Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good dvd
i really love this dvd its a great novelty to other oliver versions i really like the actors and doing theyre best on these iconic characters i think ill watch it later
Published 18 months ago by ebenezer scrooge

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time
This is a typical hollywood attempt at cashing in on a title that's in the public conciousness. The script, sets and acting are pathetic. It has nothing to recommend it over the original film.
Published on 5 Dec 2005 by Dawn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, 5 Dec 2005
By 
Dawn (Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
This is a typical hollywood attempt at cashing in on a title that's in the public conciousness. The script, sets and acting are pathetic. It has nothing to recommend it over the original film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good dvd, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
i really love this dvd its a great novelty to other oliver versions i really like the actors and doing theyre best on these iconic characters i think ill watch it later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too mild an adaptation, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
a politically correct verson of David Lean's film of the 1940s. makes Fagin out to be a character with little villainy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Twist DVD, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
I love Oliver Twist and used to watch the original film with my mum many years ago. I am not sure I enjoyed this version as much, but still watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... have seen several versions of this film as I love the story and have enjoyed most of them, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen several versions of this film as I love the story and have enjoyed most of them. However, this is the worst of the lot.The casting is terrible with some characters hardly bearing any comparison to the book or other film versions.The picture quality is poor and looks like it's been made in someones shed.I do not recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear another dismal Disney film..., 18 Jun 2007
By 
C. Forsey "HarryF" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
I started watching this film with low expectations, but was strangely surprised to see a genuinely stunning performance from Alex Trench (Oliver) but a truly awful attempt of a cockney accent from Elijah Wood (Dodger) who almost lives up to Dick Van Dyke's hilarious attempt in Mary Poppins. With exception to Elijah Wood and Richard Dreyfuss (Fagin), the rest of the cast are English with fantastically British accents, which I really wasn't expecting from a Disney production.

Holistically, I was surprised how `undisney' the film was; the ending was only slightly happier than that of the book (Fagin doesn't get hung, etc.) and the music, although marginally jolly, was nothing as bad as what I had prepared myself for.

All in all I was shocked how good the film was, having bought it with the comments of the previous review in mind, I found that this film had received nothing like the credit it deserves, as it is definitely one of those films that can be watched over and over again. I would recommend this film to anyone despite their age, and although it's not as true as Roman Polanski's version, it's still an absolute classic, possibly as lovable as the musical and definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent condition, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
Item in great condition, kids love it. They have enjoyed watching it and signing along to the songs, just got to learn the words myself now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oliver twist dvd, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
i thought this dvd was excellent completely different from the other versions picture quality was good would reccomend it to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the Dodger, 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the reviews here make me wonder whether we saw the same film. Those on Amazon's US site (e.g. the one below) are worth reading and provide somewhat more insight into this production. Almost inevitably the script, characterisation and direction of this Disney version of "Oliver Twist" distort and generally devalue the book, and to me the Oliver character is so badly acted as to be totally implausible, failing to evoke the slightest sympathy in the viewer. Most of the characters, including that of Fagin, whom co-producer Richard Dreyfuss apparently specifically wished to portray, are reduced to ciphers. The role of the Artful Dodger, however, has been transformed into a vehicle for Elijah Wood, then Hollywood's leading teenage star and clearly a Disney favourite after his stunning performance as a ten-year-old in Steven Sommers's Huck Finn adaptation (q.v.). Wood's performance here duly draws in the audience and diverts the story to that of the Dodger - it is his ultimate fate, not Oliver's, that we are left wondering about when the film ends. Clearly the 16-year-old Wood was not given the chance to demonstrate his considerable voice skills by perfecting the Cockney accent he is so clearly capable of (as widely evidenced elsewhere). That is one of the most unfortunate failings of this disappointing production (my four stars are all for Mr Wood).

The following extract from a review by "A Customer" on Amazon's US site says much the same, but more eloquently, so I'll take the liberty of quoting it:
"Remarkably the one member of the cast who manages to construct a character with any level of charisma and depth is Elijah Wood who was barely sixteen at the time of filming. His Dodger is a prime example of Wood's ability to inject life and emotional complexity into the most ordinary of roles. In Wood's hands the Dodger becomes an outwardly confident and thick-skinned but ultimately a very lonely, vulnerable and confused individual. He is the only character that manages to engage the audience's sympathy in this production and frankly every scene without Wood's Dodger is a scene wasted. That said, his accent slips woefully at several points-which is a pity because as evidenced by `The Lord of the Rings' he is eminently capable of pulling off a convincing English accent with the aid of a decent voice coach. The only other positive things about this film are the discerning use of its score, which succeeds in being quite evocative and a few scattered moments of gentle humour."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!!, 6 May 2004
By A Customer
Why did they even attempt this when they don't even come close to matching the oscar winning musical version?
The answer is I really don't know.
The acting is pretty poor, mostly let down by the fact that most of the cast cannot do a cockney accent at all. Richard Dreyfuss,who plays Fagan is barley understandable and quite frankly annoying to watch. Looking obviously well fed, he looks very out of place as the street thief.
As for the guy who plays Bill Sykes - very unconvincing. Where as the mere entrance of the dog from Oliver Reed's Sykes is enough to give you the chills, the actor in this version sounds like a cheap imitation of Eastenders Phill Mitchell (you almost expect Peggy to come along)
Elijah wood cast as dodger? Hmm, with that angelic face?? Not to mention the fact that he's bigger than the rest of the gang. Maybe he could have pulled it off as apart from in this film he seems to be a very capable actor, but what a shame his accent was - well what was it?? It was just so clumsy, unnatural and laboured. (a total opposite of his effortless English accent in rings) There were lines though were it definitely strayed into Irish, Australian and American.
To sum up, a pointless rehash of a story that's already been told in a far superior way.
Not even Disney can put a bit of magic into this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver Twist [DVD]
Oliver Twist [DVD] by Tony Bill (DVD - 2005)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews