Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is bananas
Chris Rock is one of America's finest stand ups, not just at the moment, but ever. His act is scathing, hilarious and unwaveringly on the money.

His unique vocal style, his preacher like attitude and immense confidence all add up to a majestic stand up figure. His act, based on the outspoken stylings of his predecessor Richard Pryor, is cutting,...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by boz

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars meh
I like him as an actor but as a comedian, I'm not sure. It was good for a one-time-watch, but not much else
Published 9 months ago by Melissa Holden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Comedy..., 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
... But not for the faint-hearted.

Chris Rock once again delivers world-class comedy. Worth noting before any purchase that his humour can be very dark, and somewhat racially motivated (though in a good way, if you have the intellect to keep up)

Buy it for your student nephew perhaps, but don't buy it for your sainted granny - you'll shock her to an early grave!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but......., 12 Mar 2005
By 
Ronnie Pollock (Glasgow, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Chris Rock is a funny guy. I had bought the previous two HBO specials and was really looking forward to this, so, maybe my disappointment was from having too high expectations.
Never Scared is good but not brilliant, he does a lot of race stuff, he always has, but this time it started to get old. Worth renting rather than buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars America's funniest comedian?, 3 Aug 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this after hearing him do voiceover. This came across as a whinge. I kept thinking he was a preacher. I watched this for 45 mins and didn't laugh once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...., 14 Nov 2007
By 
BP1 "BP1" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Chris Rock has a really individual vocal style and good sense of timing. He is clever, has some interesting insights and at times is funny.
However, his show had fair number of references to American culture (as you would expect) and these don't always travel well. At times I thought Chris was ranting with constant (every 3-5 word) swearing rather than attempting to find the real humour, giving me the impression that his material was a little tired.
If you're a fan and seen live shows before perhaps this is one to rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Black = not funny, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This guy is a loser and his whiney voice makes me want to shoot my self.

If you like this guy, good on you.

i thought i may enjoy this, i was wrong. he is so racist its offensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still complaining??? take responsibitlity for your own life!, 27 Aug 2010
By 
D. MACKENZIE (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
if you like racist anti white tirades, you will love this.
chris loves to complain that its all the white mans fault...
black people can be rich, but not wealthy. Why? cos of evil whitey, of course!!
sorry Chris. are you still complaining?
hmm.. if i brought out a dvd complaining that i cant walk the streets at night because of black gangs - is that racist? probably! so what about a celebrity blaming the problems of his people on another race?
take responsibility for your actions! the world is open to all, stop whining and get on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005]
Chris Rock: Never Scared [DVD] [2005] by Chris Rock (DVD - 2005)
4.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews