Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2004
I first heard Survivor singing 'Eye of The Tiger' when i was watching 'Rocky III' and from that moment on i was hooked, not only on that particular song, but on them as a band.
All of the songs on this album are full of life and energy, and as a previous reviewer said, they are all written from the heart. I don't know wether you have a copy of 'The Rocky Story (soundtrack)', but if you have, then you will know what i mean about the songs being very uplifting and motivational.
If you do any kind of sport, especially the more physical ones like Boxing, Wrestling or Martial Arts, then this is a great CD to play before you start training, just to get you in the mood for some really hard training. Even if you are just feeling a bit down in the dumps, or are going through a rough patch in your life, bang this album in the CD player, and it will make you feel much better.
Also, as i have already mentioned, the cover track, 'Eye Of The Tiger' was actually the main song used in Sylvester Stallone's 'Rocky III'. In those days, Suvivor was just setting out, and Stallone, seeing that they had potential, hired them to write and sing a song approprate for the film. It was then that they came up with 'Eye Of The Tiger' and the song reached No 1 in both the US and the UK charts.
Overall a great album with some great tracks, which are guarenteed to inspire and motivate you after hearing them. If you have seen 'Rocky III' and like the song, then buy this CD and i'm sure you will like what your hear.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
here it is, eye of the tiger, put aside the title track and what you have is well crafted songs that are very catchy melodic and easy to sing along to! some of the tracks stand out better than others but its still a class album which has been over shadowed by the title, 'children of the night' is a perfect example as is ' ever since the world began ' another of my favourites is ' one that really matters ' the guitars are beefed up a notch which any guitar player will know frankie sullivan loves the power chords! and this is before bands like metallica and so - on, overall this album is a classic and as said an underrated gem!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
I have just upgraded my old, worn out tape copy to a brand spanking new CD (none of this download mallarkey for me!) and wish I'd done it a lot sooner. Price was very reasonable, sound quality is excellent. All in all it would be a good introduction to a band that are (wrongly) regarded as cheesy owing to 2 songs from the soundtracks to Rocky 3 and 4.

Feels Like Love.....(C'Mon)
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 June 2008
In the UK, Survivor are known for two songs, and the most famous, 'Eye of the Tiger', titles this often all to overlooked album.

Despite 'Tiger' being a monster hit which provided Survivor with their signature tune, there is so much more to enjoy from this classic rock band, who had a string of hit singles in the US throughout the '1980s, whilst most barely caused a ripple in the UK. To hear them all, pick up a copy of the excellent, comprehensive compilation: Ultimate Survivor.

This was Survivor's most successful studio album, where I dare say that a lot of people bought it on the strength of the hit single. Whilst there certainly are some tracks which stand out better than others, there is enough catchy melodic rock to sing along too to merit a four star rate.

Check out 'American Heartbeat', a driving anthem that quickly made it's way to no.17 in the US Billboard Chart, 'Feels Like Love', which is perfect to rock out to, and the ballad 'Children of the Night', all of which make that 'Eye of the Tiger' song sound quite pale in comparison.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2001
The Eye of the Tiger to me is one of the best albums in modern music history. Survivor wrote the songs and lyrics with passion, from the heart . They have a uplifting sense of excitement about them. Me and my friend Ann, played this record over and over and over again, memorising all the words of every song, pretending we were singing them in front of a huge audience. Hearing the songs back, I was surprised I still knew all the words after 10 years. This album is a cross between hard rock and sentimentality. Fantastic. - isabelle, belgium
0Comment9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Nice album. Songs are perfect!! However, there is no lyric booklet.
Review must be at least 20 words....
I can't write that much!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This cd "EYE OF THE TIGER" is a must have cd from whem soundtrack's realy had what they neded , plus it's a great track for driving !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I liked Eye of the tiger so I decided to buy the album, it was worth it because it is a quality album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Gr8 album took me back in time somewhat. Arrived in know time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
I love these tracks so much. They have a certain feel about them which can make you feel expectant and energetic in an instant. Brilliant for anyone going through a difficult relationship or a hard time in life. It will stay in your head and get you back on your feet. Eye of the Tiger rulz!
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.