Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great series of a great comedy
'Red Dwarf 6' signalled something of an end of an era, as the show never matched its long-running brilliance in the disappointing seventh and eighth series. So this is well worth buying for the simple pleasure of enjoying great comedy at its strongest.

The episodes are superb and still hilarious all these years on. Western spoof (and award winner) 'Gunmen of...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by Mr. D. Woods

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, but too much trading on past glories
Returning for its sixth season in 1993, Red Dwarf underwent the largest shake-up to its basic premise since its beginning. Writers Rob Grant and Doug Naylor decided that the crew had things a little too easy living on a five-mile-long spaceship with absolutely tons of supplies, so devised a storyline in which Red Dwarf - and thus Holly - disappears whilst the crew are on...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by A. Whitehead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Who doesn't like Red Dwarf, well worth watching over and over again -- one of those series that will be repeated over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RD at its best, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
RD had a period where they were coming out with great series after great series. This is one of those exceptional series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last good series before it all went to smeg..., 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I don't know exactly what happened between series 6 and 7, but I'd recommend all the series up to this point, and none of them after. Series 3 was always my favourite, 'Marooned' is a classic episode that brings to mind the very greatest sitcom writing - 2 men, one room, talking. Like 'Waiting For Godot' but with more jokes about curry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf Series 6, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Ah, Red Dwarf. School days were much easier on the brain, coming home to know that Red Dwarf and Doctor Who were still on TV.

Series 6 is a must.

Listie
Rimsie
Cat
Krytie.

They're all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Me Derek and Titan, 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Red Dwarf and this one is fantastic. A sure buy for any fan, and once you do, stop there. Coz 7 & 8 were gash.

This one, along with 1 to 5,... brilliant. Classic moments like the Cat threatening Legion, (come anywhere near me buddy an youll be wearin them bowels as a bobble hat) and Brett Riverboat (knife maan) standing up for drunken Kryten. For a price as low as this it would be near impossible to find anything better. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smeggin' outta this world!, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As a big Red Dwarf fan I can only praise them for this top quality comedy thats got me through many a rainy day and cheered me up on those 'down days'.

If you're a fan of dry-wit British comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously check this out, you won't be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great comedy and a great series, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is one of the best series, if not the best of a brilliant comedy. There's so many laugh, and great episodes in this, you got to get it. If your going to only get one series this would probably the best one to have, but don't leave it at that get some of the earlier episodes as well. The extras a very good as well. This laugh a minute comedy, is a must for any one who likes a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for true fans, this was the last series, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
in the previous series its been 4 guys stuck together on a huge spaceship known as reddwarf driving each other crazy, now in series 6 its the same guys trapped together,but in a tiny little star ship named starbug, yes there no holly, but thats the only down side to this excellent sixth series,
its hard for me to choose a stand out episode cause i really love all the epiosde on this series, but at a push id have to say gunmen of the apocalypse, its funny, its clever, its down right weird, what more could a true dwarfer want,
4/5/6 kept getting better and better, until the shows slow painful death in series 7 and 8,manily due to rob grant (main writer and co creater) of the show leaving
i would of loved to of had this as the final series, with the to be continued being the last words, leaving people on the edge for a comeback for years
sadly no, and now with talks of a new special episode, i just hope rob grant is involved or ol dwarfer fans are in for more painful viewing
all in all series 6 : 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawrfers rejoice, 3 Mar 2005
By 
Adam Lea "spartan1987" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After what I felt was a farily mediocre series 5 this is a pleasant suprise. I'll be honest I was almost horrified at the shambles of series 5, with a few exceptions. I can assure you that series 6 is incredible, you won't be able to stop yourself laughing through some scenes and the stories are very well thought out and interesting. I should probably point out here that Red Dwarf, the actual ship, doesn't make a single appearance throughout the series, that is the same for Holly. We only see The Cat, Lister, Rimmer and Kryten. Now some of you may suddenly be thinking about smashing your screen about now because of these facts, well DON'T. The plots and laughs are plenty to take your mind away from the fact that these two aspects are missing. Of course if you are a Holly fan then you will be disappointed for sure. If you're not then you will hardly miss him/her at all (I don't mean that Holly isn't a good character but I don't really feel that Holly does that much for the show). All of the episodes are genuinely funny, and of course there is the Emmy winning episode "Gunmen of the Apocalypse".
Believe me this is a great series well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf VI: So The Saga Continues, 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
So far, the Red Dwarf DVD collection has been radically improving. Although the I and II DVDs were disappointing, I was thoroughly impressed with its predacessors. Red Dwarf VI is no different: This set is bursting at the seams with juicy bonus content, Easter Eggs and subtle references to the programme in the vastly improved 3D menus. Features such as 'Return to Laredo' and 'Howard Goodall - Settling the Score' are fantastic and give an insight into the production of the show. I was interested to see how the menus would be affected by the leap from Red Dwarf to Starbug and was impressed to see the rock guitar music from the previous DVDs main menus to be scrapped for a more serious tune. This set cannot be faulted - Fantastic Features and top-notch comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005]
Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] by Andy DeEmmony (DVD - 2005)
£7.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews