Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£28.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2009
An excellent production in its original form but sadly a great disappointmeent as a DVD. Badly edited so that many of the scenes were cut off abruptly before they finished, presumably to remove unwanted advertisements. The general feeling was that had this been a pirated version it could not have been much worse. I certainly would not recommend it for viewing. A rather tarnished 'Jewel'! Philip Smith
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Highly delighted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2006
For all its flaws and self-indulgent tone, the series I believe is probably the best fictional, most true-to-life, commentary on the British Empire. It brought home to me how futile the entire enterprise was from the beginning, and how much destruction the ramshackle Raj wreaked in the lives of both the colonised and the colonists.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
First class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
i brought this box set as a joke, but have fallen in love with it. I watched one episode a night and ened up totally addicted. the first episode is a little hard to watch due to the over the top english accents and the bad acting by miss manners but dont let this put you off as you will soon grow to love it. Myself, my sisters and my mum have all watched it loved it and will be watching it again. if you love anything like bleak house this is one for you
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2009
The Jewel in the Crown was a brilliant chance to show how British India really was and to make a cracking story that could have gone on and on. Instead, the author chose to take on board the (then) fashionable trait that everything to do with the British Empire was bad with just a few holding up the flag of decency. In fact it was the other way round. The British Raj was one of the finest institutions the world has ever seen and probably will ever see. You must view Jewel in the Crown as a story with about as much relevance to actual history as America winning WWII single handed.
There are some superb scenes showing the beauty of India and its peoples. The actors gave magnificent performances. All of them so good it would be difficult to point out any in particular.
If you want to find out the true nature of the British Raj - go to India and see for yourself what tremendous good the British Raj did for that great country. Reading Plain Tales from the Raj will give you a truer account of British India.
Lastly the piracy notices are awful and off-putting.
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
Shouting the title of your review is clearly "in vogue" at the moment...

Don't believe the hype around this series - it isn't actually that good, although many of the reviewers here seem to be getting quite precious about it...

It is long and meandering, repetetive and quite dull. There are far superior period drama's available, which are better acted and scripted. This is NOT a five star series - perhaps it seemed that way at the time it was broadcast (and certain reviewers are looking through rose tinted nostalgia glasses), bit it isn't.

I love period drama's, but this is average at best, and time has not been kind in my opinion.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2005
Constantly changing two dimensional characters and a plot that goes no-where. Not to mention the numbing repetition of the opening credits. This truly is a very average series and I was very dissapointed.
66 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)