Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2005
by all accounts the man likes a guiness, and he deserves the tag line more than they do. i tried to review this once alreayd off a single listen but it never appeared so now i've got the record i'm trying again! if this isn't the best record i hear all year then this will be a very good year. its certianly the best roots has ever made. its a real album all the way through. Proper lyrics, proper music, a sense that your dealing with something special from the beginning to the end. I don't understnad the other review on this page. there are so many great tracks on here - miond 2 motion, collosal insight, too cold, rebel heart, toothbrush are all class, but the pick of the bunch is the falling. i'v enever heard anything like this. its epic. whatever music you think your into your going to get something out of this record. its a classic to me already.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2005
To begin with, after hearing the first track, Collosal Insight, I was unsure about the albums success. However, after extensive listenin' to the aforemention work of lyrical dirty dub genius, i have realised how lucky we are to have a genuinely innovative and intersting man like Rodney himself to make us music like this. Although they appear as only interludes, the tracks 'pause for cause' and vice versa are really good, afirming Rodneys return to top of the British lyricists both in style and originality. Other notable tracks are 'a haunting' (a more 'traditionally'inspired dub style track) and 'the falling'. Some of the tracks are self critical, many self reflective, the album is a journey through the deepest, darkest and dubiest caverns of Smiths mind.
The bonus disc is a total steal at only £1 extra! Rad.
It might also be worth grabbing a ticket for one of his upcoming gigs to see the new album live, with, so i hear, the Manuvadelics. These fellas feature on the bonus disc, i first saw them with Rodney at Reading (incidentally where his live track of Collosal insight was recorded), and i was blown away by the involving nature of this full live band. For Manuveterans, 'Witness' was awesome, as well as the live versions of 'Movements' off the first album, Brand New Second Hand. In fact, if you do not own these already, dig them out, they are equally as good, probably better.
In short, buy this, buy them all!!! Immerse yourself in the Manuva experience. I have, and it has consumed my life! (kind of)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2005
Rorney Smith's new album doesn't really make for a change of style: it is instantly recognisable as Roots Manuva, improving his style and raising his stakes once again without disapointing a single moment.
You can just hear that a lot of effort has been put into this to make it an even better album than 'Run Come Save Me' and it all pays of.
My personal favourits right now are the chilled 'A Haunting', the agressive 'Chin High' and the more introspective 'The Falling' but that can always change.
Awfully Deep is an album that shows more and more details each time you play it and has enough variety and soul in it to keep you listening for weeks.
On 'Rebel Heart', in my opinion the weakest track here, Roots Manuva has his way one the present DanceHall-trend. He gets away with it easily.
The first album of the year that shows that there is still live in modern Hip Hop.
The extra bonus-cd is a but unnecessary but still contains a few cool live versions from songs like 'Chin High' and 'Rebel Heart'
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2005
Minus the superfluous album version edit of “Awfully Deep,” you’ve got one new song, one live-studio reworking of the near title track with a little help from Gorillaz collaborator Damon Albarn, and a remix of each. The Albarn/Lampeth Blues version benefits greatly from the Blur kingpin’s addition of a brooding piano as well as Rodney’s more contemplative delivery. Joseph Mount’s Metronomy remix of Damon’s jam takes the cut back to an early eighties cheese-funk which kinda misses the point but Diplo’s remix of the previously unreleased “Seat Yourself” recovers to a more appropriate sludgy bangin’ vibe. All in all, it’s a worthwhile companion to the full length of the not quite same name.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2005
Now, I'm a HUGE fan of British Hip-Hop but, until I listened to this album, there wasn't a British one that I thought was consitently good ALL the way through. I love the old Mark B and Blade stuff and Manuva's earlier work, but there seemed to be that 'something special' missing.
This album makes up for the wait - it is, quite simply, incredible. This album, in my opinion, would give any hip-hop album a run for its money. Sure, he hasn't got the lyrical prowess of Nas, or the catchy hooks of Dj Premier but that's just the point!!! This is BRITISH hip-hop - dark, heavy bass and absolutely no attempt to copy any style. As the lyrics say,
'All in all I been feelin' the pinch and those bourgeois blacks have been far from convinced,
but I don't give a damn about UK rap,
I'm a UK black makin' UK tracks,
and I got love for everyone of them scenes
and them pigeon-holes were never nothin' to hold me'
This is how it should be - unique, dark and played so loud your ears bleed!! A stunning album - he's been threatening to be this good since he started and now he's done it. The Hip-hop world is a better place for it!! BUY THIS ALBUM - twice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2005
After seeing roots manuva only last night, i felt i had to review his latest offering to the uk hip hop world with awfully deep. for me this album has offered a bit of eveything, and a heap of inspiration, to me its even on par with obvious classic run come save me. if you havnt got a ticket for one of his last few shows, DO IT!! you will not be dissapointed. highlights of this album for me will have to be mind 2 motion, the falling, thinking and many more! (all of them really) this album is a step forward into the world of uk hip hop
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2005
after hearing the album through once you know that the album is up to scratch on his previous work. the album takes you on a journey that only rodneys lyrics and awesome bass could do, stand out tracks are the falling, toothbrush and mind to motion, but there isnt a weak track.
definately lives up to expectations, dont think its better than RCSM as that album remains in a class of its own. comes close though, and if it gets as many plays as his 1st two albums it might become my favourite yet. go buy it its awesome!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
This album starts well, builds to a creshendo and then never looks back. This quite simply is the best British Hip-Hop album ever made.
Roots Manuva has been a troubled man and he does not hide this in Awfully Deep. The result is a wonderfully atmospheric album in which you worry for his mind and yet marvel at his music.
His timing is perfect, the beats incredibly varied.
Compare "The Falling" which is a deep, dark look at the hard negative times in his life, to "Chin High" which is full of heavy jungle style beats and shows his positive approach.
Roots Manuva is a man with an incredible talent, a very deep mind, and the best album in years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2005
This is the first roots manuva album ive bought since 'Dub Come Save Me' and it is heavy.
Awfully Deep, The Falling and Toothbrush are the best tracks, The Falling is about all the stuff that goes on in real england,
Awfully Deep is the best track lyrically but i cant stand some of the electronic beats hes doing,
Toothbrush is just a dark song to dance to.
I would've liked Colossal Insight more if it weren't for the electronic beat, but i like the manoustic at reading version on the 'noodle pack'. The lowpoints of the album are the electronic beats and the lack of Dub-style beats.
The high points are awfully deep, the falling,toothbrush and a haunting, buy this if you liked his new singles. If not then buy dub come save me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)