Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching
Lovely filming, Maggie Smith at her best, heartwarming story with some dark flashbacks, great scenery (Italy). Watch it on a rainy Sunday afternoon with a glass of wine. Timothy Spall surprised with a good Irish accent. Not what we had expected and we enjoyed it very much. A light touch from the director and the best from the cast.
Published on 20 Feb 2006 by Janice Minton

versus
67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely film
After reading a review (and only after I had ordered the film), I was really disappointed and not looking forward to watching this film. I was very pleasantly surprised when I found the film to be a good one - it was poignant, touching, the acting was very good, the scenery was marvellous and I thought the storyline was a good one.
Don't be put off by negative...
Published on 18 April 2005


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 20 Feb 2006
By 
Janice Minton "janice2728" (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely filming, Maggie Smith at her best, heartwarming story with some dark flashbacks, great scenery (Italy). Watch it on a rainy Sunday afternoon with a glass of wine. Timothy Spall surprised with a good Irish accent. Not what we had expected and we enjoyed it very much. A light touch from the director and the best from the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle film full of sympathy and understanding, 27 May 2007
By 
M. A. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
The scenery was breathtaking with Maggie Smith's acting adding spice and interest. Not a film for people who prefer violence and action. The gentleness and understanding of the characters who through tragedy became close friends, the wonderful sun drenched scenery and the charm and character of the beautiful house all added to the delight. A most watchable and enjoyable film to savour. Thank goodness there are directors who have the courage to continue to make films of this calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


184 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Treat, 18 April 2005
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
Contrary to the previous reviewer's opinion, I found this film riveting - perhaps the pace of modern films has created a generation that simply do not appreciate the beauty of a dialogue based film over the all action blockbuster.
The acting is outstanding, particularly from Ronnie Barker, showing just how he could have been a great straight actor as well as a wonderful comic one ,Timothy Spall , despite a somewhat suspect accent, is terrific whilst Maggie Smith is quite stunning.
Unquestionably, however, the glorious scenery is the real star and the superb photography throughout does it full justice.
Overall, an excellent adaptation of the novella by William Trevor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY HOUSE IN UMBRIA, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this film on television I had to purchase a copy. It is such a pleasure to watch a film, which is not only superbly cast but having such as intriguing story. The film is a must, superb script and stunning acting. The way the characters become webbed together to form deep friendships is a pleasure to watch.
I can only copy one of the other comments on this website “Who can fault Maggie Smith and Ronnie Barker - set against the Italian countryside even more perfect”. It is also fitting to see Ronnie Barker’s last major role, what a superb actor, what a superb film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 31 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
Maggie Smith and Ronnie Barker work so wonderfully together in this beautiful film. Every expression on Maggie Smith's face reveals a different aspect of her character, and Ronnie Barker's straight perfomance (as opposed to his usual comedy) is perfect. The scenery is luxurious - the image of the meal on the terrace on a summer evening is one to brighten even the coldest of winter days! The story itself, though simple, is very touching and so many elements of it are revealed without words. Maggie Smith gently stroking the spines of her books and talking of them, unaware that the man to whom she was speaking has left the room is so poignant. It's a truly feel-good film with excellent actors and glorious settings!

Most Beautiful Princess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very absorbing film, 11 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know which film the previous writer watched, but this film is beautiful to watch, amazing to listen to and fascinating to become involved in. The sensitive way each character becomes dependent on the others and the unravelling of their life stories is absolutely brilliant.
Who can fault Maggie Smith and Ronnie Barker - set against the Italian countryside even more perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My House in Umbria, 29 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film with brilliant performances by all but notably Maggie Smith and Ronnie Barker. It is poignant and moving and there are many messages coming through the storyline. Beautiful scenery throughout - drama at its best! It exceeded expectations in all areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sun drenched evening, 5 Mar 2007
By 
David Carter (Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the film centering on events resulting from a terrorist's bomb, it nevertheless provided a gentle evening's entertainment, steeped in Umbrian countryside and sunshine. Most of the characters were straight out of Agatha Christie with clearly marked goodies and baddies so it wasn't really necessary to worry about who to like and dislike. Nearly everyone warranted our sympathy which was easy to give in that warmth.

A simply nice film for a winter's evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpe Diem, 11 Aug 2006
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
I was recently asked which actresses I liked most and I replied: The three Dames and Julie Walters! Of course the three Dames are Judy Dench, Helen Mirren and Maggie Smith!

See this movie and you understand why Maggie Smith.

Her performance is first-class, subtle, vulnerable, strong, bizarre and very likeable. It is not an action movie of the American kind, but a soft, gentle, moving picture. It is touching.

Carpe Diem - seize the day. If you watch this movie, you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My House in Umbria, 17 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: My House in Umbria [DVD] (DVD)
A thoroughtly delightful and touching film, Maggie Smith and Ronnie Barker are wonderful, the setting magnificent.
An unuasual storyline of people from different backgrounds thrown together to overcome the trauma of a terrible atrocity, in the serenity of Maggie Smith's house in Umbria, a healing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My House in Umbria [DVD]
My House in Umbria [DVD] by Richard Loncraine (DVD - 2005)
5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews