Coghlan's last album with the group, and Lancaster soon followed, which saw the end of that magic rock chemistry that existed for so many years. Sadly, the end of an era...but it was so so good while it lasted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just before things began to go wrong, 15 Dec 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Created from the same sessions that resulted in "Just Supposin'", "Never Too Late" has an ebullience that masks the personal and professional problems that the band were enduring at the time. Keyboards tend to be higher in the mix and the hit "Something 'Bout You Baby I Like" is polished pop, but this is still a vibrant album. Like its predecessor, "Never Too Late" tends to be loaded more heavily with the better material in the first half, though there's not as much in it.
The title track deals with Francis Rossi's end-of-the-world preoccupation, a common topic in music during the early 1980s. Bizarrely, the sobering lyric is delivered in a jaunty manner.
"Take Me Away" recalls Quo's blinding mid-1970s run of success and deserves a higher profile. "Carol" too is worthy of comparison with their supreme Chuck Berry cover from 1975, "Bye Bye Johnny". Meanwhile, "Falling In Falling Out" is one of the poppier numbers. Though I like the song it isn't what they do best.
The second half consists entirely of tracks that have excelled in retaining their anonymity yet deserve more recognition. "Long Ago" and "Mountain Lady" are substantial rock songs; "Don't Stop Me Now" is one of the highlights of the album, an exciting track; "Enough Is Enough" maintains the adrenalin; and "Riverside" bounds along relentlessly, its circular melody staying with you long after the end.
This isn't one of Quo's best-known albums but it's worth the money. Add it to the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last from the original Quo!, 4 Jun 2006
By 
Bazzer (Eastbourne, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Never Too Late was the last album to be made by Status Quo before both personal and musical problems set in - drummer John Coghlan left in less than amicable circumstances during the making of 1+9+8+2.

Looking back, that is a real shame, because these now often talked about problems seem to overshadow the actual album - which is yet another top class effort.

Indeed, as an album Never Too Late seems to be overlooked by a lot of fans nowadays. Personally, I believe is a very underrated release, with many top drawer songs on it!

With the quality of the tunes on offer here, not for the first time I find myself puzzled as to why only one single was ever released from the album: ('Something Bout You Baby I Like' became another top 10 hit for Quo)

Other excellent songs include the title song, 'Take Me Away', 'Carol', 'Long Ago', 'Enough Is Enough' and 'Riverside' - all of which would have made very good singles IMO!

Unfortunately, with the departure of John Coghlan, Quo seemed to lose their way in more than ways than one as, in my view, Never Too Late was the last classy album that they made for a long time.

Which again is a real shame, as many people now wonder what might have been had Quo been able to resolve all their problems! Would they have been able to maintain the standard that they had set themselves in the 70's? Would the 80's and 90's have gone the same way?

These are questions that nobody can answer! All I know is that, for me, Never Too Late was the last top quality album from Quo for many, many years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Quo fans, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Excellent album...wouldn't be without it....listen to it through the headphones on the treadmill !! essential for your collection if you're a Quo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, I love it!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Other reviewers tell the story of this album very well, so I'll just say it's one of my favourite Quo albums for the following musical reasons:

'Carol' - a Chuck Berry cover, Quo just tear it up with this song. It gets so many plays on my car CD player it's probably getting an Lp-style groove burned into it! The middle-8 key change for the guitar solo is just magnificent. Wow!

'Something Bout You Baby I Like' - another cover, but this is a superb 7" single, perfectly paced with classic Quo boogie.

'Don't Stop Me Now' - forget Queen (although I like their namesake song), THIS is the proper song for the title! It just rocks from start to finish. Whack up the volume and let it rip!

Other songs are great, too, but these are the ones I look forward to most of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent album,,, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Status Quo: Never Too Late (Vinyl)
the mighty quo at there best,a must buy for quo fans,,keep on rockin,may quo rock an other 40,years,,wales love you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Add To the Collection Of the RE-Masters, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
I'm a massive Quo fan and have been for many years..............This album has alway's been one of my all time favourites! Also released around the same time that I experienced the mighty Quo live for the first time! Alway's delivers too - From the opener NTL, the rockin' Carol and right the way through from Mountain Lady to Riverside! Brilliant album! And not bad for four quid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Too Late, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
I risk being controversial among hardcore Quo fans but to me Never Too Late is the most overrated Quo album. Don't get me wrong, I quite like it but I don't understand the reverence in which its held and it doesn't, I believe, represent Quo at their very best. Maybe it has legendary status because it's the last album by the classic Rossi/Parfitt/Lancaster/Coghlan line up or perhaps it's because it's more of a 'proper' Quo album than some of the albums made in the 18 years following it.

Take Me Away (a classic), Long Ago, Enough is Enough and Carol are the standout tracks for me; they're bluesy and heavy and to me are excellent Quo tracks. However, the title track and Falling In, Falling Out whilst fairly likable to me are bit mid-tempo and lightweight, and Something 'bout You baby I Like whilst 'nice' is a cover (exactly the sort of thing Quo's output in the late 80s and 90s was criticised for). I quite like Riverside and Mountain Lady but there's a very odd drum sound which sounds like a drum machine in both of these tracks which spoils the tracks for me.

So for me Never Too Late is a good Quo album but not what I consider a great Quo album. All serious Quo fans should own it(but probably already do) but for new fans I'd buy Piledriver, Hello, Quo, On the Level, Whatever You Want and Quid Pro Quo first to sample all the different sides to Quo and hear them at what I would consider their very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring Quo at the top of their game, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Granted, the string of 70's albums will never be beaten (by any band IMO), however, even with the end just around the corner the original four turned out a cracker jack of a rock album. Filled with melody and Rossi's nasal twang at its finest there are some real rock gems on this album. Take Me Away showcases the harder side of the band and, for me, is their greatest 80's track and up their with their darker, early 70's material. The thumping rhythm and Rossi's solo playing is superb. Carol has to be on the bands best ever covers and in true Quo form they make it their own with a rip roaring performance. The amount of energy in this track alone rides high above latter day albums. Mountain Lady is Quo at modern pop/rock perfection. Great melody and well structured, albeit very different. This is one track where the keyboards, whilst slightly intrusive, do not detract from what is a great song. Don't Stop Me Now, Long Ago and Riverside are all fine numbers.

Things changed after this album. And just when most fans thought the old Quo was back in fine form. We had hoped this would be the Quo sound of the 80's but Francis Rossi saw to it that they change everything and try to become an entirely different band with watered down pop written across their foreheads.

Great shame, however, to relive the band as Britain's finest rock outfit then stick on this album. It ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quo does heavy metal?, 17 May 2010
By 
Mark Bamford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Too Late (Audio CD)
Huge Quo fan. Have all of their work up to 1982. Possibly my 2nd fave after On the Level.
Their heaviest work to the point where it is arguable that it's metal (no bad thing really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Too Late
Never Too Late by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews