Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (356)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


758 of 769 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London's Only "Consulting Detective."
In his foreword to Bantam's "Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories," Loren Estleman called the relationship between Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson literature's warmest, most symbiotic and most timeless: rightfully so. Not surprisingly, film history is littered with adaptations of Conan Doyle's tales and Holmes pastiches (using the protagonists...
Published on 15 Nov. 2005 by Themis-Athena

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five star product spoiled by piracy warning
I was given this box set as a gift. The episodes themselves are wonderfully crafted with period detail down to a nicety. I have nothing but the highest praise for the acting, production and adherence to the consistent quality of the original stories.

However, one aspect of this box set - or at least the one I was given - is an abomination, and that is the...
Published on 29 Jan. 2013 by A man


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 23 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These episodes, when they had appeared in the 'Door Darshan' (that's the official name of the Indian National Television Network) in 1985, had gripped me, then only 11 years old, and had compelled me to read the stories in Bengali for the first time (since my knowledge of English was a bit dodgy at that stage), followed by intensive readings of the origianls at a later stage. The success of this series was not just in their authentic portrayals of that lost-Victorian landscape or their (obviously) solid plots, but, and to a far greater extent, in shaping our way of visualising Sherlock Holmes. Then, and now, many of us can't imagine anybody other than the late-great Jeremy Brett as Holmes. It is doubly tragic that even while filming of this series was taking place, Brett was becoming terminally ill, losing his shape & dynamism to the horror of water-retention that was being caused by medicines that he had started taking only to keep those demons at bay which had been attacking him ever since he started becoming not just an actor trying to portray Sherlock Holmes, but Sherlock Holmes himself, with all his manic-depressive fits and sardonic charisma. The series is a classic, and should be subjected to repeat viewings, to enjoy the wonderful stories written by Sir Arthur, and to appreciate the genius of Jeremy Brett. And if possible, try to get hold of Bending the Willow: Jeremy Brett As Sherlock Holmes, because that is the finest tribute which can be paid to the greatest & wisest of Holmes' actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brett is the best Holmes! Great quality and even better performances!, 1 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say here? The quality of these dvds are excellent, but the material on them is even better. For those of you who loved Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes, this is a must have. It's only unfortunate that all other Holmes films may be ruined for you once you see Brett in action. He's the perfect Holmes-- his performance is truly unrivaled.

Besides Jeremy Brett's Holmes, both Watsons are also wonderful to watch. I got used to Edward Hardwicke's performance of Watson first. However, now I prefer David Burke's more serious take on the role. Either way, both of them play Watson with none of the pomposity or silliness that you may have seen in their predecessors.

If you are a fan of Arthur Conan Doyle's stories, rather than just the films, these cannot be beat. Although many prefer Basil Rathbone to Jeremy Brett, only 2 of the Rathbone stories are taken from the Doyle canon. The other films are WWII stories with the Greatest Detective breaking up Nazi spyrings and mobilizing the citizens of England during their greatest fight (well, greatest fight next to the current one going on against Muslim terrorists who are now a fifth column in the UK-- but that's another matter entirely-- maybe we need to see some new Holmes films breaking up terror cells. Oh, but I digress!) And, regardless of your feelings about the Rathbone films, he should be credited with raising Holmes' popularity during this era.

In contrast, all of the stories here are taken directly from the Doyle stories. As a matter of fact, when Strand magazine serialized the Holmes' stories, they were accompanied by wonderful illustrations. In every episode of this series, the actors briefly pose and re-enact each illustration! If you're a fan, this is a real treat to see. Actually, everything on these dvds is a real treat to see. The direction is perfect, the sets are luscious, and the costumes are beautiful.

Anyways, the four films included in this set are phenomenal. I am not crazy about the Hound of the Baskervilles story, and that one is my least favorite on the set, but it's still a great story. All of the hour-long episodes are lots of fun to watch. Every time I watch one of these episodes I immediately feel like I am getting a big treat and I immediately mourn the fact that there will never be any more. Brett's death was untimely and came all too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 19 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really worth buying. I remember watching the series when I was at school, so it was with great affection that I watched the episodes again after such a long time.

There are no extras, but the collection is comprehensive, with all the feature films as well as the shorter episodes contained. There is nothing missing - all 41 episodes are in this box set.

Excellent acting, fine sets, and superb costume design, all come together to create a totally believable Victorian world to immerse yourself in. You won't regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who have yet to buy it!, 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The huge array of film and television Holmes' have seen some very enjoyable incarnations. No doubt before this Granada series came along it was the excellent Basil Rathbone who ruled supreme. The problem was that, although Rathbone was a memorable Holmes matched by a bumbling masterpiece of a Watson by Nigel Bruce, the storylines had very little, if anything sometimes, to do with the Conan Doyle originals.
This is where the ITV version scores so highly. It is as close to the original stories as you could hope for. This authenticity extends to the sets and many outdoor scenes which evoke an age long since faded and add great depth to the sense of mystery and suspense.
Added to this is the authenticity that Jeremy Brett lends to his powerhouse of a performance. His Holmes avoids all the cliche and is instead the ruthless, irritable and impatient single minded man that Doyle wrote of. He feels deeply, is witty and charming and displays a great affection for his often harassed help Watson. Watson's character is a little less settled as it changes from David Burke to Edward Hardwicke in season three. Burke left to work with the RSC and suggested Hardwicke be his successor and indeed his replacement was more than up to the challenge of Watson and added a sense of calm and dignity that avoided the usual 'well meaning idiot' characterisation that followed the part so often. Both he and Brett are well matched in their opposite characters and once again, as a team, they lend a sense of authenticity to the original stories.
In the end this, personal opinions aside, is surely the most complete, original and enjoyable of all the movie & TV Holmes' adaptations. Well paced, superbly acted and beautifully recreated, these offer a huge collection of detective stories for both the fan and newcomer.
There is, as far as I can see, no discernible difference between this collection and the previous two set collection other than a change in case artwork and the huge price reduction. Sound and picture remain as before. A pity I suppose although the soundtrack would be nice in 5:1 it's not really a must have but another remastering of the picture would not have gone amiss,( it was remastered for a re-run),. Some extras would surely not have been too difficult either? Still the real point here is the price. If you haven't already got this collection then what are you waiting for? There was a reason for this having been at the top of the television listings for ten years. It is a superb show lead by the irreplaceable Jeremy Brett as Holmes being supported by a huge array of supporting actors including Charles Gray, Eric Porter and Jude Law amongst many others.
For the low price being asked this represents great value for money and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great TV series, 30 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It is a bittersweet drama this and no mistake . Sweet because it is superbly acted and filmed in some great locations so that the drama of Arthur Conan Doyles first rate works are effectively coveyed to the TV viewer . Bitter because of what poor Jeremy Brett went through to give us this stupendous example of detective fiction at its best . His performance as Holmes is very compelling - the viewer is kept on the edge of their seat . The wry humour is quite delicious and watching this you do realise where a lot of Agatha Christies ideas came from ( i.e. missing submarine plans etc ) ! Edaward Hardwicke is a very good Watson , Rosalind Williams does Mrs Hudson to perfection and Colin Jeavons plays Lestrade to the same high standard that he played Tim Stamper in House of Cards & To Play The King . The special guest stars are quite diverse everyone from John Thaw to Kenneth Connor seem to crop up . It shows you how good this series is that such high calibre performers wanted to be in on the act as it were ! All in all Amazon.co.uk are looking after their customers very generously by selling this magnificent collection at such a very fair price . If you love crime drama then this high standard series is for you . The idea of a brilliant sleuth and his lovable sidekick started here ! Wexford , Lynley , Poirot and Morse may not have happened without Arthur Conan Doyles basic idea . This is a lovely tribute to the late & much missed Jeremy Brett . Being remembered as the definitive Sherlock Holmes is no bad thing at all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So nearly perfect, 5 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main thing that pulls this package down from five star level in my view is the sound quality. It is often muddy and distorted and occasionally, e.g. when filming on location in The Problem of Thor Bridge, it is unacceptably poor. Also, less damagingly, the screenwriters' attempts to adapt Conan-Doyle's stories for television are occasionally clumsy and ill-conceived (an example is the fight scenes in The Three Gables). The first rule for any writer adapting these stories should be, **don't attempt to 'improve' on the original**.

Despite those two quibbles, the series are carried to a triumphant conclusion by Brett's amazing acting. Everything that has been written about Brett's brilliance in these series is right. My own favourite moment occurs when he has just been told by Lestrade at the end of The Six Napoleons that 'there's not a man at Scotland Yard who wouldn't be glad to shake you by the hand'. Brett says absolutely nothing, but the sequence of expressions of his face - in particular the eyes - is a master class in acting. He conveys a level of passionate feeling in a character whose iron self-control would never allow him to speak of his pleasure and gratitude at Lestrade's words. Brett was the consummate professional in this role, and his illness and early death, which presumably was the only thing preventing his completing the whole run of Holmes stories, was a great loss to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the greatest holmes ever, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen and heard many attempts at Holmes (some good and some truly awful), from the old B&W tv shows and films though to the current dreadful American/Canadian versions. The narrated version off the radio, as well as the "play for today" 'acted' versions. Out of all of these (though I have a soft spot in my heart for Basil Rathbone) Jeremy Brett stands head and shoulders above the rest.

It was a tragedy when Jeremy Brett died (at such a young age and so soon after his wife), it was a great loss to the world of acting. However, he as left us with such a great example of his ability with these films. It is sad to see his deterioration in health played out in front of us on film, but great to see a master at work.

The quality of the print could have done with a good digital recovery session before they are released, and the same with the soundtrack as there is a little bit of underlying hiss in places. However, this is one of the better quality set of discs that I have, and as a fan of Conan Doyle, in almost all his forms, the Jeremy Brett versions were a must for me, especially as I had almost worn out a set of DVDs (which I thought was supposed to be impossible).

Every episode and film is included so, for me, it was well worth the money.

It is a set that I get out on the weekend, or if I'm home during the week, so that I can get away from all those tv programmes about home decorating, cooking, gardening and antiques that seem to be on all the time. I particularly like watching these programmes in the evening, wrapped up in a blanket when it's stormy outside ... nice *sigh*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a treasure - such a loss, 15 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot add anything informative over the reviews already written, to assist anyone in deciding whether or not to buy this set. I simply wanted to say that these are without doubt the most entertaining, re-viewable and magical DVD's I have ever seen. Jeremy Brett defies superlatives; the man is become Holmes in how he acts and in cult memory. The DVD's do have their quirks - sound quality is generally good, but the picture quality is sometimes noticeably dull. This is my only observation that could be remotely described as criticism for this masterly and much cherished memorial to the late and great Jeremy Brett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The games' afoot!, 8 July 2010
By 
Helen Kelley (Pleasantville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First, I want to qualify that I am an Anglophile from the US, and a lover of Sherlock Holmes. I have seen Holmes played by: Peter Cushing; Ronald Howard; Christopher Lee; Roger Moore; Reginald Owen; Christopher Plummer, Basil Rathbone and The Young Sherlocke with Nicolas Rowe. However, Jeremy Brett is the ultimate Holmes. Brett almost becomes Holmes in this production, taking on the many eccentricities of the character. I received the complete set, and spent an entire two days of quality time enjoying each episode. My eyes were tired, but I was inspired!

The Granada production is outstanding. Each episode transports me back from 2010 to 1881 to 221B Baker Street, where I find Holmes starved for a case that will challenge his very cerebral mental abilities. There is Mrs. Hudson, the long suffering landlady, who was very fond of him (inspite of his untidiness) bringing him breakfast or serving him a cup of tea; We see his coat flying in the air as he and Dr. Watson (his chronicler and friend) bound downstairs out into a world of intrigue and possibilities. I hear the sound of the hackney carriage across the cobblestones; and the gaslit streets where murder and mayhem are taking place. We discover his elder brother Mycroft, who works for the government. He, too, is also a fascinating character, with a computer-like brain, but laziness of limb. He appears in both the The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter and The Bruce Partington Plans. Then we find Irene Adler--called The Woman in A Scandal In Bohemia --the one woman who he felt most keenly about! There was a point when Arthur Conan Doyle tired of this character, however, his audience was so insistent that he was pressed to continue writing stories about this dynamic and enigmatic character!

Here we are over 100+ yrs later still being intrigued with Sherlock Holmes. The Sherlockian societies in the USA are about 175+ in number. Do not hesitate to purchase this set for your DVD Library. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Accurate, Enjoyable Holmes Dramatization To Date, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To begin, I would say this is the singular (to use a Holmes-like phrase) performance of Sherlock Holmes. The wit, dismissive nature, impatience and superiority of the literary Holmes are all exceedingly displayed in Jeremy Brett's portrayal of Sherlock Holmes. We have all heard phrases such as "a writer's writer" or "an athlete's athlete". Well, this is the "Holmes lover's Holmes". Further, both actors that portray Dr. John Watson strive to present an aspect of his character that is often either insufficiently or too exorbitantly displayed -- his own capabilities. As both a medical doctor (intelligence) and a veteran of the British Army in India (physicality and readiness), Dr. Watson is the perfect companion to London's premiere consulting detective as he is bright enough to at least keep up with Holmes and up to the task of what Holmes might request of him. Logically, because there are only two primary characters in these stories, a deficiency in either of their representations is damaging to the power of the stories and both together (which of sadly too often the case) crippling. Thankfully, though, the strong presentation of both characters bolsters the stories.
With that said, even if you have not read the numerous Holmes short-stories or novels, these DVDs are still immensely entertaining. They are funny, creative and suspenseful. I couldn't recommend them higher. And if you do appreciate the breadth and subtlety of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Holmes writings your search is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection [DVD]
£39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews