Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On The Road To Resurrection
And so they returned to us at last. Firstly, lets put the cynical and lazy critics straight on the facts - Tears For Fears did NOT reform after the success of Gary Jules' version of "Mad World" in 2003. Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith had decided to end their decade-long feud ("the biggest sulk of all time") and buried the hatchet back in 2000 when they began writing and...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Stevie M.

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music... bad over compressed record
Everybody Loves a Happy Ending is nice collection of Beatles influenced sounds but without loosing the TFF's soul. I won't get into details about the songs because there are enough good reviews here to give an idea of the music's quality.
What I want to discuss here is the fact that this record is compressed as hell, sadly becoming another casualty in the loudness...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Christian Schreier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For want of a better term: a classic, 6 April 2006
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
Recently got this album after waiting for it to get cheaper... to be honest, without many expectations... for many years passed since the release of the unique 'The Seeds of Love'. Not many years however since the advent of the Rock and Pop scene in the history of music. A scene that, truth be told, in fifty years has contributed with very little to the whole of the musical universe with something that could be rightly called music. 'Everybody Loves a Happy Ending' does just that; engrose this little percentage thus keeping the MUSIC, not the music industry, alive. Sincere congratulations to Roland and Curt for this rare, shall we say, scintillating album... and many thanks for the music once again.
P.S: By the way, the album sounds more like a happy new departure rather than an ending...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be more than happy after hearing this!, 8 May 2005
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
Am I a Tears of Fears fan? I heard the singles which were good and enjoyable, but I can tell you that after hearing this fantastic record I am a FAN of Tears for Fears.
The Beatlesque arrangements mixing great vocal harmonies, cutting the songs in mini-pieces of music and then putting them together in such a cohesive way! This is a joy to listen to.
You will even hear sounds from King Crimson and Pink Floyd mixed-up with powerful and melodic pop oriented choruses!
And... if you open your ears, you will have a bit soul too.
Not a single song on the record isn't good, what could be better?
Let the Music Play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad they are back!, 9 Mar 2005
By 
C. Ritchie "colrfc1" (Morayshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
I must confess, I have now 2 copies of this album -the US one and the UK release with the 2 extra bonus tracks. This album, without exaggeration, is one of the best Iv`e ever heard, Killing with Kindness, Ladybird and Closest thing to Heaven being my personal favourites-with the other songs also sublime. Out of Control(one of the bonus UK songs)also sounds brilliant. Do you remember Tears for Fears with both Roland Orzabal & Curt Smith at the Helm? - they are now back together again for Everybody Loves A Happy Ending, and they sound even better than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After hearing this album you'll be more than happy..., 8 May 2005
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
Am I a fan of Tears of Fears? I heard the singles which were good and enjoyable, but I can tell you that after hearing this fantastic record I am a fan of Tears for Fears.
The Beatlesque arrangements mixing great vocal harmonies, cutting the songs in mini-pieces of music and then putting them together in such a cohesive way! This is joy to listen to.
You will even hear sounds from King Crimson and Pink Floyd mixed-up with powerful and melodic pop oriented choruses!
And... if you open your ears, you will have a bit soul too.
Not a single song on the record isn't good, what could be better?. I would also recommend to buy the UK version w/two extra songs!
Let the Music Play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Baggie Dave (Kingswinford UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
I can only agree with all the other reviews of this album it is wonderful. I own everything TFF have produced and this is right up there with the classic 'Songs From The Big Chair' and had it been released after the 'Seeds' album it would have won worldwide acclaim. 'Who killed Tangerine' is a track that has John Lennon written all over it and it is my personal favourite. It's so good I cannot wait for the next studio album release. Finally, if you like TFF you will love this and this is testimony to the fact that these two guys are better together than apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For want of a better term: A true classic, 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
Much water has run under the bridge of the music industry since the 'The Seeds of Love' time. Indeed, much water since the advent of the Rock & Pop scene in the music universe; a scene that, truth be told, has only provided this universe with 10%... maybe 5% of something that could rightfully rank as music properly speaking. Well, this album does just that, contribute to this percentage thus keeping the MUSIC, not the music industry, alive. Congratulations to Roland and Curt for this brilliant, rare, shall we say, scintillating album and many, many thanks for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars together again, at last, 5 Jan 2005
By 
P. Cottom "petercottom" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the opening bars of "Everybody Loves a Happy Ending" this is pure TFF - and that's got to be a good thing. It builds on the sound that grew from "Songs from the Big Chair" through the temperamentally-challenged "Sowing the Seeds", and even that contained some great songs - give it another listen and see!
This new collection is full of musical references, passionately crafted songs, infectious hooks and bears the mark of that instantly recognisable TFF production and attention to detail which, ok, can border on the obsessive, but that's no bad thing when it results in an album as beautiful as this.
Listening to it is an experience for the head and the soul, and heaps rewards on the listener with each play. "Closest Thing to Heaven" - as glorious a chunk of joyous intelligent pop-type stuff as you're ever likely to hear - and "Secret World" are obvious singles, and the rest of the album contains strong songs, no fillers.
It would be a tragic thing if this enjoyable and rewarding album is ignored. It should be gracing each and every discerning music lover's collection, so just do yourself a big favour, go out and grab a copy - and play it to your friends/ relatives/ pets.....you'll never be lonely again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, 22 Nov 2004
By 
R. Harvey "racheyrach" (Exeter, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a superb comeback - can't fault this album; not one track. What a welcome return - hope they keep recording albums of this standard. Based on this I can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears For Fears In Happy Ending, 1 May 2004
By 
Michael Biggs (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow, what a comeback. Not recorded together for 14 years (approx)and then deliver their finest album. Highlights are many, with "Call Me Mellow" probably shading it. The only track I'm not keen on is "The Devil". My current favourite is "Secret World" (my choice changes depending on mood) and I must mention "Last Days On Earth", which is quite simply georgous. I hope this album gets the coverage it deserves, but after such a long gap,is the audience still there? Q magazine gave it a miserly 2 stars, which is totally out of order, and based not on the music, but on their long standing resentment towards what is one of the finest bands produced by this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaping the Harvest, 1 Mar 2005
This review is from: EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING (Audio CD)
It's a bizarre affair - when Roland Orzabal was always the creative force behind Tears for Fears, how come his solo albums under the band name seemed to move in ever decreasing circles (particularly the half-hearted Elemental, the only pop album almost named after a Swiss cheese)? Curt Smith only co-wrote one song each on Songs from the Big Chair and The Seeds of Love, and yet his contribution to this album cannot be overstated. Not only does he co-write half the songs, but more importantly he seems to rein in Orzabal's more self-indulgent tendencies (the real answer to the opening question), and the result is a lush pop triumph.
Key tracks are the opening, title song - an even more obvious Beatles pastiche than Sowing the Seeds of Love, warm and lively and with no trace of doom or primal scream therapy at all (though the opening lines "Wake up! / Your time is nearly over / No more the supernova" show that Orzabal's intimations of mortality - see also Famous Last Words, Goodnight Song etc. - have not deserted him) - Who Killed Tangerine?, which loses points for having a worrying prog-rockish title but scores double plus credit for the biggest and longest chorus this side of Hey Jude; Secret World, which sweeps the listener along in an avalanche of orchestral cheer; and the closer proper (forget the bonus tracks), Last Days on Earth, as sweet and delicate a gem as Orzabal and Smith have ever produced. Then in between you have the single Closest Thing to Heaven, a Smith-composed song which is not a complete disaster (Who You Are), and much more to delight in besides.
Interviews, the title of the album and the ominous words The End on the last page of the inlay booklet, all suggest that this less a fully-fledged reunion than a proper closing chapter for a band who splintered into pieces before the had a chance to say goodbye. But on the strength of Everybody Loves a Happy Ending, I hope they stick around for a while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING
EVERYBODY LOVES A HAPPY ENDING by Tears For Fears (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews