Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.50+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2002
The fact that Motorhead's Lemmy plays all the guitars and is the vocalist made me pick this up and it was worth it! Screaming fuzzed guitars over drawled vocals make this an undiscoverd psychedelic masterpiece. For anyone into the 13th Floor Elevators or The Electric Prunes, check out tracks like "Cold Embrace, The Dark Lord or Escalator". Never one to throw away a good idea,"You're Alone Now" would later be used by both Hawkwind and Motorhead,but now called "The Watcher" The inclusion of some sappy accoustic songs stop this from being a 5 star album but apart from that......buy it!!!
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I bought my vinyl copy of Sam Gopal's Escalator album way back in 1969 I had no idea who Lemmy was – he was then known as Ian Willis on the sleeve notes and composing credits. He apparently had a habit of borrowing money back in the day – hence “Lemmy a fiver” and the name stuck – but that might just be one of the many myths surrounding the rock legend that was Lemmy. I bought the original CD release of Escalator on Edsel records about fifteen years ago but it wasn't until Lemmy's untimely passing that I finally bought this much better CD release on Mark Powell's Esoteric label. I have long been a fan of Mark Powell's reissues as he has a fine knack of producing what become the definitive versions of many old favourite albums – most feature top quality re-mastering and as many bonus tracks as can be found.

Escalator sounds better here than I have ever heard it, tracks 12 and 13 are bonuses not on the original album and as with other Esoteric releases there is an informative and entertaining booklet included. As for the music itself well I am rather biased as the original album has been in my collection for the best part of fifty years! It is of it's time and is nothing like Lemmy's other ventures with the Rockin' Vickers – or even Hawkwind and Motorhead. You probably had to be there man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2006
A real jewel from the 60's, this album has a real haunting quality. Along with the first Black Sabbath Album, this pretty much kicks off the whole grunge/black metal thing, though it's got a heavy psychedelic feel.

The great thing about this album is that it's so original - for a start there's no drums, other than Sam G playing the tabla all the way though, which along with the heavy bass gives the whole album a rolling-groove which is like being hit continously with a feather duster.

The guitar is excellent, improvising over the solid backing track and underneath Lemmy's brooding vocals.

You don't have to like motorhead or hawkwind to like this - if you're into shoegazer and/or '60s psych this is a definite for the collection, along with that other great one-off, the Electric Prunes 'Mass in F Minor'.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
Boosted sales of this album will be created by the inclusion of two of these tracks on the Lemmy 'Damage Case' anthology. You can see the man himself to the left in the band photo on the front cover, and but for Lemmy's part in it, the album has never gone away. With this release, though, there are two not-on-the-original-album-tracks with 'Horse' and 'Back Door Man,' so this is Sam Gopal's complete recorded output on one CD. And Motorhead fans will enjoy going back to the roots of their main-man, as they will also do by following the trails left by the Rocking Vickers, also on the 'Damage Case' compilation. Yes, the man has been around for a very long time!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2006
the great thing about this album is that it's so original - for a start there's no drums, other than Sam G playing the bongos all the way though, which along with Lemmy's bass gives the whole album a rolling-groove which is like being hit continously with a feather duster

the guitar is excellent and the songs have a brooding psychedelic feel

you don't have to like motorhead or hawkwind to like this - if you're into shoegazer and/or '60s psych this is a definite for the collection, along with that other great one-off, the Electric Prunes 'Mass in F Minor'
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
Wow a blast from the past and a blast from before Lemmy and Hawkwind. I recently bought the LEMMY anthology Damage Case. There are two tracks from Escalator on this anthology (Escalator and The Dark Lord). On the strength of these two tracks I am buying the Sam Gopal CD. I am putting my money where my mouth is. On Escalator Lemmy sings so you have "the" voice of "the" man. If you want comparisons The Dark Lord = The Watcher! Excellent stuff.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
Sam Gopal, Malaysia-born composer, musician (tabla), scholar and philosopher is an almost iconoclastic cult personality in the history of music (and culture), who keeps somehow in the shade, and is highly respected by true connoisseurs.
This first album (recorded in 1968) was brought back out of obscurity by the fact that it features as guitarist and singer Ian Fraser Kilmister (b.1945) - the famous "Lemmy" of Motorhead.
Two other stars are closely co-operating with Sam Gopal during these early years - Mick Huntchinson, guitar, and Andy Clark, keyboards - of the future Clark Hutchinson (Free To Be Stoned-The Complete Decca Recordings Anthology,A=mh2...) - also a cult name and innovative musicians.
Sam Gopal (as a band) was managed by Robert Stigwood, and later (as "Cosmosis") - by Peter Grant, when Gopal recorded several tracks for Led Zeppelin label (circa 1971).

Is this a blend of psychedelia, underground,progressive and avant-garde oriental inspired music, is difficult to say, and it's absolutely irrelevant - that is top-quality innovative approach, which inspired and influenced many interesting musicians.The only faulty track is monotonous rendition of "Back Door Man".

Sam Gopal was (is) always ready to broaden the horizons of his composing and to co-operate with other musicians: 1976 (with excellent French musicians Didier Malherbe on sax and Patrice Lemoine on piano); 1988 - "Sangit" (performed live in Berlin Philarmonie- und Kammernmusiksaal and recorded the soundtrack for Channel 4); 1990 & 1991 - "Soap Opera" and "Not For Sale" (featuring again Andy Clark)
Sam Gopal had spent almost 7 years in Nepal where he continued his studies of the theory of traditional music and brought even further up to perfectionism his mastering of tablas, which are used with incredibly rich assortment of over-tones (12 tone tabla) - on his next solo album of 1999 for the first time the blues was played on tablas ("Solid Water Blues"). I am really grateful to Esoteric Recordings for re-issuing this excellent album - hopefully other works of Sam Gopal will be available on CDs also
By the way, try Ananda Shankar - more towards commercial, but still interesting
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
This album is a psychedelic classic from 1968/9. Lemmy sings lead vocals on each track ,most of which feature raucous guitar alongside Sam Gopal playing Tabla .The stand out tracks are the title track Escalator ,Dark lord & Season of the Witch (the Donovan song ).
Each track features some sound effects on the intro (Fire,rain etc )and this adds to the overall feel .This edition has been expanded to include both sides of their single.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Escalator,zanimljiv album poznat po tome sto je snimljen bez bubnjeva osim na jednu skladbu!Takodje ovo je prvi album na kojem je Ian Willis poznatiji nasiroko kao Lemmy!Tako da fanovi Motorheada imaju u vidu za nabavu ovog albuma na kojem on debitira vokalom i gitarom.Kasnije je presao na bas.Glazba je mracnog ugodjaja u kombinaciji istocnjacke ritmike i heavy bluza!U biti da se ovaj album preradi bio bi pravi heavy album!Mislim da niko prije nije ovakav komad glazbe napravio s indijskom tablom pa se moze reci da je pionirski!Na cdeu je par obrada Season of the witch od Donovana i Back door man od Dixona.Ostatak su potpisali Willis i Group(valjda pseudonim za Gopala,nisam siguran jer mi je poznato vec).Snimljen krajem 1968 u studenom u Morgan/De-Lane studijima i izdan za Stable SLE 8001(Ovo je valjda prvi album za tu labelu).CD je od Breathless!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
A superb late 1960s indian, mystical folk/rock album featuring Lemmy on guitar and the fabulous Mr Gopal ( who I once met and is a lovely guy)

Highly Recommneded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)