Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very British and well worth a watch
This is a fairly faithful (in concept) retelling of Edith Nesbit's moralistic children's classic, although the story is reset in the first world war period. This film is very gentle and occasionally moving to watch, although it is more amusing than laugh out loud funny (at least when Eddie Izzard isn't about). It's more 'The railway children' or 'The secret garden' than...
Published on 8 Sep 2005 by Keith_Joseph

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not particularly faithful.
On its own this was a good film. The basic premise is there, five children, an it and some wishes which fade at sunset. This was a fun, funny movie with the appropriate lump in your throat moments. I enjoyed it but wasn't so keen on how estranged Robert seemed to be from his brothers and sisters. Kenneth Brannagh and Zoe Wannamaker were topnotch of course and Eddie...
Published on 3 Dec 2005 by Suze


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very British and well worth a watch, 8 Sep 2005
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a fairly faithful (in concept) retelling of Edith Nesbit's moralistic children's classic, although the story is reset in the first world war period. This film is very gentle and occasionally moving to watch, although it is more amusing than laugh out loud funny (at least when Eddie Izzard isn't about). It's more 'The railway children' or 'The secret garden' than 'Spy Kids' (hardly surprising as Nesbit also wrote The Railway Children).

The stalwart British adult actor's Zoe Wannamaker and Kenneth Branagh are in good form and all the children are excellent and likable leads, particularly the young Freddie Highmore [now the new Charlie in Charlie & the Chocolate factory] and his tubby 'nasty cousin' Horace (Alexander Pownall) - although perhaps it might have been a little less cliched if their roles had been reversed. The wise & witty old sand fairy naturally steals all his scenes (and Eddy Izzard is really great as his voice). The only downside is the rather naff static dinosaur sequence, more than made up for though by the breathtaking Zeppelin scene (best viewed on the big screen). There are some other famous UK faces as well, including Norman Wisdom in a micro cameo. The film hasn't got the depth or historical accuracy of the three hour BBC's TV adaptation of the book from 1991, and is far less faithful to the book's plotline set in the earlier late Victorian/Edwardian period. However the film is quite acceptable fun and has the advantage that it can easily be viewed as a sequel to the superb BBC adaptation. The actual sequel to the book though is BBCs later 'all star' serialisation 'The Phoenix and the carpet', at present only available highly edited as a region 1 import 'Disney film' from Amazon resellers (and this DVD is also highly recommended - until the proper BBC region 2 DVD set appears).

On release, my 10 y old daughter and I chose this 'Five Children and it' film over Sharks Tale and didn't regret it. My daughter was absorbed throughout it (and cried a bit). My 8 y old son and mum really enjoyed this DVD later. So well worth couple of viewings on quiet winter Sundays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic family film that everyone will enjoy, 11 Nov 2005
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film is a masterpiece that puts together information on wartime britain with the mischievous lives of children. It is about a group of children who discover a secret that has been hidden in the ground for thousands of years to be awoken. It was funny in some bits although it does have a moral which is cleverly hidden in the story. A must se for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not particularly faithful., 3 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
On its own this was a good film. The basic premise is there, five children, an it and some wishes which fade at sunset. This was a fun, funny movie with the appropriate lump in your throat moments. I enjoyed it but wasn't so keen on how estranged Robert seemed to be from his brothers and sisters. Kenneth Brannagh and Zoe Wannamaker were topnotch of course and Eddie Izzard provides much amusement as It. This film isn't particularly faithful to the book by E. Nesbit, only a few basic points correspond at all and if you're looking for something that will compliment the book then you might be better off going for the BBC mini series. If, however you're looking for a fun movie to watch with the kids then I would definitely recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great film., 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Good fun for all the family. Takes you back to an innocent age with great performances from the likes of Kenneth Branagh. Got it after seeing it on TV - you would not believe what they edit out to make room for some crap adverts. The film is so much better without them so don't wait for TV they corrupt a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Nov 2006
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I was thoroughly capivated by this dvd. The story is fairly simple. City children are evacuated to the country to stay with their cousin. On arrival they are given free rein of the house, but are not to go to the greenhouse. Needless to say, it is the first place they explore. Inside exists a secret passage to a special beach, the home of the Sand Fairy, aka IT. IT grants wishes but, with a twist...

Kenneth Branagh is wonderful as the excentric uncle.

A lovely family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Mar 2008
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The five Children and it

This enthralling children's classic has been converted into blockbuster screens. An emotional adventure tells the tale of five children who when evacuated due to world war one find a secret tunnel in the forbidden greenhouse in their cousins manor. As the story progresses the children discover the sand fairy or `it' buried in the magical beach through the tunnel. 'It' helps the children discover that what they want isn't necessarily what's best for them in the long run. The fairy grants them one wish each day and due to their father being away at war their wishes are often far-flung and drastic, events quickly spin out of hand....

This movie is carried along by the young child star Freddie Highmore who also played Charlie in Charlie and the chocolate factory. His innocent boyish face portrays the hurt of losing someone closest to you in a way only a child could. Other famous stars include Kenneth Branagh (uncle) and Eddie Izzard (the voice of it).
As the movie is swept along the house bully Horace (Alexander Pownall) catches the fairy and tries to kill it for his collection. Will the fairy escape in time to stop the whole town being eaten by a rampaging T-rex and will `dad' ever come home.
Directed by John Stephenson this movie is a must see!
By Eleanor Daly 14
(4 stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
bought this dvd for my grand children to watch on wet days, as well as sunny days. I am sure they will love it as much as I did watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Family Film, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
One film I thoroughly enjoyed watching with the grandchildren aged 2 and 7. In fact watched it three times now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 5 Children & It, 31 Aug 2006
By 
C. Hill "C.Hill" (St.Helens, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you've ever watched the fantastic TV series 'The Phoenix & The Carpet' then this is a very similar story. The book is by the same author and it revolves around middle/upper class victorian children who happen upon an adventure where they are granted a wish every day (or three wishes in P&TC). I don't think its as good but its still great fun, my girls loved it especially the 'Psammead' or 'IT' which is a sand fairy (also appears in an episode of Phoenix). Its a recurring story, the kids get a wish which they rush and realise they have to wait a day to correct the mess they've got into. The story is really heartwarming though and theres a lot of sentiment involved and a happy ending. Great little cameo role for Norman Wisdom too !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little story, 5 May 2009
This review is from: Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Certainly is a nice little story. Reminded me of The Railway Children then I realised that this story was from the same author E. Nesbit.

I must say that I did adore that wonderful creature IT. He did look lovely and mysterous. His tongue spoke a fascinating way that was quite humourous and very daring.

Although I liked the film, which I watched this bank holiday Monday, I felt something missing; tension perhaps. Maybe it's because I've seen Harry Potter which blasts you away.
Anyway never mind I still liked it but will keep my number at 3 - In the middle. Not bad, hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Children And It [DVD] [2004]
Five Children And It [DVD] [2004] by John Stephenson (DVD - 2005)
£3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews