Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great series of a great comedy
'Red Dwarf 6' signalled something of an end of an era, as the show never matched its long-running brilliance in the disappointing seventh and eighth series. So this is well worth buying for the simple pleasure of enjoying great comedy at its strongest.

The episodes are superb and still hilarious all these years on. Western spoof (and award winner) 'Gunmen of...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by Mr. D. Woods

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, but too much trading on past glories
Returning for its sixth season in 1993, Red Dwarf underwent the largest shake-up to its basic premise since its beginning. Writers Rob Grant and Doug Naylor decided that the crew had things a little too easy living on a five-mile-long spaceship with absolutely tons of supplies, so devised a storyline in which Red Dwarf - and thus Holly - disappears whilst the crew are on...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great series of a great comedy, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
'Red Dwarf 6' signalled something of an end of an era, as the show never matched its long-running brilliance in the disappointing seventh and eighth series. So this is well worth buying for the simple pleasure of enjoying great comedy at its strongest.

The episodes are superb and still hilarious all these years on. Western spoof (and award winner) 'Gunmen of the Apocalypse' is an obvious highlight, while 'Rimmerworld', 'Legion' and 'Psirens' have laugh out loud moments by the barrel-full. Scenes such as the hapless crew trying to eat a Mimosian Telekenetic banquet and Lister facing off in a guitar playing contest with the infinitely more talented Psiren just epitomise what a wonderful show this was and still is. Even on repeated viewings, I'm still laughing out loud and I haven't even got onto 'Emohawk: Polymorph 2' yet! Let's just say that Ace Rimmer and Duane Dibbley team up to fight a new Polymorph menace and you will get the idea of how terrific an episode this is!

I think the final episode, 'Out of Time', is the best of the Dwarf conclusions to a series and finishes on a surprisingly shocking and ambiguous climax. Considering fans were unsure of the show's future (series 7 came some years later) this was a bold move by writers Rob Grant and Doug Naylor and it feels very satisfying. Superb television, never mind great comedy.

While series 7 and 8 had some enjoyable moments, this really was the last time the show was at its zenith, so Dwarfers will want to add 6 to their collections and treasure the show at its undoubted best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!, 19 Nov 2005
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is by far the best series of Red Dwarf. The writing is fantastic and it is once again brilliantly acted by the cast. Once again without the masterful directing of Ed Bye, he is well replaced by Andy De Enomy. The series begins with Lister coming out of status and regaining his memory with each cast member coming in one by one. This is also the series with the award winning 'Gunmen of the Apocalypse' This one an emmy in America and the series won the comedy award in Britain. The Menus on this DVD are once again fantastic. The special features are also brilliant, with full length documentaries and the usual smeg ups, deleted scenes and a musical featurette. There are also hidden easter eggs which are hard to find, but worth searching for. Overall this is a fantastic DVD which is worth buying and no Red Dwarf fan should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Mr Lister Sir!, 22 Feb 2005
By 
B. Roche "somethingisrotten" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having gathered a reputation and safely secured its position as part of BBC2's friday night comedy, the team behind red dwarf relaxed, put starbug on autopilot, sat down to a couple of cans of extra-strength lager and produced some of the best episodes of the entire run.
Lister was as dishevelled and grubby as the last human could possibly be, Kryten fussed and cleaned and kept Rimmer aware of Space Core Directives; Rimmer was at his most supercilious and the Cat was as vain and arrogant as ever. And we loved them for it.
One of the most important developments in this series was the introduction in LEGION of Rimmer's hard-light drive, allowing him to touch, feel and work, the later much to his chargrin.
Gunmen of the apocalypse is as good as its reputation suggests and a worthy dual winner of the 1994 emmy award in the 'Popular Arts' category and lesser known (but equally impressive) 'Most Innovative Use Of Kryten's Eyeballs' award.
Out of Time was a cracking conclusion to a magnificent series, which left only one question: what would series 7 have been like without the 4 year gap?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 6 - It's Better Than Life!!!!!!, 23 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After losing all my tapes of the Dwarf in a house move I am waiting with baited breath for the release of all the DVDs and I think I'd forgotten just how fantastic 6 is!!!!! The sets are smarter, the characters more developed than ever and the acting's so slick it's easy to believe they're not even trying anymore!
Not only does it contain what most fans concede to be the best episode ever (Gunmen of the Apocalypse) but it backs it up with such classics as Legion and Emohawk - some might say these hark back to previous episodes but... if it ain't broke don't fix it would be my response to this and besides anything that reintroduces Ace Rimmer and Duane Dibley must be worth a watch!!!! Psirens is a slow introduction to the series but still contains some classic one liners and other gags which will go on to provide the meat for the rest of this and subsequent series' - Cat's deader than quips, Rimmer's space corps directives and the Kryten's head jokes. I once read that Rimmerworld was only wriiten by Rob Grant and Doug Naylor as a sweetener to keep Chris Barrie with the show (obviously it ultimately didn't work) and the episode itself is the weekest of the series for me but side by side with such classics who really cares?? The final episode will have you on the edge of seat even today minus the "will there be another series" cafuffal that surrounded it when it first aired!! A stunning end to a stunning series really that saw the show develope into a more coherent series of events rather than the stand alone adventures that had gone before.
As for all the extras there's more smeg ups and deleted scenes than on series' 1-5 and after all most dedicated Dwarfers would buy the DVD for these alone so that's got to be a good thing! Plus the commentary is better than before (Craig is back after missing the recording day for the series 5 commentary due to illness) and almost as funny as watching the show itself!! Makes me sorry I never made it to a convention!
Overall my final word (or words) on the 6th series of Red Dwarf has to be SMEGGING FANTASTIC!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent series, 20 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Some situation comedies live or die by their inventiveness ... and Red Dwarf is certainly one such.

The problem with many is that the inventiveness "fails" as one series becomes two, then three, then five, etc. With Red Dwarf this simply doesn't happen. I have got eight series of this sitcom on DVD (and this review applies to, and will be submitted on, all eight) and the eigth is every bit as superb as the first.

I unhesitatingly recommend Red Dwarf to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best six episodes of comedy available on one disc?, 20 Aug 2007
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Series 6 is known by many as the classic series. By this time the cast had perfected their charactrs, knew exactly how the scripts (which were perfectly crafted) worked and what the audience expected.

Series 6 is six episodes (30mins each) which are all effectively short films. They're scope is always ambitious and they push the limits of what TV could do at the time. One episode even went on to win an emmy in the US.

I can't recommend this highly enough and as always the extras are brilliant. This really is British comedy at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culmination complete, 14 Jan 2005
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The sixth year of Red Dwarf was the first one I watched. And it was good. It was great. Possibly the best.
Rob Grant and Doug Naylor were truely on top form with this series. The characterisation is spot on. The action is fantastic and the episodes side achingly funny.
Everything that had gone before in the previous series were present and perhaps (to some) repeated but never in a way that felt repeated. The actors themselves were so comfortable by now they hardly had to act. The interactions on personal and group levels were almost poetic.
First out was Psirens which is a little troublesome but enjoyable with a great re-introduction sequence to all the characters that counteracts anything later in the episode. Next was Legion which is hilarious, if a little slapstick for red dwarf in places. It also gave Rimmer his hard light drive. Gunmen of the Apocalypse, the award winner, is a fantastic episode. Not the best ever but amazing non the less. Rimmerworld is somewhat of a rework of Terrorform from series 5 but funnier. Female Rimmers? Plus it had the funniest escape plan joke ever. "Or, we could just use the teleporter". Priceless. Emohawk was fabulous and brought back Ace Rimmer and Dwayne Dibbly which makes it an instant classic. Finally came The End. If the series had ended here it would have fit so well and we'd have been spared series 7 (although series 8 made up fot it, a bit). This shows the culmination of 6 years of character development and Rimmer's moment of glory, the bitter sweet comedy of the spoiled future and the most amazing 'what the f...@ cliff hanger ever. I mean even 'who shot JR' and 'Picard's a borg?' couldn't beat this. Watch this set if only for Gunmen and The End. If you dont find yourself thinking bring on series 7 by the end of it then I dont know what to do with ya.
Shame they did really.
But thats another review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf VI, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Vicky Welsby (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Now on Starbug, chasing Red Dwarf through space because "Lister can't remember where he parked it", this is certainly among the best series, if not the best. One of my favourite Red Dwarf one liners is in the episode "Legion" when they're trying to get Legion to come with them and Rimmer mentions that they've met 31 people, all of whom have been nutters. When Legion announces that they won't be leaving his ship until the day they die, Rimmer just looks and says "thirty-two". It's not the line itself, it's the way Chris Barrie delivers it, the look on his face and his tone of voice and timing are just wonderful. Then there's the "space core directives" throughout the series, which Kryten can't resist correcting Rimmer on even once.

In one of the documentries, you find out that the episode "Out of Time" was actually still being written as it was filmed, leaving the cast no time for rehearsals and reading their lines from auto cues and pieces of paper dotted around the set, making it (for me anyway) one of the best episodes ever. Against all the odds, the cast are simply superb in this episode, which really goes to show how comfortable they were in their roles and how great they are.

If you're going to start at any series other than series 1, then start here, this is Red Dwarf at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf at its best, 4 Oct 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is definitely the best series in my opinion. The episodes are all exceptional with superb concepts ranging from straw wielding brain thirsty aliens to a world made from Rimmers sub-conscious (theres a scary thought!!). This is extremely well written, acted brilliant with the chemistry obvious and I'm thankful that they never got rid of Cat after series 3!! Its well worth buying if your into great British comedies, as a fan or even not. Buy it buy it buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'They call me the Kid - The Riviera Kid!', 23 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Red Dwarf, without the Dwarf but back to its best. After IV and V failed to live up to III (not to say they weren't great), the show is back with a bang, almost better than ever. Psirens is great, with Peter Tranter's sister and the guitar acid test and Legion is one of the finest episodes ever (Surf-Boarding Killer Bikini Vampie Girls indeed!). Gunman of the Apocalypse had me rolling on the floor with Takka-Dal of the great Vinadloonian Empire. The only reason I give the show 4 stars instead of five is that Polymorph II - Emohawk and Rimmerworld are not quite as good as they should have been. Despite the return of the man with the worst dress sense in the world and Rimmer's change for the better in the former and Lister's over complicated escape plan in the later, they were not quite up to snuff (a sign of the decline to come). Then the show ends on a brilliant comic and dramtic high with Out of Time, the crew from the future are brilliant, as Kryten's reaction to Lister's big secret.
All in all, a superb series at (almost its finest) and well worth buying. She rides!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa35252d0)

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005]
Red Dwarf: Series 6 [DVD] [2005] by Andy DeEmmony (DVD - 2005)
6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews