Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the new one...
This is astounding music. Energetic but calming, spikey but ethereal.

At it's essence it is pop music, but it has an intelligence to it that cannot be overlooked. And surprisingly for a British guitar band, it isn't a rye, 'knowing' type of intelligence. Yes, Kele Okereke and his band take themselves very seriously, and yes they do look like archetypal...
Published on 15 Mar 2007 by EternalBroadcaster

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 Sides Of The Bloc
Without trying to sound pretentious or "cool", i knew about Bloc Party from early on. Hearing them on Zane Lowe's show on Radio 1 about a year ago, i rose from my seat, and instantly loved the angry yet cool "banquet". I have watched the career with great interest ever since, hanging on to every single release, and with "Little Thoughts" and "Hellacopter" fuelling my...
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by jhstyles


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU LIKE INTERPOL, 27 May 2005
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
Then this album MIGHT appeal. I say this as I know amazon recommends this if you do like Interpol.
HOWEVER, this is not a patch on Interpol, who, in my opinion, are head, shoulders and naval better than Bloc Party.
Musically, the drum and guitar workouts are very good. I would prefer the bass to have a bit more of an influence, but it's pretty good in certain tracks.
The vocalist is where this will be "a bit Marmite". You'll either like the slightly whiny, early-Paul-Weller-in-The-Jam vocals, or they might grate on you.
Credit where credit is due, the bloke's voice is very different/distinctive, which in this day and age is a godsend; but in my opinion, this is one of the areas Interpol are vastly superior. This is the band's weak link.
All said, this is a great album, don't get me wrong. It's grown and grown on me and continues to grow. Musically its excellent. Hence the four stars.
You'll probably have guessed that I'm a BIG Interpol fan; and recommend them every time.
But, if you like Interpol AND you like The Jam (like I do); then you'll like this album VERY much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Bloc Party don,t get my vote, 30 April 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
Lots of frantic scratchy guitars, a singer who sounds like he's singing in the midst of a bout of hiccups, and an overall ambience of repressed isolation, yes folks the post punk revival continues unabated. On the evidence of much of what I've heard -The excellent Interpol and some of the Franz Ferdinand's and Bravery albums -that s not altogether a bad thing .But unless some of these bands, and of all the ones I've heard The Bloc Party are the most apposite, start producing more consistent stronger material then this will be one revival that will fizzle out quicker than a budget firework. Four very good songs apart this is a pretty mediocre album.
It starts promisingly with the twitchy rhythmic "Like Eating Glass" which segues to the thrillingly tense and vital "Helicopter". "Positive Tension" is ushered in by crackles of static then grumbling bass with a slightly staccato verse and reminds me of about fifteen different bands at once. "Luno" glistens like prime Chameleons with a chorus breakdown that borrows heavily from The Gang Of Four but fails to pay back the interest. The most diverse track is "Compliments" which starts with swathes of ambient noise and suffused atmospherics before chimes of guitar creep through along with heavier muted vocals. Interestingly it contemporises the comparisons in a relative sense, with hints of Yo La Tengo, Kitchens of Distinction and even Flying Saucer Attack. Maybe there is a future for them after all beyond this synthesis of old genres.
Apart from the above songs, this album seems to pass in a blur of clanging higher range chords and nervy vocals none of which mange to land a hook in the subconscious. So while I've often found myself humming or singing under my breath songs from The Bravery or Interpol albums I'm not likely to do that with anything of Silent Alarm which maybe they will be thankful for (God knows, the people around me would) but all of this means I'm very unlikely to return to Silent Alarm, and many fellow reviewers seem to feel the same way. And that should get those silent alarms ringing for The Bloc Party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly unimpressive., 15 Feb 2005
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
Before this album came out, the hype that surrounded it was incredible. All over radio and television there were adverts and praisal for this band, however do not believe all you see and hear. There are songs on this album that are unecessarily complicated, and to much is made of them. I would liken them a little to Incubus, however Incubus are more upbeat, and make this technique of complicated songs work very well. Bloc Party fail. The type of music is airy, and empty I feel. This is surprisingly and amazingly unimpressive considering the hype. A real disappointment was felt when I listened to it. It just goes to show that even everyone in the world can be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well, NME, u did it again............u prats, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
Once again another weak cheap band has been respawned from the depths of no where and been hyped up by The Libertines Magazine, by that i mean NME.
It seems bands dont seem to really try very hard anymore and the result are The Libertines, The Others, Kaiser Chiefs and many like them. Bloc Party is on the exact same path Hyped up by a tabloid magazine that lyes about everything and makes rubbish sound as if its going to be good.
I hate to sound cruel and put this band down as they probably have worked hard to get this album out, but there not going to go anywhere. For one he cant sing, just like nearly every Album NME seems to like and their hardly musicaly talented. If Music keeps up like this then its going to hit a very dark, repetitve age where all music is like this and the word "origianlity" will no longer exsist and few bands will ever triumph into something alot bigger.
I wish people would try harder. The songs are hard to listen to and are barely foot tapping or enjoyable. I hate to see people say this is "OUTSTANDING" what exactly is "OUTSTANDING" about this album, apart from how unbelievably poor it is.
I know all bands have to start somehwere and i take that deep into concern, but come on we've all seen these bands before and they dont go anywhere. It wont be long until there taking drugs, and splitting up forming new bands and NME wont shut up about them until they die, then again NME would probably still somehow find a way to whinge on and on.
Avoid this album at all cost, and dont read NME, its bad for the brain.......really bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wowzus, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
good album, no great album, no good album, no great album, you will change ur mind no you wont argh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stuart, Manchester, 15 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. S. N. Drew "stuartndrew" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Alarm (Audio CD)
AWFUL! So bad I had to send it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Alarm
Silent Alarm by Bloc Party (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews