Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood revisited
When the original film was showing at the Standard Cinema, Coventry, two young mothers took their combined broods of 9 nippers to watch it. Ahem! I don't remember seeing any of the film, but I do remember David, Daryl, Gerry and myself playing cowboys and indians underneath the seats and becoming rather filthy! I vowed to myself - after being severely admonished - that...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Mr. G. WOODWARD

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Davy Crockett
I bought this dvd because I remembered how I loved watching it when I was very young and I particularly wanted to hear the title song again. Fond memories came flooding back at the beginning but the song became too repetitive after a while and even annoying to hear it over and over again by the end. Very tame by todays standards, I'd say it has a definite 1950's 'feel',...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by JeanLouise


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood revisited, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. G. WOODWARD (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
When the original film was showing at the Standard Cinema, Coventry, two young mothers took their combined broods of 9 nippers to watch it. Ahem! I don't remember seeing any of the film, but I do remember David, Daryl, Gerry and myself playing cowboys and indians underneath the seats and becoming rather filthy! I vowed to myself - after being severely admonished - that when I got the chance, I would sit down and watch it in its entirety. Ah, the best-laid plans of mice and men! Now I'm old, fat, grey and disabled, I sought out this copy on Amazon and duly sat down and watched it. Hardly surprisingly, it's a precis, as a film portrayal of Davy Crockett would have to be a 10-volume series. Most of what he achieved is there, but there's not enough detail! Ah well, when someone makes "Davy Crockett - The Series" I'll be an avid watcher. In the meantime, this will have to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars davy crockett - i love it..what more can i say..?.. thank you.., 10 Feb 2009
By 
H. MAC-RAE "helene" (scotland, u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
davy crockett..king of the wild frontier.. i once bought a glass in canada with the davy crockett pic and first chorus of song... so at 40 odd years old..haha.. i bought it... it did remind me so much of the mid '50's when i and my pals saw the first movie.. and now i have that movie on dvd.. i am soooo pleased... thanks a bunch... hmac..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Davy Crockett, 12 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd because I remembered how I loved watching it when I was very young and I particularly wanted to hear the title song again. Fond memories came flooding back at the beginning but the song became too repetitive after a while and even annoying to hear it over and over again by the end. Very tame by todays standards, I'd say it has a definite 1950's 'feel', but still an enjoyable romp of the old Hollywood Wild West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE ''BUCKSKIN'' PIONEER', 2 Mar 2014
By 
richard bygrave (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
This is the movie that triggered a lifetime of interest in the story of
'Davy Crockett' and the battle of the Alamo, way back in '1955' (I
was a whole lot younger then)
'Disney' rekindled the legend of 'Davy Crockett' in this family-friendly
tale, which is often portrayed in a light-hearted manner as is the
'Disney' way.....History and fact perhaps tailored to accomodate the
it's targeted audience of the day.
the film starts during 'Davy Crockett's' (Fess Parker) Indian-fighting
days during which he was awarded the rank of colonel.
We follow his adventures along with partner 'George Russell' (Buddy
Epsen) which includes his 'Bear Hunting' 'Shooting contest' he then
set about trying to build a new family home, at which time he is given
the sad news that his wife had died.
He is persuaded to stand for congress, a position he held for one term.
Politics done he seeks a new challenge which takes him to Texas, where
he hears of a forthcoming skirmish with 'Mexican' dictator 'Santa Ana'
So he and his faithful friend head to 'San Antonio' joining 'Colonel James
Bowie' and 'Colonel William Travis' at the crumbling mission 'The Alamo'
Alamo trivia :-
'Davy' took the position of 'Special' Private' and was not officially one of
the 'Alamo's' commanders.
In fact 'Davy' and his volunteers defended the wooden palisade to the rear
of the 'Alamo's' defences, after the Mexican soldiers are repelled on a couple
of occasions, the forward defences were breached the dye was of course cast.
The battle took place before sun-rise, lasting about two hours.
'William Travis' was one of the first to die (bullet in his head)
'James Bowie' who was bed-ridden may well have already died before the Mexican
soldiers reached him.
There is no account of how 'Davy Crockett' met his death.
The number of Mexican casualties varies depending on what account you read.
Stuff of Myth and legend.
'Fess Parker' in later life donated the rifle used in the movie to the 'Alamo'
museum (I did in fact see it on my visit 2013)
The Film:
Pure nostalgia for myself, haven't watched it for a while,,,,,have, again now.
Perhaps a little dated by todays standards, and is presented on DVD in 4.3.
The picture and sound quality is pretty good, in truth this is often the case
with 'Disney' movies from this period of time.

Again....family friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
Eamonn Durning (2,Ashleigh Close, College Farm Road, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to see it again, a bit dated but still very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
really pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it as a child, love it now, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this for the first time since I was a child a few weeks ago. The only scene I remembered was Jim Bowie at the Alamo -- too ill to leave his bed when Santa Anna's men breach the walls, he's propped up on his pillows, a pistol in each hand. I remember him firing away at them with both hands.

But even though I don't remember the details, I remember Fess Parker as Davy -- and I've idolized Davy Crockett ever since.

As an adult, I read about him -- and was both surprised and pleased that Disney included his speech in Congress against "the Indian Bill" (the bill that forced the Cherokee off their land and onto the Trail of Tears). In real life, this ended Davy's political career....though he did make one last speech, begged by his constituents.

"You can all go to hell. I'm going to Texas," he said -- and it was sheer bad luck that he arrived just in time for the Alamo.

In the Disney version, he goes to the Alamo by choice....still, it's a great movie.

Yes, cinematically FAR less sophisticated than what we have now: but having watched it with a seven-year old, I'd say it still has the same power to capture the imagination and stir the emotions.

Or maybe only for Americans?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a fair depiction of the real life of Davy Crockett, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
So much legend and rumour surrounds the king of the wild frontier; this film dispels a lot of the fiction in a true portrayal of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars davy crockett, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
its taken my husband back to his first cinema trip with his Mum ,aged 5,well worth it. He loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars for a friend, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD] (DVD)
this was ordered for a friend for her father who remembered the film many years ago the film arrive on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Davy Crockett - King Of The Wild Frontier [DVD]
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews