Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godidog - Gruff ni'n mo'yn rhagor!
Unwaith yn rhagor ma Gruff Rhys wedi creu campwaith, a hynny, medde fe, ar hast ac mewn brys mewn cyfnode recordio gwasgaredig (!) Wi wrth fy modd gyda'r albwm 'ma; digon o amrywiaeth ar hyd rhychwant gerddorol eang iawn sy'n ymestyn o synnau eitha peiriannol i arddull amrwd a gwych iawn. Ma traciau fel 'Ni yw y Byd' yn rili gafaelgar ac yn fiwsig i joio mas, tra bo...
Published on 3 Mar 2005 by Brenig

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good songs, minimal production
This is not unlike SFA's welsh album Mwng, but if that album was stripped down then this one is completely naked. A couple of the tracks are just Gruff's voice and a drumbeat and the whole thing is only 30 minutes long.
The songs are good, but really this is little more than a demo. If you liked Mwng then you will like this (and it probably sounds better if you can...
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by Liam Kennedy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good songs, minimal production, 14 Feb 2005
By 
Liam Kennedy "shweeney" (dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth (Audio CD)
This is not unlike SFA's welsh album Mwng, but if that album was stripped down then this one is completely naked. A couple of the tracks are just Gruff's voice and a drumbeat and the whole thing is only 30 minutes long.
The songs are good, but really this is little more than a demo. If you liked Mwng then you will like this (and it probably sounds better if you can speak welsh). If you prefer SFA's more polished albums then you might be better off waiting for their new release later in the spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godidog - Gruff ni'n mo'yn rhagor!, 3 Mar 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Unwaith yn rhagor ma Gruff Rhys wedi creu campwaith, a hynny, medde fe, ar hast ac mewn brys mewn cyfnode recordio gwasgaredig (!) Wi wrth fy modd gyda'r albwm 'ma; digon o amrywiaeth ar hyd rhychwant gerddorol eang iawn sy'n ymestyn o synnau eitha peiriannol i arddull amrwd a gwych iawn. Ma traciau fel 'Ni yw y Byd' yn rili gafaelgar ac yn fiwsig i joio mas, tra bo traciau fel yr ail wneuthuriad o 'Chwarae'n Troi'n Chewerw' yn fath o beth allwch chi wrando arno fe yn y gwely. Ffantastic!
Gruff Rhys has done it again, you know what to expect by now don't you? My English friends didn't mind that the record is Welsh medium - one said that it was a much more organic experience to hear Gruff in his first language. Unique and great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet tight package, 20 Jun 2005
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
This album is only 29 minutes long, which is good so you can listen to it more than 48 times in one day. Although I have no idea what any of the songs mean, each one has a beautiful tight melody that most bands couldn't even approach, along with excellent song construction and production. I strongly reccomend this album, especially to people who enjoy the SFA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic warrior! Rock on!, 23 Mar 2006
By 
C. Whitworth "juliehill87" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Why does all the best music come out of Wales?
This brings out the Celt in me. Gruff Rhys is one of lifes absolute pleasures.Super Furries.....Gorky's....Euros Childs.....my heart is a flutter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gruff is a genius, 19 Jan 2006
By 
Chris Duncan "comedy tester" (oop north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
We all know what to expect from Gruff and the Furries by now. Beautiful harmonies, uplifting instrumentals and lyrics from bizzare to thought provoking and sometimes moving. What Gruff does on his first solo album is showcase his truly beautiful voice and sonwriting ability. I have no idea what inspires him but he keeps coming back with these really haunting and soulful tunes. I actually found myself semi-singing along to one of the songs, even though its in Welsh!
He is a true hero of British music, constantly original and fuelled by an integrity that is dedicated to music, not money. This album, although short, is a real joy as you discover the hidden treasures throughout the album the more you listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review fi, 22 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Mae'r album yma yn brilliant dylse pawb ei brynnu! Mae'r caneuon i gyd yn dda on mae 'Ni yw y Byd' a 'Pwdin Wy 2' yn ffantastic. Does dim un can gwael.
This album is brilliant. You don't have to umderstand welsh to enjoy it. Every song is amazing, but 'Ni yw y Byd' and Pwdin Wy 2' is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 10 Feb 2005
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth (Audio CD)
The best solo album you'll find. Gruff has so many ideas. He makes astute observations in between comic lines, tounge-in-cheek comments and plays on words. Tou probably won't get that if you're not a Welsh speaker but the music is still fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripped Bear, 30 Jun 2005
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth (Audio CD)
This is quite possibly THE greatest solo effort ever to have been recorded, and I'm not just saying that because I'm a SFA fan. I pre-ordered Yr Atal Genhedlaeth ages before it's release, & months down the line after recieving it, it has been played at least once a day, every day.
A beautiful & brilliant masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 1 Feb 2005
This review is from: Yr Atal Genhedlaeth (Audio CD)
In a word - fantastic!!
Gruff plays all the instruments and you can tell that he really put his heart and soul into this record.
An original, melodic, beautiful album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews