Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIAGAAWTABH
If you don't have this album then you are missing possibly one of the best rock albums of all time. From the classic Stay with Me to Debris and Chuck Berry's Memphis. The combined talents of Ron, Ronnie, Ian and Rod writing song and tunes that put today's so called stars to shame. A raunchy "That's all you need" completes a fine collection - buy it you'll not regret it.
Published on 18 Aug 2003 by perrysj

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album
Perhaps not as good as Long Player but still vintage Faces. They always seem to be having fun making their music.
Published on 11 July 2011 by AC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIAGAAWTABH, 18 Aug 2003
If you don't have this album then you are missing possibly one of the best rock albums of all time. From the classic Stay with Me to Debris and Chuck Berry's Memphis. The combined talents of Ron, Ronnie, Ian and Rod writing song and tunes that put today's so called stars to shame. A raunchy "That's all you need" completes a fine collection - buy it you'll not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten star album, 30 Jan 2004
There are very few albums which are indispensable. The Beatles Revolver, Stones Exile on Maine Street and the like. For me, truly great records capture a moment. You listen to them, and they transport you to another place.
The Faces and solo Rod Stewart were never as good as this before or since. From the opening 'Miss Judy's Farm' which is awesome, the songs just get better and better. Their interpretation of Chuck Berry's Memphis Tenessee followed by 'Too Bad' followed by 'That's all you need' will make you feel grateful that you're alive. That's the thing with 'A Nod's as ...'- you feel so alive.
I dug this out of my garage the other day, put it on for the first time in five years and was dumbfounded. How could I leave it in my garage? How dare I deny myself its energy, humour and atmosphere for that long? Shame on me! Shame on you too if you miss out on it.
Buy it, forget about Rod Stewart warbling Tom Waits songs, turn the volume up and listen to a great rock and roll band sitting at the top of the tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest hour - the lads at their best, 4 Oct 2001
Any album which has such a quirky title is either going to be rubbish, relying on the title to shift units or simply brilliant. This offering from Rod and co is definitely in the latter category.
Mixing the "first one past the post is the winner" bravado of Miss Judy's Farm, Memphis and the anthem Stay with Me together with the Ronnie Lane classics such as Debris and You'r so Rude is a total winning formula.
To me though, the two greats were never really Faces classics - Love Lived Here, Ron Wood at his most laidback, almost soulful and That All You Need which concluded the album with Ron stratocasting furiously into the sunset.
They don't make them like this anymore.The only shame is the CD does not come with the dodgy poster which accompanied the vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you get a 50 year old who has everything-almost.?, 30 Dec 2006
By 
A. Gould "grumpy old geezer" (Sussex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The annual drama of "what do you want for Christmas,dear?", was resolved this year with the this CD. Talk about relive old times. It's fantastic and shows Rod Stewart was good once upon a time! However my two favourite tracks are 'You're so rude' and 'Debris' led by Ronnie Lane with a bit of harmony(?) from Rod Stewart. Additionally the old favourite 'Stay with Me' sounds much better on my car CD than it did on my Mum and Dad's stereogram back in the 70's. Even my 12 year old enjoyed it on his way back from his guitar lesson where he plays The Kooks and The Killers tracks. Highly recommended for 50 year olds everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Faces Best by Far, 1 Aug 2006
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a a terrific album! From the killer opening Miss Judy's Farm, to the great rocker Too Bad and the best ever cover of Chuck Berry's Memphis, this doesn't have a dud track. The production is excellent and the sound is rich, warm, and complements the songs beautifully.

Ronnie Lane's songs are great, too: Debris, You're So Rude and Love Lived Here are wry, funny and as good as anything else on the album.

Rod Stewart once said his goal was 'to 'make the f - - perfect album'. Well, he just about did it with this CD: buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's better than a nod and a wink!, 6 Sep 2001
This has to rate as my favourite Faces album. Rod and company are in top form throughout the whole album. Right from the corking opening number, Miss Judy's Farm right down to the ace Faces anthem, Stay With Me (what great lyrics), this is one Faces album all purveyors and lovers of strong early 70s rock must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality old-fashioned pop rock., 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent combination of personnel from remnants of the Small Faces and Rod Stewart at his peak before he bacame such a big headed prat and left to pursue his solo career. Showcases the writing talents of all of the other members of the group. Easily accessible tunes with simple but top quality musicianship. Ranging from top quality pop rock like Stay With Me (with arguably Top of the Pops first proper 4-letter swear word - listen for it in the background) when Rod was properly enjoying his music instead just trying to make money to an unusual cover version of Chuck Berry's "Memphis". Not a weak track although quite short time wise for a whole album. Enjoy a band at the top of their game. RIP Ronnie Lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod never sounded better than this., 4 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's difficult to imagine a better setting for Rod Stewarts rasping rock vox than in this setting of the best bar room band of them all. This is straight forward, good time rock and roll. Brilliantly played, fabulously sung and with that very special ingredient that separates the best rock bands from those who are only in it for the money.

The Faces were and are still one of the finest exponents of this genre and this album is one of their finest. Yes, as a new fan you could buy the best of, but as any fan will tell you, that only tells you half the story.

Each and every album by bands like Faces, Beatles and the Who for example contains tracks that will jump out at you that wont find their way onto a best of, so what to do? Basically buy them all, sit back and fall in love with rock all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest rock album...ever, 30 Mar 2008
By 
Ian Barnard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Does blood run through your veins? Do you breathe air? Have you got any feelings whatsoever? Yes? Then you cannot possibly fail to love this album. It's not perfect but that's probably what makes it all the better. You could be sitting in the studio with them. This album is the greatest FUN ever. It's the SADDEST ever. It's poingnant (did I spell that right?) and it's riotous. I've decided...it IS the greatest rock album ever. Listen and enjoy. If you're not moved to tears or joy, then you cannot be alive. Thank you Rod, Ron, Plonk, Ian and Kenney. I loved this when it first came out and I love it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 19 Jan 2013
By 
A. J. Morison "Glengarriff" (Helensburgh. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic album of a band at the peak. Rod Stewart when he was a rocker! All at a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews