Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest sequels ever!
I do not think I've ever seen a sequel that surpasses the prequel to such a degree as this film does. The opening quarter of an hour of the film is one of the best ever, that engages the attention of the viewer immediately. Action scenes are poignant and dramatically effective at the same time. I believe that the Lakota were far more sensitively portrayed than they were...
Published on 25 Sep 2006 by Mr. James A. Newton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good!!!
I hadn't seen this film in such a long time that I'd completely forgotten it. Whereas the first film, I remembered it all. Speaks volumes doesn't it? I thought I was in for a real treat when I read someone else's raving review, but sadly, it's not a patch on the first one at all!!! Don't get me wrong, it's not awful, as I'll probably watch it again and again. Just don't...
Published 10 months ago by Ian M. Hoggan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest sequels ever!, 25 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. James A. Newton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
I do not think I've ever seen a sequel that surpasses the prequel to such a degree as this film does. The opening quarter of an hour of the film is one of the best ever, that engages the attention of the viewer immediately. Action scenes are poignant and dramatically effective at the same time. I believe that the Lakota were far more sensitively portrayed than they were in 'A Man Called Horse' - when they seemed to do very little than shriek incoherently at each other and everyone else. The scenery and the costumes are great and are very authentic given the detail usually given to most films of this era.

The film begins with Harris returning to America, initially for a year, to visit the Lakota band that enslaved and later adopted him in the 1820's. He finds that his adoptive Yellow Hand people have been slaughtered by a group of trappers and an enemy tribe; the survivors enslaved or driven from their homeland. Harris eventually meets up with the survivors and helps revitalize their spirit enabling them to win back their homeland.

If there is one fault with the film it is this; once again native people need a white man to save the day. If you can disregard this it is an excellent film - my favourite scenes being the Sun Dance and the Yellow Hand women getting the upper hand with the Arikaras!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, but..., 20 Nov 2008
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films. It's a brilliantly structured tale of redemption that thrashes the so-so original hands down. Irvin Kershner so impressed George Lucas with this film that he landed the job of directing 'Empire'. It's not hard to see why as Kershner takes full control of his visuals alternating between stunning vista, large scale action sequences and an effective use of close-up to capture the essence of the moment (Harris' face as he realises the awful truth at the beginning of the movie is a classic, understated scene and speaks volumes).

It's a simple tale: The Yellow Hand tribe that Harris' character, Morgan, used to live with have been driven away from their land by settlers. Now living in an arrid wilderness they consider themselves under a curse from an evil spirit and await a sign to free them.

Meanwhile, back in England, Morgan himself is seeking a sign as he has lost himself in restricting english values and social class systems. Escaping his responsibilities he returns to America only to discover his old friends are in ruin. Shattered, Morgan attempts to rouse their spirits but his own frustrations keep getting in the way.

It is here that 'Return' pulls a nifty bit of plotting. The Yellow Hands first save Morgan from himself (at least the first hour is a spiritual journey) and then Morgan helps save the Yellow hands from their enemies. The ending is such an uplifting experience, sans dialogue, with Laurence Rosenthal's beautiful score ably supporting the 'new life' of both Morgan and the Yellow Hands as they ride off into legend.

The only problem with the UK release is that it is cut by 17 seconds. The BBFC don't allow horse falls and so some of the scenes cut short or just make no sense. The Region 1 disc is uncut, but the picture quality is so terrible that I'd suffer the one or two moments where the edits are felt and stick with the UK release as the print is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good!!!, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Ian M. Hoggan "Ian Hoggan Bungle" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't seen this film in such a long time that I'd completely forgotten it. Whereas the first film, I remembered it all. Speaks volumes doesn't it? I thought I was in for a real treat when I read someone else's raving review, but sadly, it's not a patch on the first one at all!!! Don't get me wrong, it's not awful, as I'll probably watch it again and again. Just don't expect it to be better than 'A Man Called Horse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a belated birthday present and my understanding is the person who it was bought for loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing A MAN CALLED HORSE you would think it could not be beaten but RETURN OF A MAN CALLED HORSE is just as good if not better.Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
excellent thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
A. Peters (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
Good dvd and worth watching.Bought it as our original copy was on video and we wanted to watch it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MAN CALLED HORSE, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not think I've ever seen a sequel that surpasses the prequel to such a degree as this film does. The opening quarter of an hour of the film is one of the best ever, that engages the attention of the viewer immediately. Action scenes are poignant and dramatically effective at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of a Man called Horse, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Harris as usual at his best--a good follow up to A Man called Horse which in itself was a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. W. S. M. Dean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] (DVD)
A good sequel to ' A Man Called Horse'. Good entertainment, good action it made it easy to recall ' A Man Called Horse;.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD]
The Return Of A Man Called Horse [DVD] by Irvin Kershner (DVD - 2005)
4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews