Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2010
Bought as a gift and thoroughly enjoyed. Small town mentality at it's best and beautiful hertfordshire countryside. What more could you ask for?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
I ordered this as my birth home and first house after getting married were featured in this DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2006
What a nice series it is! It's nicer than a cake-baking granny whose just been appointed executive director for niceness in Nice International plc. Unfortunately all this niceness does come at a price, as the storylines are very weak and often enough the characters are a bit two-dimensional (especially the Jack Douglas "grumpy farmer with a heart of gold" character). This series is really about wallowing in gooey, sweet, yummy nostalgia, which is no bad thing, although they sometimes lay it on a bit thick. So one star knocked off for that.

I also knocked a star off for picture quality. A couple of years ago, I would have accepted the kind of quality on these DVDs, but in a way Network DVD has made a rod for its own back by doing such a good job of remastering some programmes. I've seen the remastered Sweeney and Sykes DVDs, and they are absolutely tremendous. Unfortunately, this series looks quite washed out or muddy in places. Colour balance is also awful in a few scenes, which look as if they were shot with a green or yellow filter on the lens. Editing is quite amateurish, and in one episode you even get a "COMMERCIAL BREAK" sign flashed up for no apparent reason. But at least the series was shot on film and not videotape, so it does have the look of a classy (and expensive) production. It's just a shame they couldn't have put a bit of that money into writing better scripts.

All in all, not perfect but very good value for money.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Just browsing through odd things i half remembered, came across this beautifully crafted selection of stories from Shillingbury.
Many things you half remember turn out to be a big dissapointment when reviewed later in life,Not so with this wonderful collection of charectors and their stories.
Whatever happened to Diane Keen and Robin Nedwell ?
When one considers the rubbish that has been spoon fed to us over the last 20 years,Thank god somebody had the foresight to ensure that the original recordings have survived.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
A part of England that is fast disappearing. So gentle, yet believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Loved this series and couldn't believe I could manage to buy the DVDs'
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
this series is excellent i enjoyed it very much wd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Excellent service, great product - recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Utterly charming and nostalgic, not dated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)