Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (296)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


740 of 751 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London's Only "Consulting Detective."
In his foreword to Bantam's "Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories," Loren Estleman called the relationship between Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson literature's warmest, most symbiotic and most timeless: rightfully so. Not surprisingly, film history is littered with adaptations of Conan Doyle's tales and Holmes pastiches (using the protagonists...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by Themis-Athena

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five star product spoiled by piracy warning
I was given this box set as a gift. The episodes themselves are wonderfully crafted with period detail down to a nicety. I have nothing but the highest praise for the acting, production and adherence to the consistent quality of the original stories.

However, one aspect of this box set - or at least the one I was given - is an abomination, and that is the...
Published 19 months ago by A man


‹ Previous | 129 30 3134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever!, 5 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this recently and within one week finished
watching all episodes. I must say that this is the
best Sherlock Holmes series made ever in the history.
Jeremy Brett gave life to the great detective and
all episodes are adapted well from the original story.
One of the good things that I noted here is that the
actors are not repeating. This gave me a very refreshing
feeling. The DVD box is just excellent. The only thing
I didn't much like is the packing. The DVDs are tightly
packed. You have two DVD cover each containing 8 disks.
But it is not a serious issue after all. I have no
hesitation in giving a five star rating and recommending
this great product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes-The complete Collection [DVD] [1984], 30 Mar 2011
Superb. Received box set in a blink of an eye. The box was second hand but in great condition the discs were without any marks or scratches. Only issue was that it does not support wide screen but who cares, 4:3 is just as good. Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EVER SHERLOCK HOLMES., 5 Dec 2010
What can anyone say about this superb series that has not been said already...well i will try.Jeremy Brett is quite simply the finest Holmes on FILM,apart from Rathbone and Cushing,with Granada,s tv production value and the writers behind the stories this is as close as anything has come to being the most faithfull retelling of the orignal Conan Doyles stories.Dame Jean Doyle is quoated as saying that Jeremy,s Holmes was the Holmes of her dreams.David Burke and Edward Hardwicke are also two superb Watson,s,this boxset is amazing value and does justice to this CLASSIC TV SERIES.I was very lucky to have met Jeremy on three ocassions and got to know him quite well,the reason i mention this is NOT to name drop but to let fans out there know he was a true gentleman with a fantastic sence of humour and the most fantastic laugh he had all the time in the world for his fans ,i do and still feel SO lucky to have met him.So to wrap this up..for Christmas..see what i did there...what are you waiting for this is your chance to own the GREATEST HOLMES series ever to be put on film it,s so elementary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb series!, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Jeremy Brett's Holmes is the definitive Holmes - with little to no ommissions from the original stories. Played with aplomb by the cast and with all the trimmings of the BBC's excellent production values.

You have to have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bargain Buy, 27 Dec 2009
By 
N. Blackie (Washington, Tyne & Wear. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this as a present for my dad as he loves Sherlock Holmes especially Jeremy Brett version.

He is over the moon that he has every episode & that he can now watch at his leisure, so well worth buying, but more so at the BARGAIN PRICE as supplied by Amazon.

If your a fan of Sherlock Holmes this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHERLOCK HOLMES THE TV SERIES, 26 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
First of all lets get the downer out the way this is not the complete stories, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle who wrote 60 Stories 4 of them long ones. What you got here and yes it's true to say this is the complete tv series total of 41 stories with only 2 of the long stories, its a shame not all the stories were made neverless what you have here is great viewing. Jeremy Brett puts in a great performance as scherlock Holmes in this well made series, and I give it 5 Stars this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality in a boxset - a rarity, 23 Oct 2007
By 
R. M. Friend - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Having viewed the first 4 episodes in this box set, I was surprised at the quality of the recordings. Normally, it seems that with box sets, quality is thrown away for quantity. Not so this time. 'Bravo Watson'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Good Attempt -- The Results Range From Mediocre to Dreadful, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an almost complete rendition of Conan Doyle's legendary and archetypal "consulting detective". The episodes run the full gamut of collections in chronological order, from the "Adventures", to the "Memoirs" and also include the Hound of The Baskervilles.

Most of the stories are there; some that are omitted such as the "Veiled Lodger", can be found incorporated into another -- in this particular case, within "The Illustrious Client".

It starts out as a low budget production -- or what looks like low budget -- to develop improved production qualities when we reach "The Casebook" stories.

Many of the first episodes are close to the original with few additions here and there. The scriptwriters become bolder later in the series adding a subplot, as in the "Illustrious Client", but generally reproduce bits of the original dialogue which is, I believe, an integral part of the original masterpiece.

Some of the additions to the original story actually act out the background to the case in question and are a welcome addition to the whole, as in "The Dying Detective", where we actually see the story that leads up to where Conan Doyle begins his narrative. Others, are not so unfortunately -- most of which do not seem to add much to the final result.
In "Shoscombe Old Place" some of the characters are changed for no aparent reason and to no positive effect; scenes of random violence and non-sequitur beatings add to a generally irksome episode.
In the case of "The Sussex Vampire" the episode is riddled with attempts at sinister symbols and allusions to the ocult ad nauseam and to no effect to the story itself; indeed, one wishes for the episode to end before one ends it by pressing the stop button. This is a strange episode indeed: Conan Doyle's original was by far more intriguing and interesting and could have been fleshed out -- as such was the intention -- without resorting to trying emulate nightmares and half-baked pseudo-vampires.

It is the "Illustrious Client" that takes the cake: the episode is dreadful, no less. The original storyline is changed and made to include elements from the "Veiled Lodger". While the story construction is lame, to say the least (if we wish to change Doyle's original, cannot we employ a scriptwriter up to the task -- there are many outstanding writers out there, for sure...), what is irksome is the incessant addition of women shouting, scramming at one another, and randomly screeching -- for good measure... all of which detracts from the story and adds to our displeasure.

Not to mention dialogue that is out of historical context ("thank you Mr SH", "My privilege"), which we could have lived with had the rest been a bit better.

And onto the main characters:
Dr Watson is one of the best, complete and plausible ones of all, including the present day series. The same cannot be said about J Brett's Sherlock Holmes, with all due respect to the many and, undoubtedly worthy, reviewers here. He comes across as a spoilt and often thwarted adolescent, gesticulating wildly and shouting his way about when he is not whispering inaudibly. His antics reach unprecedented heights in, for example, the "Illustrious Client" when he tried to stop a carriage by planting himself in the middle of the road, waving his arms theatrically in a way that one expects him to break into a dance -- in full drag dress!!!

Brett does not impersonate the original Sherlock Holmes in any way -- other than in his excellent ability to render the dialogue (or shout it, rather) in a clear manner. SH is self-contained, Brett is bombastic, loud and short of vulgar; SH is very polite and kind and charming to women, Brett is often impolite, uncouth and gauche; SH is direct with people and not out of place in communicating with others: Brett's Holmes seems afraid to speak to grown-up, suffering a complex of sorts, perhaps?

It is not my contention that a series "based" on Conan Doyle's original" must stick to the original and therefore, a slightly modified SH on screen is not to be rejected a priori. However, this series producer has given us a SH who is, to put it simply, annoying.

Observing Brett's antics on screen, the first thing that comes to mind is: "Get on with it, for goodness sake!"

So, two stars for Watson, one star for J Brett trying to save the day and doing his best, and minus 5 stars for the producer who made a mess of what could have been an excellent series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thrilled with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall excellent - but some adaptations are awful!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Dalheim (Beverley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many of the episodes are excellent: I have been reading the originals on my Kindle whilst watching the dvd's and feel that in lots of cases the adaptation has been first rate, with dialogue, for example, taken verbatim from the stories. Likewise there is an acceptable amount of the inevitable changes to the original which are necessary for a GOOD adaptation. However, there are exceptions, mainly towards the end of the boxed set. "The Sussex Vampyre" is badly done - extraneous characters are introduced who detract from, rather than add to the story. It totally fails to achieve the atmosphere of the original tale. Likewise "The Eligible Bachelor" is so incomprehensible for those who appreciate the original story that it would have been better entitled "The Illegible Bachelor" - one to switch off after about 10 minutes. Worst of all in my opinion is "The Mazarin Stone" which combines two different and unconnected stories, both of which in written form are worth reading. With 20% of "The Mazarin stone", 20% of "The three Garridebs" and 60% of total nonsense the result is dreadful: an 8-year-old could come up with something ten times as good. It is virtually unwatchable and almost spoiled my enjoyment of an otherwise mostly excellent set. Towards the end of the series also the producer develops an obsession with shots seen through an apparent window or reflected in an apparent mirror. These effects (like the repeated anti-piracy warnings which other reviewers have mentioned) are intrusive, unnecessary and spoil the pleasure of watching. By all means buy the set but (particularly if you know the written originals well) be prepared to cut short several episodes prematurely to avoid disappointment and irritation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD]
£39.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews