Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!
Having been brought up on a diet of fifa 20001,2,3,4 and pro-evolution etc etc I wasn't quite sure about these new "street" style games? (Bought it at the same time as NBA street 3, basketball). Lotta money £70 quid!
However THIS IS BRILLIANT....... THEY ARE BOTH BRILLIANT!!!
The action is fast, furious, fenetic....
I don't agree with anyone who says it's...
Published on 5 April 2005 by s17elly

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
When i first bought this game i thought it was realy good. The Graphics are good, the tricks are alright and it has O.K gameplay. BUT and there's a big but, after a few hours of gameplay it gets really repetitive and boring, every game is basically the same and it is so easy to win, you'll be lucky if they even score a goal against you. It gets sooooo boring you wont play...
Published on 3 Aug 2005 by tam133


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 5 April 2005
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
Having been brought up on a diet of fifa 20001,2,3,4 and pro-evolution etc etc I wasn't quite sure about these new "street" style games? (Bought it at the same time as NBA street 3, basketball). Lotta money £70 quid!
However THIS IS BRILLIANT....... THEY ARE BOTH BRILLIANT!!!
The action is fast, furious, fenetic....
I don't agree with anyone who says it's slow???
It'll take me quite some time to master all the moves but from the outset it's awesome even using simple button skills learnt from past footy games.
The graphics are simply stunning, sound effects incredible. I'd imagine the commentary wouldn't be everyones cup of tea but i'm sure it can be turned off.
In my humble yet honest opinion i'd recommend this game to anyone. It has no faults for me.
Some will question the long term playability?.....well that's the nature of this genre of game in my opinion.
Maybe when you've won the title once that's it for you. For me though this is such a fresh and exciting new step for console football it'll do nicely for a very long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That ball is burnin!!!, 9 Oct 2005
By 
John Shonfield "Short Bloke" (English in Brussels) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
come on peps. FIFA street is a top game and no mistake. Everything about it is brilliant. The train spotters out there will always find something to complain about. This game is excellent. Top music, top graphics, top gameplay, top idea!! I suppose it could do with a few more modes but thats coming up in FIFA street 2... oh yeah!!! Some say the moves get repedetive... well you control the moves dudes and yeah the same thing happens alot but what do you expect? Once you get Ronaldinho and Rooney its all over anyway. If you love footy. Just go buy this game. Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fast, furious and tricky!, 30 Mar 2005
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
When i say tricky i do not mean that it is a difficult game, i mean it's full of tricks. The game is far from difficult, it is easy for anyone to pick up and go, it is especially good for those new to football games because the range of things you can do is incredible. It's aim is not to be a football simulator, this is EA Big (SSX 3, NFS etc), the focus is mainly on making eveything as cool and next to impossible. However, it does lose a star because in my opinion it is not the greatest football game ever, sure enough it goes back to it's roots but that isn't enough to make it better than the Pro Evo games for instance. That is not to say that FIFA street is bad because it is far from it, it is modern, the music is cool and it gets your heart racing. It is much faster than any other footy game so the thrill is in the right place, in that aspect it is better than other footy games but the formula that others have is not quite here, it is different and meant to be.
So, if you are looking for a proper footy game with the right rules and full set of players and realistic play, sure, go for the pro evo series i'd say or try FIFA 2004/2005. But if you are looking for some entertaining tricks and fast gameplay with almost faultless character realism, go for FIFA street because it is original and packed with goodies, design your own character, team and go succeed on the street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIFA STREET 10 out of 10., 11 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game. It is all about skills and tricks and making your opponent look like a fool. This is a 4 aside football game.

You can play as England,Brazil,Portugal,Argentina and many many more. You can also play RULE THE STREET to become FIFA STREET champions. You start off in the South of France and work up from there. You make your own star player and can upgrade him. The best part is buying the players,you pay and then versus them in a game and if you win he is yours,and you can buy James,Buffon,Henry,Ronaldinho,Beckham,Owen,Rooney,C.Ronaldo.

Super you must buy it.

Also here is some advice PLAY OR BE PLAYED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FOOTBALL - URBAN STYLE, 12 Oct 2007
By 
S. Le Grice (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
Gone are the polished corporate stadiums of lesser games, in Fifa Street you play in the neighbourhood. From the picturesque riverbanks of Roma in Italy to the gritty shanty towns of Brazil through to a disused railway shed in London. In all there are ten locations scattered throughout the world with all but three needing to be unlocked before they can be played on. The attention to detail is astounding with the statue de Christo Redentor overlooking the Rio de Janeiro pitch and the urban graffiti in plentiful supply in the old Manhattan basketball court subpoenaed for footballing purposes.

* The Worlds Best Players *

Depending on what sort of game you choose to play you can either create your own player or choose from the very best the world has to offer. If you decide to play an International game you can choose from 16 players from each of the 15 featured nations. The superstars are all listed with Beckham, Ronaldo, Raul, Henry et al all looking like their real life selves. Players have skill levels attached to them again depending on their reputations in the real world and these can be both increased or decreased after a good or bad game. If you are playing in the "rule the streets" mode there is the option to buy players from all over the globe, this depends on reputation and skill points earned in matches with only the less well known players available at the start.

* Creating a Player *

This is a fun little aside to the main game which allows you to create a player from scratch. With a few button presses and the occasional stick wiggle you can choose between a sculpted six-pack and a belly to make a pregnant woman jealous. Eyes, ears, nose and mouth can be as big or small as you like and positioned in all manner of freaky ways. One of the funniest bits is choosing a hairstyle with the many Beckham cuts joined by old classics like the mullet and the pudding bowl, you can also choose hats if you find your chosen hairstyle just a little too scary. Other clothing accessories include glasses and gloves not to mention a plethora of branded boots, shirts and shorts. And finally the must have for any self respecting overpaid footballer - the tattoo. You can cover your players' arms and torso with all manner of interesting or just bizarre offerings, from a scorpion on the chest to a cross like thingy on the back, a nice nod to real players and their body decorations by the creators of the game.

* Matches *

Games can be preset to last anything from 6 to 12 minutes or to finish when a certain number of goals are reached. Referees, throw ins and stoppages are all banished in favour of bare bones football at its rawest as four-a-side teams get down and dirty. Balls can be bounced off the walls or fences while simply passing the ball and shooting is shunned in favour of all manner of trickery and high jinx. Fouling is allowed with the tackle from behind not only allowed but actively encouraged and making a fool of your opponent with a nutmeg or skinning is rewarded with points. In the "rule the street" mode a global map is shown with locations unlocked if you progress in a winning way.

* Tricks & Flicks *

Performing tricks and skills is what sets Fifa Street apart from traditional football games, with more buttons on the PS2 controller given over to fancy moves than actually just kicking the ball. Using the right side control stick and various button combinations reveals a multitude of tricks which when used together amass trick points to push a combo meter into the red. When this happens you are able to employ the "Gamebreaker" feature which is a full force slow motion shot that would break the net if there were any. For those who struggle with too many buttons to press a simple tap of the triangle button performs a random trick worthy of a Brazilian striker.

* Sound *

In keeping with the whole Urban/raw feel the soundtrack is hip hop and trance based with a little world music thrown in for good measure. The likes of Fatboy Slim, Dizzy Rascal and SL2 are all featured to provide a thumping beat and catchy loop to play football to. And then there's the in game commentary, provided for some unknown reason by So Solid Crew member Harvey. Although his faux Jamaican rude boy comments are amusing the first couple of times you hear them it quickly becomes boring, safe to say he is no John Motson. Thankfully you can switch him off! The football sounds themselves are good if unremarkable, the realistic twang as your players bounce the ball off the perimeter fence and the thwack as the ball hits a makeshift crossbar remind you that this is a football game at heart.

* Graphics *

The graphics are good in Fifa Street which is a boon; the locations look very much of the area they are in and the players are easily recognisable. Numerous clothing items can be bought to make your team look better and they scroll well in the heat of a game. There are however not too many facial expressions to be found, you'd expect a player who had just nutmeged two players and then scored from twenty yards with a back-heel to display some sort of emotion but alas the players always look like their favourite Gran has just passed away. Other than that the graphics are as polished as any other football game with shading and colour used to good effect.

* Gameplay *

Once you get over the fact that this is not your usual football game there is a lot of fun to be had. Controls are awkward at first but get easier over time but they always seem a little on the sluggish side, once mastered though the ball does pretty much all you ask it to. The "rule the streets" option adds a little structure to the whole game while the one off internationals are better for practice or quick matches. All game data can be saved and the game is multiplayer compatible using a multi-tap add-on. A huge disappointment though is that Fifa Street is not playable online, with the area of online gaming growing fast this has to be seen as a missed opportunity by the makers and a limit to the games appeal for online gaming junkies.

* Difficulty *

Of course it depends on what team you choose to be and their skill points, but generally the players perform as they would skill wise in the real world. In my International games playing as England I have managed to soundly beat South Korea and Denmark while getting thrashed by the likes of Italy and Brazil. Once you master the controls and learn how to put a sequence of tricks and passes together the game becomes easier, which in turn leads to winning games, gaining skill and reputation points and unlocking better players, sportswear and locations. Goalkeepers are not invincible which means score lines approaching double figures, but better that way than not being able to breach the opponents goal at all.

* Is it child friendly? *

Absolutely, indeed the most offensive thing I've witnessed while playing Fifa Street is the hairstyles in "create a player" mode. The people at esrb.org have certified it as suitable for everyone with no swearing, violence or sexual content present - a good child friendly game then.

* Conclusion *

There's little doubt that Fifa Street is a great game, it's just not quite a brilliant game. If you are happier playing your football in an alley than a proper pitch then the game will suite well. The instruction manual is largely superfluous as you learn the controls on the job and the numerous skills are fun once you master them. But for the doughy controls, the irritating commentary and lack of online play this would be a five star game, as it is I still recommend it with four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good short term, 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
FIFA Street is real fun when you first play it but unfortunately it gets a little boring after a while.
The graphics are smooth, the moves look great and in the short term it really is fun to play, even coming close to pro evo level.
But after a week of playing it myself i'd lost interest as it just gets repetitive and there aren't a huge amount of game options.
The ideas are good, and it has a good first impact, but i wouldn't recommend spending too much money on it as it may become one of those games that just ends up on the shelf collecting dust.
Overall I'd reccomend renting it, buying it cheap, or buying and selling when you're through with it.
Of course if you don't lose interest in it then it's money well spent :-) but me and my mates all have the same oppinion that its only a great game for a short amount of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Street Hits It Spot On, 31 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought FIFA Street a few days ago - and my first impression was a good one. The object of the game is for you to create a player and try and rule the streets. You start of with a squad of 8 and play 4 vs. 4 matches to try and work your way up to the top. Winning tornuments means you can unlock different venues. You pay to play "Upgrades" so although you start of with poor players you buy better ones - and you get credits to improve your player too.
The gameplay is also impressive. It's like SSX Tricky for football. The game is full of all the big names in football - Henry, Ronaldo etc. This game allows you to watch your players pull of moves Ronaldinho would be proud of, and, the more you do fancy tricks the more points you get, and the more respect you get from the Street.
I think it's a great first street game from the FIFA Series and a welcome alternative to the usual football games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street Style At Its Very Best, 12 May 2005
By 
Mr. R. M. Trezise (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
FIFA Street is unique and extremely different to life on the grass of normal FIFA games. FIFA Street is completely about tricks and scoring. There are no rules, so there are big-crunch tackles left, right and centre. Personally, i prefer this to the original pitch-style FIFA Football brings you. EA Sports have tried NFL Street and NBA Street and FIFA Street is by far the best. If you want fun, long-term, i suggest Pro Evolution 4 or FIFA 2005, not that FIFA Street doesnt bring long-term fun, but it gets quite boring - doing the same thing over and over again. The controls are relatively easy to master, and with such superstars as Raul, Christiano Ronaldo, Iker Casillas and Jay Jay Okocha (plus many more), the game is very entertaining and fulfilling - well worth the price tag.
The game plot is awesome too - you create a player with a low level rating, choose 5 other players - low quality of course, players like Clinton Morrison, Brad Friedel, etc. and you built your team up to superstar level. Along the way, you earn points to get better players and unlock clothing and accessories. With a soundtrack of Dizzee Rascal, Fatboy Slim and more, there are hard hitting beats too - Enjoy. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!, 21 April 2005
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
Someone, please, shoot me! Daaaamn! I can't contain myself. To tell you the truth, I never bothered about this game, which was a little nasty of me since I'm a huge FIFA Fan. Anyway, just today, I went over to my mate's place and got to play it with him. He beat me 5-2 the first time, then I beat him 5-0 on the second. We played it 6 times (we had lectures later on so we couldn't continue) and he won in most.
Anyway, I was totally blown away - so much, that after my lectures, I got me a copy. And I have to say this: DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMN! This is by far one of the best things EA has ever made!
GO EA!!!!!! YOU ROCK!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa Street, 3 Feb 2006
This review is from: FIFA Street (PS2) (Video Game)
WOW man its da best game on the playstation 2 (if u like football), it's got style, da moves and the looks. It'll keep u hooked for ages, the day i bort it i was on it till 2 in the mornin. It makes it better with real players and its quality graphics jus make it awesome. Challenges are brilliant and creating ur profile is wkd, u can be so realistic.
If u like Fifa '06 but feel it lacks style then Fifa street is ur game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA Street (PS2)
FIFA Street (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews