Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations...I like alot.
I expected the Incredibles to be impressive on the visual side of things. I was not disappointed in those respects. I was even more suprised that an animated mainstream film from Disney was as knowing, well writen and even original as any live action film.
I thought that the take on superhero themes is refreshing. The Incredibles draws from the superhero comics...
Published on 13 July 2005

versus
74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu- ray blues
Just received this in the post this morning after pre ordering. Major disappointment is the only way i can explain how i feel about this disc and with Disney for their treatment of their uk customers. Ok the disc only cost 12, and for that you do get an excellent picture and sound experience, but the fact that 99% of the extra features from the original DVD are now...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by David 1968


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu- ray blues, 27 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just received this in the post this morning after pre ordering. Major disappointment is the only way i can explain how i feel about this disc and with Disney for their treatment of their uk customers. Ok the disc only cost 12, and for that you do get an excellent picture and sound experience, but the fact that 99% of the extra features from the original DVD are now missing and most of the new features that i understand are in the American version of the disc have not been included is a real shame. Why should i have to keep changing between the standard definition DVD edition of the film and the high def on the blu-ray? For all those people that say i should have imported the 4 disc set from the US, why should i? i would have happily have paid more money for the extra features in hi-def, but Disney in their all powerful, all knowing dictatorship of a company decided to remove my right to choose. In future i will not pre-order any discs from Disney or maybe just stick to buying their films on DVD as you seem to get better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations...I like alot., 13 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I expected the Incredibles to be impressive on the visual side of things. I was not disappointed in those respects. I was even more suprised that an animated mainstream film from Disney was as knowing, well writen and even original as any live action film.
I thought that the take on superhero themes is refreshing. The Incredibles draws from the superhero comics heritage from the 60's to the cynicism of postmodernist sentiments from the Simpsons. Superheroes have been made to go into civilian life and refrain from any heroic activity because of the cost of lawsuits to the economy made by ungrateful rescued people. Mr Incredible cant help helping good citizens by approving their insurance claims.
The parts about the new lives of the Parr family is an welcomed change of focus and pace in my opinnion. It all makes the action later more dynamic. But watching a cgi family bicker about how boring thier lives are is strangely fascinating because it is so believable, without trying to copy realife.
The action scenes are varied and clever. There's enough crash and bang, that stand up to the likes of Jurrasic Park and Starwars. More importantly is the capital the film makes from the abilites of Elastimum, who's more versatile than a survival expert with a bundle of sticks, her performances 'stretch' the possibilites of what could be acheived in live action evrn with CGI.
The art and design of big animated films is often passed of as being 'great graphics'. As an animation student there is a true appreciation of the difficulties of working in the medium. The commentaries make no few words about this point. Most people should go away with the unique quality and detail that the Incredibles has in its presentation. The characters have a claymation, Wallace and Gromit quality to them. The sets are the best I've seen. Even the ending credits are animated. In short fantastic. Pixar has done good.
The Incredibles has a lot to answer to Marvel's Fantanstic Four, which is coming out soon. I think Incredibles will probably be the better film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer..., 28 Jun 2011
By 
S. Hurford "WorkingClassHero" (The Shire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...let down by a cut-and-paste effort with the special features. Reading through what's available on the 4-disc US release (2 blu/1 DVD/1 digital copy) we're missing 3 discs of stuff. Digital copies don't matter that much, nor do DVD versions, but to be missing the 2nd blu-ray smacks of utter contempt to UK customers.

Yes, the UK version may well have SOME of the US bonus features. But not all of them. Nor does it port over any of the classic DVD features - yet EVERY Disney release previously does! What gives?

To be short-changed to such an extent is a real disappointment, saved only by the film and its excellent HD presentation. Boo hiss boo, Disney. Boo hiss boo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun Film, 29 July 2006
By 
T. Hazelhurst "Tom" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I went to see 'The Incredibles' when it first came out at the cinema, Well Pixar animation was amazing and i had to go see it again!

The characters are great each with their own 'Super Power' and the hilarious costume maker who is about 2 foot tall is great!

Anyway...If you have kids then buy it for them and if you dont, still buy it, or perhaps rent it before you buy to see if its your cup of tea, but personally i thought it was brilliant and i got very good feedback off friends and family who also saw the film!

Hoped this helped you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film - Disney short-changing UK blu-ray customers, 5 May 2011
By 
Robert (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is a fantastic film - one of Pixar's best and as good as the Toy Story films in my view (high praise indeed!)

However for the upcoming blu-ray release Disney UK appears to have decided to release a single disc version with minimal extras. The recent US version was a four(yes four) disc set. It included the now obligatory digital copy and DVD version of the film which seems to be one of Disney's selling points (Buy ANOTHER DVD copy of a film you have already!) But the package also includes an additional blu-ray disc with 8 hours of extras. What do UK buyers get? Looks like a single disc without even all the extras that were on the 2 disc DVD. If Disney UK want to continue selling blu-ray's maybe they should ask their friends in the US office for a few tips as it seems to be better value to import titles from the US than to make do with the UK hatchet job on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
My son is 7 and we went to see it because it was the latest film out ,I wasn't particularly bothered about seeing it but all the kids were talking about it at school.I'd made up my mind that I was just going to enjoy the time to relax , the film was fantastic though and my son would have sat and watched it again straight away.Its a must in this household on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing release, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Jasper Janssen (Utrecht, Netherlands, Europe) - See all my reviews
My preorder just arrived in the post -- apparently Disney decided to give the UK a completely stripped out version, and I am highly disappointed, compared to all the other Pixar and Disney BluRay releases (*all* of which I own). This would appear to be essentially disc one of the 2disc BluRay set in the US (packaged with a few extra discs there, as well, but then varying combinations of 3D Blu, Blu, DVD copy, and Digital Copy at varying price points are standard between territories). This means that the only extra that is ported over is the commentary, as the rest were on disc two. So yeah, it's six quid cheaper, but this is not up to the standards set by Disney on previous UK releases or *even* the standards set by Disney for *this* release elsewhere.

The movie, of course, still worthwhile, and no doubt the transfer quality will be excellent, but the package gets a thumbs down. Recommend an import.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor UK Edition, 17 July 2011
By 
N. Raymond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Order the 4 Disc US edition if you want the special features. Europe got shafted again with a stripped down version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Order the USA one from Amazon.Com, 4 July 2011
As most have said the UK one has little extras but a great picture. However the USA one has 2 Blu-ray discs that are A-B-C All Regions the DVD in the set is USA Region 1. do check info and pictures before you order as stock may change. So head off to Amazon.com (USA) Maybe Disney UK will treat us better with their next re-issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible delight, 2 July 2011
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite Pixar movie and by some margin. All of the studio's films are a cut above: in terms of both story and presentation. However, if there's one criticism that could be levelled at them, it's that hitherto their formula could be loosely described as 'misfits on a quest'.

Enter Brad Bird, a writer-director whose previous effort, the vastly underrated The Iron Giant, demonstrated that good characterisation can transcend a limited budget. Although championed by John Lasseter, Bird's arrival was looked on askance by Disney executives and Pixar staff alike as he set about constructing something new. The running time was increased to two hours, which allowed for a deeper narrative structure. What emerged was a part-domestic drama, part-comic book homage that has a very stylised look and is consistently entertaining.

The Incredibles is about a superhero family who are unable to live the life they once did. If there's one thing that defines America more than overeating and gun ownership, it's that lawyers have evolved into a distinct species who can spot a no win-no fee case if someone's wearing the wrong shirt. (That may be a generalisation but so long as they look on our crooked teeth as if it's a rabies symptom, I feel I'm allowed to make it.) What were once acts of superhuman kindness have become an inconvenience to the point of litigation. As a result, 'supers' are forced to live among the populace incognito, shunned by the society they once protected.

From this setting, some interesting themes develop from the character dynamics. Husband, wife, brother and sister respectively embody frustration, acceptance, confidence and diffidence; meanwhile the antagonist's motivation stems from massive insecurity. If the film has a message, it's "Be all that you can be."

As a Pixar Blu-ray, it's de rigueur for the image to be perfect and it is. Some have bemoaned the lack of extras compared to the two-disc DVD and it's for that reason only that I'm deducting a star. However, you still get two audio commentaries, a couple of Pixar shorts and a twenty-minute roundtable retrospective from the film's creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredibles [VHS]
The Incredibles [VHS] by Tim Simonec (VHS Tape - 2005)
17.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews