Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caroline Quentin at her best
This is a wonderful look at how life can suddenly turn upside down when you least expect it, and how we learn to get on with things. As Maggie's safe but dull life is rocked by her husbands announcement that he is leaving her for another woman, she is left to pick up the pieces. Slowly, as she comes to terms with having to return to work to pay the bills, despite being...
Published on 21 July 2005 by S. Thatcher

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars life begins and plods on...
The message is better than the delivery which I found dull and boring. Hope Quentin gets some more sparkling scripts in the near future. She deserves a better vehicle for her talents.
Published on 18 Sep 2009 by G. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caroline Quentin at her best, 21 July 2005
By 
S. Thatcher (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful look at how life can suddenly turn upside down when you least expect it, and how we learn to get on with things. As Maggie's safe but dull life is rocked by her husbands announcement that he is leaving her for another woman, she is left to pick up the pieces. Slowly, as she comes to terms with having to return to work to pay the bills, despite being trained for nothing, she starts to see that her husband walking out isn't the end of her life, or the world, in fact, things are just getting interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved Maggie´s honest way of dealing with her feelings, her total lack of inhibitions and ability to share her problems with others. I couldn´t stop watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 25 Oct 2006
By 
S. Suthers (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't realise there was a previous series when I started watching life begins a month or so ago. I really enjoyed Series 2 so was delighted to find there was in fact a Series 1. Although not as much comedy in the first series I still found the storyline to be really funny and interesting. I really felt for Maggie when her husband left her for a younger model - his behaviour was outrageous - the way he was carrying on as if they were no longer even married made me want to punch him at times (he did originally just leave her to think things over as he wasn't happy) - and to top it all, when he realised she was happy and on the verge of starting a new relationship and his had failed, he had the nerve to say he had made a mistake!! Still Alexander Armstrong is very sexy in a funny sort of way and I'd forgive him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin at her best, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Quentin is amazing in this. Amazing script, plots are truthful and sensitive. The support cast also deserves praise. I would recommend to anyone who has a had a life which isn't perfect, and those individuals who have need to see how the real world truly is. A must buy product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Daughter, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Da Parsons "Jedknows" (West Country Boy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my daughter and she says its a nice series with Caroline playing a nice part as dependable as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 19 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this series when it was on tv and liked it alot, so when i saw it on dvd didnt hesitate to buy it. Found the storyline very believeable and realistic, it follows Maggie (the main character) through her husband leaving her and her 2 children and how she cope with what life throws at her. Will definately be buying series 2&3 when released on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, 4 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking for something good to watch over the holidays that didnt cost a fortune and I found the Life Begins dvd set series 1-3 for about a tenner. I absolutely loved it, I watched all the episodes one after another and couldnt put them down, not much housework got done at all for a few days! Caroline Quentin at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great show, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I had forgotten how good a series this was. All the performances are great, I thought both Caroline Quentin and Alexander Armstrong were fab but I especially liked Anne Reid and Frank Finlay. I would definitely recommend this as a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality family drama/comedy, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
was sad to come to the end of this... but then there was series 2, i will look out for more.
Caroline Quentin is always a delight, Alexander Armstrong a perfect foil to Caroline's character.
I would recommend it to anyone looking for something to cheer them up but also it is surprisingly
thought provoking and you may find similarities in your own family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memory time....., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Could not remember watching this first time around,but certainly enjoyed it this time and it did jog my memory afterwards. So good I have ordered the Series 2 & 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Life Begins: Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Charles Palmer (DVD - 2005)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews