Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece Sweet, 8 Dec 2006
By 
A. Jackson "DVFM" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
"Sweet Fanny Adams" is a stadium rock album of monster proportions. Except on its release in 1974, the teenyboppers found it too loud and heavy metal and the serious rock fans still considered Sweet nothing more than a 3rd rate pop band. "SFA" limped into the British album charts for 2 weeks peaking at no.27......

However, time has been kind to Sweet. Both "Sweet Fanny Adams" and the follow-up album "Desolation Boulevard" have been hugely influential on scores of succesful rock bands since - Def Leppard being an obvious example. Sweet's pop grounding coupled fantastic harmonies and powerful riffs show through no better than on this album.

Produced by long-time associate Phil Wainman, "SFA" runs the whole spread of rock's emotions. The opener "Set Me Free" is a rapid-fire rocker that shows off Sweet's vocal strength to its limit. "Heartbreak Today" keeps up the pace with some stunning Andy Scott multi-tracked harmony guitar work.

"No You Don't" one the album's only two Chinn-Chapman songs (the other is "AC/DC") propels the band into progressive rock with synthesisers and cellos (!) coming to the fore, topped off with an emotive Steve Priest vocal. "Rebel Rouser" is a power-chord driven pop-rocker, probably the closest the album has to a huge hit single.

"Sweet FA" is six minutes worth of the most intensive and fluid riffing ever put to tape. Scott's guitar work just goes wild on this track. Brian Connolly puts in a commanding vocal and again their vocal harmonies are absolutely spot-on. "Restless" is fairly laid back although the pounding drums of Mick Tucker carry the song along well. And "Into The Night" is another power-chord fest featuring double-tracked Andy Scott vocals.

Only a cover of Joey Dee's "Peppermint Twist" lets the album down, and is probably a nod to record company's wishes for a watered-down pop 45, but the band played this on stage at the time and sound as though they're having a riot recording it.

On listening to this album and feeling the power and intensity of the performances, you're left wondering WHY Sweet didn't go on to become huge?? Pete Townshend was so impressed with their live show he offered them second-on-the-bill behind The Who at Charlton in 1974, except Brian Connolly was badly injured in a street fight and Sweet were unable to play. Also in 1974, a band with a similar style to Sweet's came along - broke all the rules that Sweet were capable of breaking and went on to become the biggest British band seen since The Beatles. They were called Queen.

But rock music in the mid-70s didn't come much better than this. Don't miss it this time round either.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously remastered Glam Rock original., 22 Mar 2006
By 
S. Dinsdale (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
For those kids of ten like me who bought the massive selling Blockbuster/Hellraiser/Ballroom Blitz singles of 1973, a real revelation came when flipping these singles over to discover magnificently played hard-rock gems like Need A Lot Of Lovin' and Burning. This album is an extension of that ethic (with a couple of brief diversions into bubblegum). `Set Me Free' and `Sweet F.A.' are both magnificent productions which showcase the chops this band had from the outset. The sound (remastered by guitarist Andy Scott) is magnificent. The peerless drumming of the sadly missed Mick Tucker is worth investigating by anyone who thinks that Bonham/Paice/Moon were the last word. As well as the album you get the classic three singles, and their B-Sides including the flip of Blockbuster (Need A Lot Of Lovin') in its correct version at last. This is a bargain ! When you've picked this one up, get Desolation Boulevard (with even more singles and B-Sides) and Give Us A Wink . This band will maybe always be left out of the rock pantheon but those in the know know better don't we? The Darkness ? Don't make me laugh !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE SWEET ALBUM: SWEET FANNY ADAMS, 3 July 2003
By 
Derek J. Liddard "PSYCHODEREK" (South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
Although there is not one hit single featured on this album I recommend it as the best thing Sweet ever recorded.Out to prove themselves as more than a "singles band" they surpassed themselves both with songs and overall production which was handled by Phil Wainman.The album opens with the swirling, metallic "Set Me Free" written by guitarist Andy Scott (covered in the 80`s by Saxon on "Crusader") and I remember as a thirteen year old climbing the walls with excitement. Hellraiser and Ballroom Blitz only hinted that the band were capable of these sounds."Heartbreak Today", the second track has a Zeppelinisque riff and Connolly`s vocals have real depth and feeling. Once again the production makes your hi-fi sound ten times better than it probably really is.Next track "No You Don`t" was sung by Steve Priest, bassist and was covered later by Pat Benatar on her first album. Very angry, aggresive song complete with cellos reminiscent of the Rolling Stones on "19th Nervous Breakdown"."Rebel Rouser" and "Peppermint Twist" are probably the poppiest tracks the album has to offer. One of them was a big hit for the band in Australia (can`t remember which however!)"Sweet F.A." is the epic of the album at over 6 minutes long. It ROCKS! Heavier than any of the supposedly heavy bands of the time! Scary for little Mary I`d say!"Restless", again sung by Steve - a great stage favourite - a bitlike Free`s "Alright Now"."Into The Night", the next track was written and sung by Andy Scott and is reminiscent of something from Deep Purple`s "In Rock" album.The album offficially closes with "AC/DC" (rumoured to be where a certain Australian band took their name.) A song about bi-sexuality!!! This CD version of the album has some bonus track which were initially hard to get hold of B sides that indicated this monster of an album might be in the hearts of this greatly underrated band.If you love Seventies rock music, if you love great playing, if you love a well produced album, if you ever wondered what Sweet were really all about - THIS IS THE ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet at their best, 24 Jan 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
Sweet F.A in my opinion is the best LP these guys made,I bought this record when it first came out in 1973 and up until a couple of years ago when my record deck packed in I was still playing it,,,all be it with a load of scratchs on!!!!
All the songs have stood the test of time,, the opening track Set Me Free is a cracker and sets the very high standard for the rest of the cd.Heartbreak Today is my favourte,great sounding guitar,No You Don't is written by Chinn/Chapman but is nothing like the hits they wrote for Sweet,Mud and Suzie Quatro to name a few,this song has a real edge to it,Rebal Rouser is a kind of Hellraiser type tune,Peppermint Twist is Sweet having a bit of fun with an old classic,the title track is just over six minutes of pure rock with a blinding guitar solo at the end,Restless nice sounding chores,In To The Night is a darker interesting song and AC-DC is an all out get up and dance track which closes the original LP.
The bonus tracks include 3 B sides which again show that Sweet could not just turn out so called bubble gum records made just for the charts and a few weeks on top of the pops.
All in all I would totaly recommend this cd for not just Sweet fans but for people who like easy to listen to music with a bit of edge in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet at their best, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
The Sweet had a rep for pop songs and fancy costumes. This album showed the world that The Sweet were a lot more than that. The 'B' sides of their singles hinted at more but this was the album that really did it for me. Some people describe this period as "The rock years". To me it was simply excellent. I can always remember as an impressionable 10 year old playing "Set Me Free" and "No You Don't" at high volume wondering if the neighbours would complain. They didn't but to this day I still love this album and I still play it as loud as I can get away with. The only two tracks that don't really fit on this album to me are "Peppermint Twist" and "Rebel Rouser" but the rest are superb stuff.
It is easy to see the influence that The Sweet had over bands like Def Leppard when you listen to this album (Am I right Joe?)
If you like rock music and you like The Sweet then this is simply a must have album. Buy it, turn up the volume, and watch out for the neigbours...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet's hard centre!, 19 Jan 2005
By 
J. Crampton "Jamie Crampton, Film nut" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
As any Sweet fan will tell you there was always more to Sweet than the "poppy" singles that crashed into the UK top 10 in those halcyon days when a number 1 meant sales of 250,000 rather than the quantity required these days. The ORIGINAL version of the LP contained not one of those singles, a bold move which semi worked in that Sweet used the success of the singles to expose their harder side on LP. Of the 9 tracks 8 are self-penned group originals, Peppermint Twist being a cover of an early 60s US hit. This reissue, containing the added 6 tracks, 3 classic singles plus the respective B sides, is a must-buy for any Sweet fan or anyone looking to explore their less poppy side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Bustin Out The Heavy Artillery, 19 Feb 2010
By 
M. DeJesus "HazeFace" (WESTFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
This is THEE Sweet album that hundreds of American bands really soaked in as far as the "Metal" influence, in my opinion. I mean come on! SET ME FREE! Man! Mick Tucker was incredible to say the least. Drummers like John Bonham, get legendary status for obvious reasons. Why Mick Tucker wasn't quite a houshold name is beyond me. It doesn't matter I know he exsisted and to put it bluntly, he WAILED on drums period! The WHOLE BAND did! Heartbreak Today - No You Don't - Into The Night - CLASSIC Hard Rock to the upmost degree! The Bonus tracks rule too - Just for Hellrasier alone. As a huge Sweet fan whos purchased as much music on this band as possible (mostly spotty compilations) it's so good to be able to purchase the actual releases as they were put out, with bonus tracks! You like Hard Rock from the 70's??? This stands up to anything put out by the "well knowns" of the time. Yeah I love me some Purple and Zep but let me tell ya...I'm glad Sweet exsisted and I love the majority of their output,As you may have read in some of my other reviews on their excellent catalog. OK order this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet at their best!, 11 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
Sweet F.A lp was released in Israel in the summer of 1974 and it gained a warm welcome from the music experts/journalists as well by the lovers of rock music. It was a huge surprise that the band, who had reputation of commercial hit makers was capable of creating a masterpiece of fine classy and polished rock songs, most of them self penned and composed. The cover-version of Joey Dee's oldie "Peppermint Twist" carries their unmistakable stamp of power and energy. The cd is remastered with gorgeous sound, and its 2 bonus tracks (singles b-sides from that year) fit very well.
I recommend for any lover of great rock music to buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Music, 17 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
I bought this album in 1974 on the day it was released and haven't tired of it yet. Now BMG have remastered it at last and it sounds as fantastic as it did when I first put it on my turntable. There are no singles on this album, just high quality rock songs. From the opening 'Set Me Free' through to 'AC/DC' it just doesn't let up. There are two Chinn/Chapman songs written in the Sweet style, one cover 'Peppermint Twist' and the rest are band originals. Unfortunately they never topped this album, so if you only buy one Sweet CD, get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rebel Rouser, 2 Feb 2012
By 
John F (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Fanny Adams (Audio CD)
Released in early '74 when their star was beginning to wane 'Sweet Fanny Adams' stands today as a sublimely cool piece of hard rock right down to the cover. I'd go as far as saying that, at the time, this album was superior to the stuff being released by more 'credible', established bands such as Deep Purple and Black Sabbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Fanny Adams
Sweet Fanny Adams by Sweet (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews