Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What The Original Doom 3 Should Have Been
The first thing you notice with Doom 3 : Resurrection Of Evil is that there's far less of hordes of creatures just mindlessly jumping out at you from behind almost every corner as there was in Doom 3.
And that gives you time to actually enjoy the amazing graphics, which are without a doubt the best of any PC game. The level of realism is superb.
It's not quite...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by Karma

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resurrecting old maps!!
I loved Doom3. Fast, raw, sheer wonderful rampant fury!! Unfortunately, IMHO Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil Expansion Pack (PC)resurrects much of the same stuff we found in Doom3. OK now if you want more of the same, fine. But for my money I would have liked more, more, more - different! For example why not explore more of the martian landscape, why not get onboard a...
Published on 1 Nov 2005 by Mr. Mark A. Spriggs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the scariest and best FPS Shooters Ever!!!, 4 Jun 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
Bought this for myself as i had already completed the first doom3 game, excellent game, good carry on to the original with a brilliant ending. If you have completed the first game then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 19 July 2005
By 
Paul (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
well i have to say i had fun playing the first doom the pixels really scared me when i was 8 (seriously!!!) and doom 3 is the best game, story wise, that i have played in a long long time. However you battle your way through gets a bit repeatative, the monster jump out at you at every corner and behind you. i give doom 3, 4 stars
doom 3: resurrection of evil is an enjoyable game and presents a good challange on normal that is still fun but not to hard enough to bore you or make you punch a hole through the wall. i did not complete the game however due to graphics card (FX 5200 Nvidia graphics card) not able to keep up with the game "richly" detailed room and action. D3ROE also lacks a good story line unlike its orignal counter-part there only about 3 PDA audio logs and videos which is what made doom 3 even better and exciting. However the voice acting on doom is still top class. And finaly the duration of the game is...questionable.. there only 8 levels (from the top of my head) and no introduction like doom 3.
so quick conclusion:
good action better then orignal +
not long enough -
lacks a solid story -
needs a solid graphics card -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Doom3 sequel - much much more!, 28 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
I don't know about you but I thought Doom3 was really average - dark, repetitive and not at all frightening. Even the graphics were unremarkable - so the last thing I wanted was more of the same.

Tempted by the price and a couple of good reviews I got RoE and am I glad I did? Yes indeed!

As a previous reviewer says "it's what Doom3 should have been". It's similar but different - it's edgey, it's genuinely scary and it's really demanding without being downright impossible.

It has some new gimmicks - but don't get it for these - the thing is that its obviously been properly game tested this time and the excitement has been engineered into the game by the timing of the challenges and the structure of the maps. The cunning availability of only one save per section also means that sometimes you have to go back and start again.... A genuine challenge this.

Restore your faith - get it, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, MORE DOOM, 16 Nov 2009
By 
E. Cracknell "Edd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
Loved Doom 3 and now i can keep on playing with ROE. Some new great weapons, and monsters will entertain you for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers what the original title didn't, 6 May 2005
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
I was a bit disappointed once Doom III lauched. Arguably, the quality of the lighting etc... were truly amazing but the whole game just didn't quite deliver the chills and frills as the previous versions (Doom I and Doom II)...
Like in RTCW (Return to Castle Wolfenstein), Nerve studios deliver the goods here. The theme is a mix of the usual enemies from Doom III, but the setting and theme are again (like in RTCW) with an archeological twist and the action is more fast paced than in the origial title (Doom III). Getting through the levels is far more challenging and chilling than in the base release. Play it now and experience how Doom III should have been in the first place.
Happy fragging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
was birthday pressie for geek but kept it as good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
great piece of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent but disappointing, 4 Jan 2008
By 
G. Hart (Southend) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
Great graphics just like Doom 3 but I completed the game in a couple of days and wasn't really trying hard. Not as atmospheric as Doom 3 which in parts scared the hell out me! The only real drawback with games like this is the the AI doesn't ever change - you know exactly when the next monster is coming to get you once you have been through a scene a few times. Wouldn't it be nice if there was a more random introduction of bad guys in order to keep you guessing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No activation key in the case., 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. G. McDowall (Stranraer, SW Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
I couldn't play this because there was no activation key in the case as there should be, went elsewhere & got it no problem so not a fault of the product as such but is a fault of the seller. Complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRUNTFUTTOCK, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Peter R. Ferguson "GRUNTFUTTOCK" (CHESTER-LE-STREET, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC) (Video Game)
THIS GAME IS BRILL, GRAFFICS ARE EXCELLENT,GAMEPLAY IS GOOD STORYLINE IS GOOD THERE IS NOT MUCH ELSE THAT COULD BE SAID ABOUT IT. I MUST SAY THAT THIS GAME AND DOOM3 IS NOT FOR THE BEGINNER IN FPS MODE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil - Expansion Pack (PC)
£9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews