Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
bought the album on the release date then saw jane live in my home town of blackpool, she sang quite a few songs off the album and was completley amazing a true star , this album is a must for anybody who knows talent
Published on 25 Jan 2005 by howickchris

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed.
As a long term fan of Jane's I was very much looking forward to this new album. However, it is certainly not her best. Her voice is as good as ever but the chosen songs are pretty dire! They just don't do her voice justice. The songs Jane has written are good but there are only 4 of them which is a shame. Where are the big ballads that Jane does SO well. What a...
Published on 30 Jan 2005 by Mr. D. J. Woolrich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Jan 2005
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
bought the album on the release date then saw jane live in my home town of blackpool, she sang quite a few songs off the album and was completley amazing a true star , this album is a must for anybody who knows talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We Belong To You, Jane, 4 Mar 2005
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
It's been a 3 year wait since Jane's last studio album (2001's 'Love at the Movies') - not counting 2003's 'The Collection' - a bizarre hybrid of Jane's 2nd and 3rd albums, which contained not a single track from her first platinum selling album! It's been even longer since fans heard any new original material ('Love at the Movies' being entirely cover versions).
This new album, called 'You Belong to Me' is a two part concept. The first 10 tracks are cover versions - Jane's salute to great ladies of song - Dusty Springfield, Connie Francis, Petula Clark, Sandie Shaw among others). Jane is known for her interpretation of great ballads and she doesn't disappoint here - the intonation of her voice and arrangement on the title track (originally recorded by Jo Stafford) is sublime. However there are some upbeat numbers to lift the mood - the fun 'Where the Boys Are', the cheeky 'Kiss Me, Honey Honey' (originally recorded by Shirley Bassey) and the infectious Brazilian rhythms of 'Blame it on the Bossa Nova'.
However the real treat for Jane fans is the second part of the album which comprises 4 self penned songs. 'I see It in Your Eyes' is a beautiful duet (performed with Nik Page who also is a support act with Jane on tour) which Jane penned about the heartache of the break-up of her marriage to Henrik Brixen. 'When I look at You' and 'Kiss Me One more Time' are also ballads which show the depth and maturity Jane has achieved in her song writing skills since the turgid 'Some You Win, Some You Lose'. The final song has insightful revealing bitter sweet lyrics (written about the sham of the public face of her marriage) which would be uncomfortable to listen to had they not been set to a loud jazzy Latin 'shake your maracas' type beat. Interestingly this is a different mix to the first version of the song which was released on a 4 track sampler only available at Jane's 2003 concerts. Another track from this sampler, the gospel inspired 'Let the Light In' unfortunately did not make it to the final cut of this album, making that 4 track promo a real collector's item.
Jane has been promoting this album with an extensive UK tour. Jane live is an experience not to be missed. Of course you see the humorous, down to earth Yorkshire woman who can chatter and entertain between songs. But it's always been about the voice - the power and clarity that captivates and enthrals. Too bad Jane is not on stage as long as on previous tours - the half hour set by Nik Page before Jane's show limits the duration of Jane's appearance. The show is also overwhelmingly medley orientated with very few full length songs performed, even of Jane's popular self-penned numbers. The placing of the downbeat 'tissues at the ready' section just before the finale also jars the rhythm and pace of the concert making it difficult to switch moods to the camp disco medley which wraps up the show - the sad section would have been best suited at an earlier point in the show. And where was Sue Ravey, Jane's long-time backing singer and best mate? No explanation or mention was made. However a few gripes aside, Jane still gets the audience standing and cheering by the end - for one reason, her voice is still awesome and the reason we are still fans after all these years. Another good reason to go to the concerts is to buy the new DVD which is not in the shops and only available on tour - containing a new film 'Being Jane' by Chris Terrill (who made the BBC 'Cruise' series which brought Jane to fame) documenting the ups and downs of life with Jane on her 2003 tour - the first since she split with her husband. It's gritty and sometimes upsetting but it's an honest account and clearly a gift Jane has made for the fans - within it she addresses the fans directly and thanks them for all their support over the years. Well Jane, thank you for that voice. You're our world and we belong to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Belong To Me, 2 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
This CD is simply out of this world. Its very different to anything Jane has done before, but it suits her well. I agree with an earlier review where it was stated that it would have been nice if Jane had thanked the Fans on the inside cover. Buy it, and I promise you will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent collection from Jane., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
This is one of her best efforts. I particularly like some of her own compositions on this CD. Jane never fails to please. She is a most underrated performer and should receive more recognition from the music critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You belong to me, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
very pleasant music easy listening to Jane McDonald her delivery is so sincere will look for some of her music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed., 30 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. D. J. Woolrich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
As a long term fan of Jane's I was very much looking forward to this new album. However, it is certainly not her best. Her voice is as good as ever but the chosen songs are pretty dire! They just don't do her voice justice. The songs Jane has written are good but there are only 4 of them which is a shame. Where are the big ballads that Jane does SO well. What a disappointment. I notice on the notes inside the case she has stated it is her best yet, not so! Also she has thanked everyone except her fans, don't forget us who buy your music Jane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BIG Disappointment!!, 7 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: You Belong To Me (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Jane's for several years and after three years since her last album release this was certainly a long awaited album! When I heard it I was truly disappointed. The first nine songs are terrible! They're very old fashioned songs from the 40's/50's that would probably appeal to my great granny! 'Kiss Me Honey Honey Kiss Me' has got to be the worst -this song is painful to listen to and makes me cringe. Having said that the last five songs are great (the four songs Jane wrote herself and the title track 'You Belong To Me') Why didn't Jane write an album of all her own songs - it would have been five stars if she had! Jane - your a great singer but get a bit more modern. Don't sing songs by Shirley Bassey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Belong To Me
You Belong To Me by Jane McDonald (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews