Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty new country music (and all the better for it!)
I bought this based solely on an Amazon personal recommendation (!), and found that this is a real discovery. Mary Gauthier writes real "on the money" songs about despair, pain and family problems. Her delivery from sounding like a female JJ Cale to a harder version of Eliza Gilkyson matches her lyrics brilliantly. Add to that a musical backing and sound mix that sounds...
Published on 14 Mar 2006 by Siriam

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mercy Now
Not as good as I expected..but may grow on me. First time I've listened to one of her albums. Recommened by a friend.
Published 23 months ago by Peter Bettany


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty new country music (and all the better for it!), 14 Mar 2006
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
I bought this based solely on an Amazon personal recommendation (!), and found that this is a real discovery. Mary Gauthier writes real "on the money" songs about despair, pain and family problems. Her delivery from sounding like a female JJ Cale to a harder version of Eliza Gilkyson matches her lyrics brilliantly. Add to that a musical backing and sound mix that sounds like Bob Dylan "Out of time" out-takes and this has been played constantly since buying. Now to buy all those earlier releases by the lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, moving and evocative. Highly recommended., 16 Oct 2007
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
This woman has lived! The songs here deal with such a wide range of deep, at times dark, material. The atmosphere of the album is with you in the first few notes, and its the type of CD that really won't let go. Listen to this late at night when you're prepared to think about the lyrics. Some of these great songs got in my head straight away.

I would buy this again without any hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD of the year?, 27 April 2005
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
Mary Gauthier sounds every bit as good on CD as live - a compliment to both. This record is beautifully crafted with vocals and instrumentals that are works of art.
If you are a country fan, you'll love it, if not it should convert you.
Yet another artist that Bob Harris opened my eyes (and ears) to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a find!, 29 May 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (penrith, cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
I bought this album because it was on sale on amazon for £3. Was I lucky? From the minute it started I was hooked. Her voice is great, gravelly, smoky, wonderful and the songs are gritty poetry. I have now bought most of the other albums I can find and listen to others on Spotify. Buy this album. It's money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must hear female singer/songwriter....Wow!, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
Have only recently been introduced to this wonderful musician, and this album in particular is absolutely stunning from beginning to end! If I had to choose a "Desert Island Disc" then I would have no hesitation in picking Prayers Without Words as it is a fabulous track. Had the good fortune of seeing her at the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh last Sunday (21/11/2010) and she nailed every single track she played. Mary was accompanied by a young female Canadian fiddle player and the sound that they produced on stage was remarkable. What was really nice was her intoduction to each of her songs, she is a true storyteller in the best tradition and a 1st class lyricist and guitarist. If you ever get the privilige to see her in concert then grab it with both hands, but if not, then just enjoy all her brilliant recordings ( have now got a growing collection of her music and love them all) and Mercy Now is an absolute cracker!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful, 9 July 2010
By 
Jill R. Taylor (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
I just loved this CD. The blues tone is descriptive of the person who has written and sung it - life put to music and much appeciated by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Gauthier / Mercy Now, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
Mary Gauthier's life story reads like a female Johnny Cash. This album reflects that, good times, hard times, all beautifully recounted in a collection of really well crafted songs, her voice, narative and melodic. One of my better buys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great music, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
This is my first experience of Mary Gauthier and I really love it. I heard the great title track on the TV and on hearing the album really love all the songs. Dark, haunting, soulfull, gritty. A real change from the increasingly uninspiring music readily available on the high street and on radio. Try it, if you're searching for something different you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary touches the human condition, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy Now (MP3 Download)
There are few other country and western singers who have such a way of catching life in the raw the way Mary Gauthier does. Intelligent and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a glorious discovery, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercy Now (Audio CD)
Like many new fans I came to this artist through the recent tv series "Case Histories". And what a lovely surprise. The cd opens with a track that sounds like it crawled out the swamps hotly pursued by Daniel Lanois. At least two tracks "Mercy Now" and "Your Sister Cried" would sound equally at home on a Lucinda Williams cd. At times the cd might sound a little tortured and the pace a little slow but when the artist does pick up the pace the tracks sound clean and fresh as mountain air. Now I must explore her other releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mercy Now
Mercy Now by Mary Gauthier (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews