Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection
Having bought a fair few Marianne Faithfull collections, I was initially impressed by the range of material on this double album. Containing hits, b-sides and rarities from Faithfull's 60s recordings, it provides the most comprehensive compilation available of Faithfull's early output. I'd particularly recommend this collection to anyone who enjoyed the early material...
Published on 21 Sep 2006 by El 'Nah

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No rhyme or reason
You do get a lot of good to great music for relatively little money - if that's all you're interested in, this is a great compilation. But the selection and sequencing make no sense at all - the songs are not presented chronologically and the folky stuff is indiscriminately mixed in with the pop (baroque and mainstream), and I wonder how many people share the compiler's...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by kurt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection, 21 Sep 2006
By 
El 'Nah (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Having bought a fair few Marianne Faithfull collections, I was initially impressed by the range of material on this double album. Containing hits, b-sides and rarities from Faithfull's 60s recordings, it provides the most comprehensive compilation available of Faithfull's early output. I'd particularly recommend this collection to anyone who enjoyed the early material from albums such as 'Faithfull', as the heavily folk-influenced songs allow Faithfull's voice to shine while displaying less of the commercialised 'Decca sound' of singles such as 'Reason To Believe' and 'As Tears Go By'. These 40 songs showcase the best of the start of Faithfull's career, and form a beautiful, fragile, essential collective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where Is "As Tears Go By", 7 April 2012
By 
Jeffrey King "Jefri" (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This a good collection of here Decca Tracks. But why is Her first Hit "As Tears Go By" #9 1964 Omitted from this collection. It contains her other 5 hits Come And Stay With Me #4 1965. This Little Bird # 6 1965. Summer Nights #10 1965. Yesterday #36 1965 and her last hit for Decca. Is This What I get For Loving You #43 1967. Would have received 5 Stars if As Tears Go By would have been included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars influences, 19 Sep 2014
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I have already got the best of, a 16 track hits collection
this fills in the gaps and shows her influences
similar to early Dylan in the folk choices
this little bird still brings a tear to my eye
things might have been different if she had sung the blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Fortunately devoid of the atrocious Sister Morphine or anything from the 70s and 80s when she reinvented herself this is of the songs which made her famous-when she was as good as Joan Baez or whoever.
Thie period of Marianne Faithful led to not only the more unusual aspects of the Stones but of Decca signing up a number of girl singers who tended to sound like her and included her secretary Caroline Carter (Many of these are now available on the RPM CD Faithfull and Folk Rock)
Not included here is her stunning version of Greensleeves-something of an oversight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you like Marianne then this is for you. A great collection of all the songs you will remember her singing. This was a fabulous nostalgia trip and has been played a lot. She hasn't got the world's most wonderful voice but she has that je ne sais quoi that makes her so enjoyable to listen to. I really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A double CD at a bargain price. Having listened to it I realise I prefer her much later music where the years of hard living have taken their toll. Her voice on the tracks on "A Perfect Stranger", the double CD Island Anthology, is so intense and holds so much more feeling and passion. You need both styles to hear the passage of time, drugs and booze. Amazing life. Amazing artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is just a great album and amazing that MF fitted so much into her "first career"; and that she has done so many different things since. Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 6 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is a summative colection of Ms Faithfull's early work. A great addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No rhyme or reason, 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
You do get a lot of good to great music for relatively little money - if that's all you're interested in, this is a great compilation. But the selection and sequencing make no sense at all - the songs are not presented chronologically and the folky stuff is indiscriminately mixed in with the pop (baroque and mainstream), and I wonder how many people share the compiler's preference for her pointless version of "Downtown" over "In my Time of Sorrow", "Last Thing on my Mind", "She Moved through the Fair", "As Tears Go By" and "Sister Morphine" (yes, I know that the last two have their detractors). According to the liner notes, "[...] Faithfull only worked with Oldham for two records; on the stellar heights of "As Tears Go By" and its disappointing follow-up "Blowin' in the Wind" [...]" - guess which of the two is included. This compilation is so far from definitive that it must be considered a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marianne Faithfull - the Collection, 2 May 2011
By 
Pamela Wisher (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
What a brilliant compilation - I had forgotten the uniqueness of her voice. I am looking for CD's that capture my musical past with the breadth of the musicians ability and range of music on one CD if possible. This one does exactly that. I listened to several of Marianne's CD's on iTunes first before making my decision. iTunes and Amazon = getting what you want at the right price. Will continue to use this process for filling the gaps in my music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Marianne Faithfull (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews