Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film through and through
Sonja lives in a small, religious and sleepy German town. Her life is happy and she is regarded well by her teachers and friends. However, one day she wins a European essay writing contest and a trip to Paris. After this she is determined to win the contest again, but the subject this time is 'My home town during the third Reich'. Sonja tries her hardest to find out what...
Published on 15 Jun 2006 by Alice Hyde

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Crappy Transfer
I thought this film was amazing because of its subtlety, humor and spirit. It was all about great story, direction and acting.

However, the DVD transfer is appalling. The 15/9 original format has been pan and scanned to 4/3, the colors are often muddy, and the subtitles can be unreadable. Please, please, please, will someone redo this transfer so it respects...
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by Ron B.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film through and through, 15 Jun 2006
By 
Alice Hyde (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Sonja lives in a small, religious and sleepy German town. Her life is happy and she is regarded well by her teachers and friends. However, one day she wins a European essay writing contest and a trip to Paris. After this she is determined to win the contest again, but the subject this time is 'My home town during the third Reich'. Sonja tries her hardest to find out what happened during the Nazi reign but locals are hostile and things soon turn nasty. Sonja the good girl is now the nasty girl.

This film is one of my favourite foreign films because it is hilarious, bold and full of frustration. The heroine, Sonja narrates the tale and is a character I can really identify with. She's very funny, and very cheeky and manages to somehow wittle the truth about her town's dealings with the 3rd Reich from the dusty and haughty inhabitants. The film is unusually made with some of the film sets being more like theatre sets with photographic backdrops and few props. Sonja's early memories are black and white which lends the film an atmospheric feel. It's beautifully acted and full of quirky touches, but most importantly whilst funny at the start the film soon developes into a grim story about the struggle to find the truth no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Crappy Transfer, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I thought this film was amazing because of its subtlety, humor and spirit. It was all about great story, direction and acting.

However, the DVD transfer is appalling. The 15/9 original format has been pan and scanned to 4/3, the colors are often muddy, and the subtitles can be unreadable. Please, please, please, will someone redo this transfer so it respects the original?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as nasty as it seems, 1 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
A German high school student, Sonja (Lena Stolze) investigates her town's NSDAP past. Of course this is not a subject that will ender her with the other residence. She may find that they were not so resistant. Let's face it that is a nasty thing for her to do.

The film is well paced and will have you investigating with her. Everyone speaks slow and clear enough that this film could be used in a class on learning German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming to terms with the German past, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
That's what this film is all about. It deals with the serious topic of the German past being covered up in a small German town, yet is very funny in parts. It portrays excellently a small-minded, easily swayed hypocritical small German community who get on your nerves as much as they do Sonya's (main character).Macabre and a film that really makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, but poor video quality, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, but the video quality is reminiscent of a VHS tape, despite being a DVD - perhaps it was transferred off one...

The film starts off very light heartedly with her childhood and then gets rather serious when she starts to investigates the town's forgotten past in the Nazi era. The film does a good job of focusing on the challenges that she faces in revealing the truth rather than focusing on the history, which we could already imagine.

If you've seen other films that deal with the struggle for de-Nazification, such as Der Baader Meinhof Komplex (also a very good film), this will be a refreshing change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I really liked this film. But then I love foreign films. So refreshing to see a slice of real life instead of Hollywood. Good story and pace. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Excellent!, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This theme will take another gereration or two before it works its way out of the German psyche. This film represents profound issues but very cleverly in a less than serious manner. Lena Stolze is marvellous, playing the role with conviction from the age of a young teenager through to embattled mother (she was 33 when the film came out). Bit disappointed with the picture quality and format though. In the Verhoeven interview, there are clips in HD quality in full screen. Pity they could not have remastered the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sort of a Saint...., 26 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I bought The Nasty Girl blind, not knowing either the film, nor director. It was that it had been Oscar nominated and the title and cover suggested something juicy and punky, that the Nasty Girl was indeed, far from being a Saint.

But she is, of sorts. This, my second viewing allowed me to see deeper into the film's structure and message. Lena Stolze, as Sonja, the girl, then a woman who starts out thinking up a subject for her school essay assignment. Teachers always like to patronise their pupils when they show enthusiasm and initiative and so, her project is blessed and praised. At first.

As her task becomes a full-time passion and as she uncovers possible cover ups as to who in the town were Nazis and how far their crimes went, those doors to her, previously so open, are now closed. Director Michael Verhoeven (whose name sounds Dutch but he was born in Berlin) employs a necessary offbeat and humorous approach, sometimes on stylised sets, with back-projected interiors pasted on. There's an air of flippancy throughout and the briskness of the narrative means that we don't ponder too much on a single point before moving on.

The slamming doors become sticks of dynamite and death-threats, which we cannot take that seriously due to semi-comic take on it all. Court cases come up, are won, lost and won again. Inhabitant's opinions change after an accident involving the judge picking pears causes the final case to collapse.

You, like me, may find that there are unanswered questions and ultimately, whilst the journey was fun for most of its time, what really was the point? What did she prove, apart from the fact that she was able to change opinion.

Anyway, a nice little film, not too long and a bit different and also, really quite German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit bizarre, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I bought this film as i am currently doing an a level in German and i wanted to practice my skills at home. However, i was quite disappointed with the film. It is a very bizarre story which seems not to really go anywhere and is quite disjointed. I didn't like the main character at all as i felt frustrated with the choices she made in her life. Who continues when their family are suffering death threats and having bricks thrown through their windows?

The start itself was quite promising, as Sonja enters a writing competition and wins a trip to Paris. I was expecting something more interesting to come out of this bit, but she literally just goes to Paris.
When she enters the writing competition with the theme "my home town during the third Reich" is when the film starts to get strange and she starts to get a bit obsessed about the whole thing.

My advice is if you like slightly bizarre/oddball things, then you will probably enjoy this film and it is useful if you want to practice your German listening skills, but otherwise steer clear of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991]
The Nasty Girl [DVD] [1991] by Michael Verhoeven (DVD - 2005)
6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews