Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue is the Colour
If landscape photography is your `thing' and you only ever buy one filter, get a polariser. Don't be confused with the product headline; the `square filter' part refers to the holder this fits into. This is the P164, the letter denotes the size of the filter holder, though there is a cheaper 160, which is linear and best avoided, as it will confuse your camera's metering...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Quiverbow

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cokin P164 Circular Polarizer Review
Polarizer used with Cokin P series wide angle holder on Tokina 11-16mm. Produces heavy vignetting at 11mm, up to 14mm. No vignetting at 15mm and 16mm. Shame really.
Polarizing effect is what was expected, works very well, from what I am used to, which is only a jessops brand circ polarizer, certainly no B+W or Lee fiter. Saturates the skies very well, brings out the...
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by bigfrenchcheese


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue is the Colour, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
If landscape photography is your `thing' and you only ever buy one filter, get a polariser. Don't be confused with the product headline; the `square filter' part refers to the holder this fits into. This is the P164, the letter denotes the size of the filter holder, though there is a cheaper 160, which is linear and best avoided, as it will confuse your camera's metering. The circular filter certainly brings out the blue in the sky and reduces surface glare to emphasise reflections - eliminating them in instances. Yes, it does what it's supposed to do and my only complaint, if that's what it can be called, is that the ring itself is `notched' all the way round causing abrasions on your fingers when it's turned. There must be a reason for this design, but I can't think of one. (Better grip, perhaps?) It comes with a plastic holder.

I can't compare the Cokin 164 with any other polariser, as I've not used them. If you have a selection of lenses, it starts to become costly having to buy separate filters, which is where the Cokin system comes in handy. It may look expensive at first, but you only need one. Remember, there is a two-stop filter factor so it will affect shutter speeds and apertures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for photographers, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
This filter is a must have for any photographers. Circular polariser filter helps to bring more saturation to the picture and also reduces unwanted reflections. Cokin P series filter is better than the screw-in filter as you can use the same filter with lenses that have different diameters.

This filter is for Cokin P-series. So for the newbies, you need to have an filter adapter for your lens, and a filter hood to hold this filter in-front of your lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For wide angle lenses you would be better off with a screw on filter dedicated to that ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
The polarizing filter work very well the only criticism is on wide angle lenses due to the holder the edges of the filter come into view in the corner of the pictures. For wide angle lenses you would be better off with a screw on filter dedicated to that lense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cokin P164 Circular Polarizer Review, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
Polarizer used with Cokin P series wide angle holder on Tokina 11-16mm. Produces heavy vignetting at 11mm, up to 14mm. No vignetting at 15mm and 16mm. Shame really.
Polarizing effect is what was expected, works very well, from what I am used to, which is only a jessops brand circ polarizer, certainly no B+W or Lee fiter. Saturates the skies very well, brings out the white clouds. Eliminates some reflections, and cuts other polarized light such as that from pc lcd screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Initial Problems with cokin P164 Circular Polarizer filter, 3 Feb 2014
By 
G. Shaw "Apple User" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
Recently I have gone over to use the Cokin P system as I now am building up a collections of lenses, all with different diameters. Works perfectly with the square glass, so I decided to buy this Circular Polarizer . It arrived next day and I eagerly wanted to try it.

How does it fit ? It wasn't intuitively obvious to me, it just seemed to want to drop out ! I phoned Amazon who advised me to phone Cokin. ( Who don't work weekends or lunch times !) Eventually I have made contact ( they didn't answer the messages I left on their system ). The instructions worked, the filter is fitted, the knurled edge is wearing my fingers away, but it all seems OK.

Oh no another problem, how do I remove the filter from the holder ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Filter, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
Great filter, a must for any photographer. Great for sky and sea in sunny conditions. Took this to Turkey and used it a lot with great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tricky to fit but worth it, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
Love this. Hard to get in at first, and instructions rather sparse but great quality build. Would recommend it for landscape and sea shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
I've used cokin filters for years Excelent quality a good system to build on . They have a filter for every occasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but awkward, 4 Nov 2012
By 
S. Allum (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
I have used this in the Alps last week in the first snow and ice of the season. Whilst I got some very good results, it was awkward to turn when the other filters were in place, so I can't give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cokin 164 CIRCULAR POLARIZER P-Series Filter (Electronics)
Hi quality filter at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews