Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand out metalcore
Some have accused Atreyu of being style over substance, metalcore by numbers. They were mocked following their arrival on the scene for adopting the cliched makeup and all black look, for utilising the overused sing-scream-sing approach. However this album should silence all those critics, with Atreyu taking the sound of the last album, but somehow making it sound darker...
Published on 31 May 2005 by simbo_86

versus
12 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UH OOOOH
I was looking foreward to the release of this album because "Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses" is really very good...but when I put this cd into my cd player I realised that this is'nt. I didn't know why it wasn't very good but it just wasn't SO I decided to listen intensively to both this album and "Suicide Notes..." in order to decide what made it so much worse and so...
Published on 14 July 2004 by S. J. Hofmeister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stand out metalcore, 31 May 2005
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
Some have accused Atreyu of being style over substance, metalcore by numbers. They were mocked following their arrival on the scene for adopting the cliched makeup and all black look, for utilising the overused sing-scream-sing approach. However this album should silence all those critics, with Atreyu taking the sound of the last album, but somehow making it sound darker whilst being more polished production wise. The first thing you notice are the monstrous guitar riffs, the twin-axe assault of 'Big' Dan and Travis rippling with dark energy. Then the vocals hit you, the screaming sections are impressive and passionately delivered. But it is the melodic singing adopted in the anthemic choruses of songs such as 'The Crimson' and 'Right Side of the Bed' that truly mark this album, and the band as one of the leading acts in the overcrowded genre of metalcore. If Atreyu can make as great a leap in quality for their third album as they did for this one, then we may be looking at album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
I first heard about Atreyu when I picked up a Victory Records promo record in the states last year. “Right side of the bed” was on it and I just thought it was an awesome song! My boyfriend lent me The Curse for ages and I couldn’t put it down! There’s something about Atreyu that’s different from most other metal core bands in the scene, The Curse just has so much energy and passion to it! The best song on the album is The Crimson! If anyone who reads this likes other bands like Avenged Sevenfold, Bullet for My Valentine, Aiden or The Black Maria, The Curse is well worth adding to your CD collection!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atreyu's second album shows real progression .., 12 April 2005
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
ATREYU - THE CURSE
Atreyu are back. They're back again. They're back. With the follow up to their debut 'Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses', 'The Curse'. There is more of that heavy riffage, but less of those whiney lyrics. This is altogether a more upbeat and stronger record than the first, with the guitars, drumming and vocals having all improved since their last outing. Although this is more mainstream single material, that doesn't at any point compromise it; it's still heavy moshing sounds with Varkatzas's trademark growling sounding just the same as before and his regular audible singing having been fine tuned significantly.
Right from the bullet-speed introduction to live favourite 'Bleeding Mascara' we know we're in for a fast bounding ride. The dual guitars ring effortlessly throughout; the lead handling the high twiddly bits while the rhythm seems to be forever strumming out chords. The same "growly verses, audible chorus" structure has been applied, and the lyrics help the general upbeat feel of the album with love ballads rather than unrequited love ballads. "And I'll never to see the sun again, there's enough light in your eyes" sings Varkatzas cheesily, but it's a welcome break from the pessimism from the first album. On the cover of the album is an unattractive female vampire, and on 'This Flesh a Tomb' he sings "The bite marks on my neck never felt so good" - which is good to hear. The skill of this five piece is unwavering; they never stick too much to the same formula and they can handle the ferocious guitars brilliantly, although this album was made principally for the singing, with few solos. With such fast pace are the first six tracks rushed through that the slow 'The Remembrance Ballad' is a well needed breath of fresh air. After 'An Interlude', an instrumental and the only track where the bass is actually heard at all, it's more heavy riffing and screaming until the end. This loses some of its originality as a few of these songs are quite samey, and you'd be pressed to remember which song is called which near the end.
Putting an album full of pounding heavy upbeat speedy tracks is a good tactic, but there's only so much you can hear without tracks falling from memory. Luckily they decided to put the best track on the album as the last one; the compelling 'Five Vicodin Chased With a Shot of Clarity' is so full of energy and power that it shows a prime example of how to fit pacey melodies with distortion guitars. Overall I think people are going to enjoy this album a lot more than the first, and thus Atreyu succeed in jumping the hurdle of the second album. Carrying on in this vein could eventually get boring; but I'm very curious to see what they produce next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Curse is beautiful. But..., 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
Well well well, Atreyu. Perhaps one of my favourite bands of all time, and I've always put off writing a review for "The Curse" - their 2nd full length album. Here goes anyway. "Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses" was an album of epic proportions, the 10 songs crafted with a mixture of beautiful aggression and blissful melody, the lyrical content among the most memorable on any metal album ever. Yet the album was menacing, the dark brooding croons of lead singer Alex were heartfelt, disturbing and lyrically shocking. On The Curse he takes somewhat of a backseat, letting the drummer do a lot more of the chorus singing. This is no bad thing, the singer/drummer is extremely talented, but Atreyu had originally used him so sparingly that it was a rare treat when he did pop up.
Now he's everywhere, "Right Side of the Bed" and "The Remembrance Ballad" are two such examples. Now, great songs yes - but with such a sheen/gloss to them that Atreyu just never exhibited on their previous efforts. Sell out? Not quite. Atreyu have merely matured, their sound evolved to lure in a wider audience - and you can't blame them for that. There is still heaviness in abundance : "Corseting" and "You Eclipsed by Me" are rip-roaring tracks. But there is a lack of menace as shown on "Suicide Notes.." - the lyrical content has shifted towards vampirism (which I'm not sure really works) away from genuinely heart-wrenching cries such as "I'll be honest/the silver linings are getting harder and harder to manufacture".
The Curse IS a nice album. It's well constructed musically - the artwork is certainly original and the length is not to be sniffed at. The interludes annoy me, but they do seem to be quite in vogue at the moment. "Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses" remains one of my favourite albums of all time, this is certainly a respectable follow up, just nothing world changing as I was hoping for. Still, I love you Atreyu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Amazing!, 29 Jun 2004
By 
David Burch "nephilim138" (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
after being a fan of the band for little over a year now i am really impressed with what they have come up with this time, their musical ability has grown in huge ammounts (and they were blinding before). This record is a bit darker and a bit moodier with more refferences to lost love than anything in the lyrics, Alex's vocals are sharper harder and much more agressive than last time and the harmonies with brandon work really well.
the guitar work is amazing these guys should be up there with kirk hammet, hendrix, and modern heroes of mick thompson, synester gates, and jade puget. so
Travis miguel
Dan Jacobs
We salute you!
the drumming is blinding as ever and the bass weaves its way into the music giving it a nice structural back bone.
as for music style... if you know the bands "Avenged Sevenfold, From autumn to ashes, 18 visions, most presious blood, etc... then you will know the kind of metal core i'm talking about.
for fans of AFI, Avenged sevenfold, Misfits, and Murderdolls. and any one into hardcore/metal/punk that like a darker side to their music.
XdaveyX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The curse is upon us..., 26 April 2005
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
The curse is a album which you can not be bored by, as all the songs sound completely different. My faves are 'bleeding mascara', 'right side of the bed' and 'five shots of...'. Atreyu sound like Killswitch Engage to me but lighter, I first got into them in my local rock club the academy!!! If your fans of killswitch engage, bleeding through and 18 visions buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now I know what the fuss was about, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
Been after this for a long time wondering what the fuss was about Listened to it and I can see what it was about the album is very good tere is lots of power here lots of catchy breaks and choruses you can sing to but it is also quite heavy too and filled with good drumming and just has some serious energy to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Descent., 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
I'm not normally a fan of song featuring such guttural "singing", baring a few awesome Turisas songs of course. This album however did surprise me, it was nowhere near as bad as I expected. My favourite tracks by far are 1 and 8.
The more astute among you may have realized that they are both purely instrumental, and yes, that may not bode well to those interested in lyrics, but if you don't like the singing, you're looking at the wrong album.

If, like me, you adore the music but disdain the lyrics, try Lead Sails Paper Anchor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
A bit heavier than I thought it would be (first few songs) to start with, then some good songs all through the album. Thoroughly enjoyable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Curseting, 11 April 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse (Audio CD)
A fine, energetic, catchy album. It is not a masterpiece, they have yet to create a truly awe-inspiring album, but it is well worth a few pounds of anybodies money, providing you are into post-hardcore/emo/pop-punk/etc. The quality rarely drops until well after the 7th track, there are a couple of filler tracks but on the whole it's a well crafted, sincere effort.

'Blood Children' is a little intro to set the vampiric mood. 'Bleeding Mascara' then machine-guns its way through the speakers, laying all to waste. A true classic of the genre (whatever genre that is?). 'Right Side of the bed' is another excellent song, single material really and not as brutal as the first. Catchy, upbeat in a dark and dungeony kind of a way and the album id introduced perfectly. 'This Flesh A Tomb' is less immediate but is no worse. An understated track that stays with you without you realising. 'You Eclipsed By Me' is another thumping juggernaut that is extremely rousing and puts nary a metallic winkle-picker wrong. 'The Crimson' is a more gentle track, although it is still a rocking addition to the rest. Again it is understated slightly but made all the better for it. So far no real duds. And the next track is as classic as 'Bleeding Mascara'. 'The Remembrance Ballad' is a personal favourite of mine. It is a ballad of sorts that crescendoes into a sublime power-chorus that is near perfect. A song for driving, running or rescuing beautiful women from explosions in storms, in slow motion.

'An Interlude' is needed after all that introvert heroic-fantasy wish-fulfillment. It's 2 minutes of nice strumming. There are only 5 more tracks after this and it is here where the album becomes more of a hit-and-miss affair. But that is no bad thing as 8 tracks of near perfection still makes for a fantastic album. 'Corseting' is short, fast, heavy and raw. It's quite good but just falls short of brilliant. Still, it's only wee. Then 'Demonology & Heartbreak' kicks in and all is forgiven. It's worthy and reminiscent of the majority of the first half of the album. 'My Sanity...' is another filler track really. It's a bit neither-here-nor-there. It fits in but doesn't add anything particularly interesting to the mix. 'Nevad's Grace' is a little better but the promise it had at the start dwindles slightly towards the end. Sadly the album ends with a track that is not at all bad but, like 'My Sanity...' is pretty forgettable.

It's got about 10 great to perfect tracks. If that was all it had then it would be a triumphant 5-starrer. As it is it is simply just a very good album indeed.

Can be enjoyed by all who like KSE, 36 Crazyfists, FFAF and most lovers of half-decent metal and rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse
The Curse by Atreyu (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews