Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!
Sledge is at last coming to PAL. I have the region 1 release and have been desperately awaiting a release that wasnt NTSC. This is a great boxed set with some great extras, including a new making of with new interviews with the cast and creator Alan Spencer, Spencer also does commentary on 4 Eps, and they are among the best you will hear on any DVD I assure you. 22...
Published on 6 Dec 2004 by M. Mccorquindale

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2/3 cheesy cop show, 1/3 pant-wetting hilarious
I was always a bit weary of buying this on dvd, because although I could rememeber the theme tune and general concept, I couldnt remmeber if actually liked it when I was younger. The result is a mixed bag and anyone considering buying this should have a good think.
David Rasche is terrific as the Dirty Harry-like who loves excessive force and violence, although he...
Published on 11 Sep 2005 by M. JONES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Cult favorite!, 5 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There are some hilarious episodes in this box, like the ones where police station is surrounded by a team of Satan occultists or when Sledge has to deal with his handsome brother, which alone worth the price of it. Not to mention, that it comes in a luxury box with a booklet included and full information on every episode. Great bargain for this '80s comedy series about a misogynistic, barbaric cop and his associate, who happens to be a lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Magnum Opus! ;o) Well, Series 1 anyway, 17 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
First series where we are introduced to Inspector Sledge Hammer, his partner (his magnum) and his other partner Detective Dori Doreau. Captain Trunk, Sledge's boss, is always shouting "Hammer! In my office now!!!" and guzzling Pepto-Bismol for his ulcer.
Hammer is, however, cool as a cucumber and psychopathic to boot.
A great 80's TV show brought to DVD. Subtitles provided along with lots of laughs. Great price too!
Go on, you know you want it!
Trust me, I know what I'm, doing! ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2/3 cheesy cop show, 1/3 pant-wetting hilarious, 11 Sep 2005
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was always a bit weary of buying this on dvd, because although I could rememeber the theme tune and general concept, I couldnt remmeber if actually liked it when I was younger. The result is a mixed bag and anyone considering buying this should have a good think.
David Rasche is terrific as the Dirty Harry-like who loves excessive force and violence, although he never actually kills any criminals in the show. The funniest moments include Hammer's blowing-up-building-to-nail-sniper strategy and his one liners; when asked if he's using a silencer - "its my own design, I call it a loudener".
Harrison Page I feel sorry for because his portrayal of Capt Trunk has been since done to death (the shouting black polica captain act with a constant disdain of his detectives). Ann-Marie Martin is also likeable as Hammer's rational partner, Dori Dorreau.
The problem with this series now is that it's dated terribly and it feels as though you have to sit through 20 minutes of corny cop show to see five or ten minutes of absolute comedy genius which is why I can only say three stars for it as some episodes are pretty awful, "If I had a Little Hammer" springing to mind.
What might be the problem is that there are so many spoofs now that you forget this was original for its time - if you can get past that, then you'll enjoy this boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust me I know what I'm Doing, 2 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Took this to work recently (my job involes lots of waiting around), collegues there thought that there was something wrong with me due to all the laughter coming from the TV room. If you've never seen Sledge Hammer you are missing a treat, he's Dirty Harry crossed with Frank Drebin, a man who talks to his gun and lets his gun do the talking. Criminally funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sledge Hammer - Series 1, 8 Feb 2005
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Superb, these are extremely funny to watch. Well acted with brilliantly funny scripts. You MUST buy this set.
Great parody of the Dirty Harry films. At the amazon price they are a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd -dreadful condition!, 24 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd -dreadful condition, I won't be using these again! Arrived quickly, I was under the impression that it would be near new, instead it looked like Torvill and Dean had been on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I remembered, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Sylvester Stallone's mum, milk, 80's fashion and Top Gun - all things that don't age well. Now I can add Sledgehammer to that list. It's a perfectly good dvd transfer but the original material is nowhere near as funny as I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars remember this !, 21 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What can i say ? BRILLIANT! those of you now in your thirties will remember this great tv series . It was on in the early hours of the morning after "the hitman and her" ,we used to rush home from the nightclub to watch it . Still as good as it was then even without alcohol !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 15 Aug 2005
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
SLEDGE HAMMER! is highly recommended for those of us who like shows filled with wackiness, sarcasm, violence, and nihilism. It is a splendid alternative to more usual (and bland) sitcoms. In spite of the lunacy inherent in the show, the characters and the scripts make it quite believable and entertaining.
Alan Spencer did a fantastic job in his choice of actors: Dave Rasche (Sledge Hammer), Anne-Marie Martin (Dori Doreau), and Harrison Page (Captain Trunk). His guest actors are also fun to watch.
Overall, well-executed story concepts and character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 27 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must buy.you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD]
Sledge Hammer - Series 1 [DVD] by David Rasche (DVD - 2005)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews