Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has anyone actually listened to this??
Clearly many of the single star reviews appearing for this album on this site were written without actually listening to the album, with dates such as Jan 22nd when it was not released until 31st. In fact it would appear that one of them says that apparently 'you know what to expect' because of Dom's sexuality - to be fair I don't even know why the reviewer was allowed to...
Published on 1 Feb. 2005 by jollyroger853

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Transcending the rules to create something extraordinary...
Ah yes - The Libertines... Undeniably great pop songs, delivered with an attitude & refreshingly raw energy not heard in these shores for some time. In a year that The Strokes set a new benchmark for everyone else to follow with their class debut here was a UK band that had the songs and the delivery to match them.

It's inevitable, of course, that when a great...
Published on 21 Aug. 2005 by Dazman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Transcending the rules to create something extraordinary..., 21 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
Ah yes - The Libertines... Undeniably great pop songs, delivered with an attitude & refreshingly raw energy not heard in these shores for some time. In a year that The Strokes set a new benchmark for everyone else to follow with their class debut here was a UK band that had the songs and the delivery to match them.

It's inevitable, of course, that when a great new band comes along the music press seizes on a clutch of other 'similar' bands and in doing so create a new 'scene'. Fair play. Long before The Others' LP was released I'd read about how these rum looking punters were the best of the contenders. By the time the album came out I'd only heard 'Lackey' - and although it didn't blow me away I was still interested enough to want to hear more from them. When the reviews for the album in the likes of NME & Vice magazine were SO full of praise I thought my ten quid would be a good investment. How wrong I was.

Everything I'd heard about this band told me I should like them... but I don't. The sorry truth is they just dont have the songs. There's maybe 3 on here that are worthy of your immediate attention (the singles, natch) and 9 not very good at all fillers. The impressive quotes on the cover sticker claiming they are by turns; "Britains most worshipped new band", "Transcending the rules to create something extraordinary" & "music that inspires you and can change your life" are, frankly, laughable. The Others are a pub band and not a very good one at that. P**s Poor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly average, 13 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
Having heard 'William' and really liking it - I decided to buy the album. The reviews from NME etc would imply it 'can change your life' 'Britains most worshipped band' but I found that it was fairly average. Not sure if it sounds like the Libertines but it reminded me of a poor mans Kings of Leon. Its not mince but certainly NOT life changing - bit over-hyped perhaps??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has anyone actually listened to this??, 1 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
Clearly many of the single star reviews appearing for this album on this site were written without actually listening to the album, with dates such as Jan 22nd when it was not released until 31st. In fact it would appear that one of them says that apparently 'you know what to expect' because of Dom's sexuality - to be fair I don't even know why the reviewer was allowed to get away with it.
If they had listened to the album, they would find a great collection of songs which are 100% honest. It really doesn't matter that Dom isn't a note-perfect singer, this is punk remember?? What he does have is a real, human voice with a real genuinity to it, and if anyone reading this is ever lucky enough to meet him they can see for themselves this genuinity in personality.
The album kicks off with Lackey, a traditional set opener which shows the band in full flow, both musically (energetic punk-funk) and lyrically (simple but effective anti-wage slave anthem). William is another of the album's highlights, a dedication to an old friendship with a trademark 'ba ba ba' chorus. The perhaps confusingly titled Stan Bowles, really about Peter Doherty, has some great basslines rarely seen in punk, a feature recurrent through the album thanks to the talent of Johnny Others. However the real gem on this album is How I Nearly Lost You, which along with Johan, demonstrates the softer, sweeter side of the Others which is less documented by the press; it is possibly one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard.
Of course This Is For The Poor features, the first single which has caused so much fuss amongst the letters pages of NME. Brilliant though it is, this song MUST be experienced live for full appreciation!! In fact, I demand whoever might read this to get out to an Others gig ASAP - they're normally cheap, and often free, and have a habit of turning up in the most unusual places!
Ignore the ignorant, give these lads a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves better, 24 Jan. 2005
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
I have read three reviews from this website and all of them have been slating the album. I have also read fantastic reviews from the likes of NME, Times, Guardian and a 10/10 rating from Vice Magazine.
There has been much controversy surrounding this band and the difference in reviews just illustrates my point. Personally I think that everyone should have a copy of this album...if not two so you can give one to a friend.
Dominic may not sing like Freddie Mercury but he is good at what he does and that is sing lyrics that MEAN something and deliver them in such a way that it connects with the listener. During community 853 there is a moment where he sings 'I haven't got the answers I haven't got the key...' and you really feel like he's saying it to you. The music makes your heart race as you recognise the song by the opening bar. You can't help humming, tapping your foot or singing along.
One of the most honest albums I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly over-rated, but still worth a listen, 30 Jan. 2005
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
I am an on/off reader of NME, as I believe it does tend to over-hype some bands, namely anyone who knows Pete Doherty, and a regular Q reader (a much less biased read). I went to see this band a few weeks ago when they played Newcastle uni, and they were a good draw live, energetic, personal with the crowd, and very intimate. They had some good songs, and no doubt many that would grow on you with time, and yet one fact calls an end to my praises. The support band were a group called the Ludes, who will probably never get the praise and acclaim that the Others have recieved, and yet were in my opinion a much tighter and more talented band. My point? The others are good, not great, but in my mind have recieved more praise than they merit, buy this album if you are a fan of the scene, but it is not one I would recommend to everyone. BEST TRACK: Stan Bowles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 1 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
I went to see them last night doing a set at virgin Megastores and boy were they brilliant. Truly one of the albums of the year and if This Is For The Poor does not move you in some way then you have a heart of stone.
The Others are going to be big and this debut album is up there with the best of them/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the B**llocks..listen to the pistols instead...., 4 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
The others are a band to ignore. This debut album can only be described as dreadfull. The others sound like a poor cross between The Strokes,The Clash and the Sex Pistols and it doesnt work. The problem with this album is that the lead singer Dominic Masters is tone deaf and attempts to sing about things that may have a deep and meaningfull context for himself, but encourage nonchalance and "who cares" in the listener, because they are non issues. The others version of controversy is completely uncontroversial. This album is packaged as punk, but punk had edge and spirit and sang with passion about important issues. The Others track "Stan Bowles" is about a 1970's footballer who played for QRP! Next he's singing about how he misses his friends, first William then Johann get a track each. Riviting stuff not! Isnt it amazing how stupid record companies think the public are sometimes. Take a rubbish band and hype them up to the last as the new saviours of punk/protest rock and assume Joe and Jane Doe will buy it because its envogue. Maybe they will, but I guarantee they will regret it immediately. Nobody likes to feel duped. Awful Awful Awful stuff.BTW for the guy who thinks everyone has to wait for the release date to listen to a new album and form an opinion...ever hear of pre-release date media demo's??? Think before you type...
Again I re-iterate..this is rubbish DO NOT BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars for the kids., 5 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
try telling your little sister mcfly are rubbish. you'll get the same reaction from d'others fans. simply put, if you are under 18 you'll probably believe the hype and enjoy this record and you'll dismiss any negative opinions as being total lies. but most people can see this for what is it, a bad album. i won't moan about the lyrics or his voice, you know how bad they are. there is just no attempt to construct a song. no chorus, no melody, no creativity. it seems like the rest of the band just plod along with the singer. it all sounds like a bad version of BLUR's POPSCENE. where as THE LIBERTINES debut was filled with great melody, emotion and energy this just doesn't even come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agressive Pieces of Indie Rock, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
Indie rock was certainly an exciting sub-genre, by the time The Others' self-titled debut came out back in 2004. And whilst some groups from around the era are still with us (Artic Monkeys, Kings of Leon, et al), The Others have gone into obscurity, only remembered fondly by the music fans that remember them. So their one and only album has become a sort of relic for fans of indie rock from the early 2000s. The album certainly deserves a look for that brash kind of punk music that was becoming the anthems for students and teenagers from that decade.
Featuring all of their singles (Lackey, William, and Stan Bowles) along with some stellar standout tracks, like the somewhat anthemic This is for The Poor, The Others provided some aggressive pieces of indie rock, with snarling vocals, rhythmic bass and drums, and down-to-earth, yet punkish, guitar playing.
This may not be the best indie album from that era; but The Others album remains an enjoyable listen to those that are into this kind of quasi-punk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance, 29 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Others (Audio CD)
As with all music this isn't gona be to everyone's taste but like another reviewer said you just need to look at the reviews in NME or The Times for example, reviews written by people who aren't confined to their own narrow-minded tastes, to understand that this album means something - it's an album which gives vent to the way thousands of my generation feel in the same way The Libertines or The Holy Bible-era Manics have done. The anger and the frustration in Masters' lyrics and voice are fudamental to the record and were it to be sung in perfect key with a beatiful pitch it would lose half it's power - it's rough around the edges, but this is what appeals, and I don't think potential buyers should pay much attention to those reviewers below who gave 'The Others' one star - one clearly thinks Mike Skinner is a bad lyricist, which is bollocks, one describes the cd as 'poopoo' and the other uses the phrase 'the kids of today' so I wouldn't expect him/her to understand the imminence of this record anyway. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Others
The Others by The Others (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews