Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Woody film
Handled with a perfect touch this movie shows Woody Allen at his incomparable best. It has a strong, wildly fluctuating plot, superbly acted by him and Bette Midler. If you like these two you should delight in their performances. I see some harsh reviews of this film but I recommend you stay detached and enjoy watching as an interested observer. You'll never get so much...
Published 13 months ago by R. Regan

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good actors, OK movie
This movie often gets unjustly harsh reviews. I find it unremarkable but quite enjoyable. Possibly, its main flaw is that it is not a Woody Allen movie. His appearance as one of the central characters makes the comparison with his films unavoidable. If we forget Woody Allen and compare it with other romantic comedies instead (and how many of those would survive a...
Published on 25 May 2009 by C. M. Larsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good actors, OK movie, 25 May 2009
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
This movie often gets unjustly harsh reviews. I find it unremarkable but quite enjoyable. Possibly, its main flaw is that it is not a Woody Allen movie. His appearance as one of the central characters makes the comparison with his films unavoidable. If we forget Woody Allen and compare it with other romantic comedies instead (and how many of those would survive a comparison with Crimes and Misdemeanors or Husbands and Wives?) it manages better and it is easier to see its real strengths and weaknesses.

A real drawback (not an insignificant one, but not as disastrous as it might sound) is that the story does not really contain the character development or the unfolding of events. On the upside it has two very good comic actors (Allen and Bette Midler) in the leading roles, and the chemistry between them is fine, too. Although the script does not really carry all the way through, the dialogue is funny and well-written. There are many better movies but, as long as you don't expect anything as profound as the Bergman allusion in the title could be taken to promise, this delivers satisfactory entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scenes from a mall - had hoped for a bigger scene., 16 Dec 2007
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
This acting only effort from Woody Allen is perfectly watchable but unremarkable and well below Allen's own writer/actor/director efforts.Both Midler and Allen are fine and do everything possible to make an un-funny script seem funny.They play a long married couple who go to the mall for anniversary gifts for each other but niggling indifferences force their way into the proceedings and from then on it's a full blown domestic nightmare for the two of them.Old wounds are uncovered,anger is openly vented,a skeleton or two comes out of the closet and they trade insults galore.What could have been a great comedy full of sparkling wit and repartee,rarely raises itself above the ordinary.What it really cries out for is for Allen to get hold of the script and write some of those classic stinging one liners that he could write in his sleep.
A disappointment but still to be enjoyed my fans of Allen and midler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bergman... Californian style [or sushi, power walks and the anatomy of human relationships], 9 Feb 2009
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
The title of the film refers to the acclaimed Ingmar Bergman's film 'Scenes from a marriage'. But when you transfer it to California and most of the action takes place inside a mall you expect it to be quite different. It follows Bergman's structure but in a very small scale, narrowing the story into a single day and turning it into a comedy and it would be interesting for someone who has watched both films to compare the structure.
It starts by introducing us to the couple which still seems very happy and smug about how well their marriage works.
Allen and Midler play the parts of a middle-class, middle age couple preparing for their anniversary party and they are going to a mall to buy sushi to serve their party guests. In the mall a series of revelations, fights, reconcilements and insults take place. Midler plays the part of a couples therapist who has just written a book on marriage so there is a lot of 'analyzing-each-other-and-search-for-subtext' going on. It is a funny satire of middle-class over-analyzed Californians of the early 90's -and late 80's- when analysis was still very much in.

It is a very entertaining film with two wonderful protagonists, but it lucks the sparkle Allen's own comedies have and I think it could have been great but missed its chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Woody film, 20 Nov 2013
By 
R. Regan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Handled with a perfect touch this movie shows Woody Allen at his incomparable best. It has a strong, wildly fluctuating plot, superbly acted by him and Bette Midler. If you like these two you should delight in their performances. I see some harsh reviews of this film but I recommend you stay detached and enjoy watching as an interested observer. You'll never get so much hilarity and delight in a day's shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets Better With Age, 16 Nov 2012
I must admit that when I first saw 'Scenes From a Mall' in the early 90s I was somewhat disappointed with it. Being a huge Woody Allen fan, I guess I expected this to be like a Woody Allen movie - probably because 99% of the time you only see Woody in his own movies working with his own scripts. I wasn't expecting a two-hander that leant more towards drama than comedy, and one in which even Bette Midler appeared to be somewhat subdued.

Seeing it again recently on this new blu-ray release has been an eye-opener, and not only because of the great clarity of the picture. The two stars work very well together and achieve a nice balance of gentle comedy and claustrophobic exasperation which characterises their relationship. The script is mostly energetic and observant, even if it does stray into cliche from time to time, and the direction allows both actors to show sides of their talent which are not often seen in their more famous performances.

This is definitely worth a look or a revisit if you're a Bette or Woody fan, but probably works better on a more mature audience who will more readily relate to the age and situation of the characters and their relationship. It sits more comfortably with works like 'Down and Out in Beverly Hills', but is not a million miles from Woody's later work from the mid-90s onwards.

The blu-ray does not come with any extras, which is a shame, but it is region free and at this low price this is an oft-overlooked title which is worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets Better with Age, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit that when I first saw 'Scenes From a Mall' in the early 90s I was somewhat disappointed with it. Being a huge Woody Allen fan, I guess I expected this to be like a Woody Allen movie - probably because 99% of the time you only see Woody in his own movies working with his own scripts. I wasn't expecting a two-hander that leant more towards drama than comedy, and one in which even Bette Midler appeared to be somewhat subdued.

Seeing it again recently on this new blu-ray release has been an eye-opener, and not only because of the great clarity of the picture. The two stars work very well together and achieve a nice balance of gentle comedy and claustrophobic exasperation which characterises their relationship. The script is mostly energetic and observant, even if it does stray into cliche from time to time, and the direction allows both actors to show sides of their talent which are not often seen in their more famous performances.

This is definitely worth a look or a revisit if you're a Bette or Woody fan, but probably works better on a more mature audience who will more readily relate to the age and situation of the characters and their relationship. It sits more comfortably with works like 'Down and Out in Beverly Hills', but is not a million miles from Woody's later work from the mid-90s onwards.

The blu-ray does not come with any extras, which is a shame, but it is region free and at this low price this is an oft-overlooked title which is worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sep 2014
By 
V. streymoy (The Faroe Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome film, I really enjoyed it. Quick delivery and the item was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
arrived in good time and in good condition very cheep been watched a few times and im sure will be watched a few more thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie from the past!, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
A fun movie if you like Woody Allen`s acting or 80`s movies!Nice movie to spend your afternoon with your boyfriend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Scenes From A Mall [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a close reflection of marital problems of our time but the film doesn't only deal with this issue alone, but also the materialist and greedy life that we all tend to lead. Midler and Allen are absolutely a huge pleasure to watch and both provide an originality to their characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scenes From A Mall [DVD]
Scenes From A Mall [DVD] by Paul Mazursky (DVD - 2005)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews