Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way Forward
This album, as well as his first album Personal Journals, has changed my life. I can't listen to any hip-hop song without comparing it to those of this album and they usually turn out to be on top.
Tracks such as 'Sea Lion' offer you such interesting and unusual beats and lyrics that its hard not wanting to listen to it again as soon as its finished. 'Bridle' is...
Published on 19 April 2005 by MG

versus
1 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What's the big deal?
After listening to this album i have lost faith in modern hip hop. Sage has no flow, his lyrics may sound meaningful to some but to me they just sound like a jumbled mess. It's this type of hip hop that seems to be spearheading this new wave of backpacker hip hop with it's snobbery of more mainstream and typical hip hop that is destroying the scene. He belongs more in...
Published on 12 Mar 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way Forward, 19 April 2005
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
This album, as well as his first album Personal Journals, has changed my life. I can't listen to any hip-hop song without comparing it to those of this album and they usually turn out to be on top.
Tracks such as 'Sea Lion' offer you such interesting and unusual beats and lyrics that its hard not wanting to listen to it again as soon as its finished. 'Bridle' is written in pure poetry. Sage's voice acts more as an instrument in this song than anyhting else as his lyrics and beats meld together to give an amazing listening experience.
I would recommend this album to anyone who wants to try something new and 'underground'. The album sits comfortably right next to my hifi and will probably do so for a very long time.
In conclusion: great beats, great rhymes, great songs and great album
p.s. The last song beautifully finishes the album with a mellow country-ish theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing follow up, 5 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
When i first heard sage francis was releasing a second full-length album i was the happiest man alive - i am a massive fan having all the albums from the "sick of..." series to personal journals (and non-prophets' hope in-between). however upon listening to the album i was slightly disapointed. this album is different to any other sage francis release. but upon listening to the album several more times it dawned on me that sage francis had not fallen off, he had simply grown up.
the lyrics have moved from introspective to external... focusing on society and how it affects him, rather than his personal life.
for those new to sage francis, i would recommend buying personal journals first... because once u hear that album you'll be able to understand this one.
sage francis is possibly the most intelligent rapper alive; however he is also one of the most skilled technically.
if your into rap which you hear on the radio, you may not like this album, but its never too late to get hooked, like millions others around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Healthy Distrust (is a good thing), 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
Sage Francis of Anticon fame makes his 'Epitaph' debut with an album that can only be described as a corker.
Standout tracks include 'Sea Lion' 'Ground Control' and the hit-in-the-making' 'Escape Artist'. If you're new to underground hip hop leave any preconceived ideas at the door as Sage has re written the rule book a 1000 times and will continue to do so - If you were impressed/moved to tears by 'Personal Journals' then prepare for more of the same only with a greater emphasis on melody. Beats are supplied by (amongst others) Re animator & Joe Beats as Sage 'talks' (not raps) his way through his outlook on life - topics covered include guns, gays and Iraq.
Sage Francis deserves to be massive, he offers a derivative of hip hop that should be heard by everyone in the world, and what's more he's just getting started !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every star., 16 Feb 2007
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
To the guy who gave this 1 star , it sounds to me like you are the one that is infact trying to write something for your sixth form english class. To be honest you are entitled to your opinion, just as the people who love gareth gates are entitled to theirs. However your opinion holds no wait with me and should not do so with any other hip hop fans who are fed up with the mainstream glamour rapping that seems to publically 'represent' hip hop.

This cd brings a new angle for me, of refreshing rhymes, which are both clever and cutting and a trully original back drop of beats and instrumentals. Buzz kill is a great song, really gathers momentum and come sat you hard. May take some of the greener listeners a little longer to get used to but persevere.

5 stars for offering something alternative but also very good to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could disagree more with the bloke below...., 30 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
Sage has more flow the Niagra. If you want to hear what sage is capable of then check out Escape Artist on this record. It's one of those tunes that are few and far between, the ones that can send you into an embarassing frenzy of spazz dancing whilst your driving, it sends shizzers down my arms. Oh, and Sea Lion - another awesome tune, featuring Bonnie Prince Billy on vocals and Alias on production duties.
This isn't a master piece as a whole, but there are genuine moments of hip hop genius on this record that more than make up for the fillers.
And what's wrong with lyrics that are intelligent or meaningful? Would you prefer the typical BLING BLING of the Top40 hip hop tripe we're force fed day in day out? If that's your bag, go hang with 50 pence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts mainstream rap to shame, 27 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
Man i am glad i found out about Sage Francis. I mainly listen to alternative/progressive rock but already being into Jurassic 5 for their similar 'indie hip hop' vibe if i can all it that, i didn't find it hard at all to get into this album. I am ashamed of even owning an Eminem album after listening to this dude - whilst i think he is probably at the same level of word manipulation as one reviewer mentioned, they both do completely different things with that talent. One squeezes dry their past and present lifestyle issues and disses nearly every mainstream celebrity but themselves, the other seamlessly moves between their own life, political, social, abstract, everything, and the latter has a much greater poetic mind. So they sound similar but when you actually *listen*, it is clear who is better.
The standout tracks for me are the opener 'Buzz Kill', 'Dance Monkey', 'Escape Artist', 'Ground Control' and 'Slow Down Ghandi', but they are all exceptional. Some may find issues with 'Sun VS Moon' as it attacks the concept of God and some may find this offensive. Whilst i disagree with Sage on this song i don't let it affect my love of the other tracks.
Buy if you are interested in serious hip hop and not the drivel which populates the mainstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What's the big deal?, 12 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Healthy Distrust (Audio CD)
After listening to this album i have lost faith in modern hip hop. Sage has no flow, his lyrics may sound meaningful to some but to me they just sound like a jumbled mess. It's this type of hip hop that seems to be spearheading this new wave of backpacker hip hop with it's snobbery of more mainstream and typical hip hop that is destroying the scene. He belongs more in poetry corner, a spoken word show or possibly a sixth-form english language class. This is not good hip hop. Being crap does not automatically make you original and good.
If you hip hop heads want to chekc out some decent, yet still original and good sounding hip hop then try buying 'Black Dialogue' by 'The Perceptionists'or 'The Sagas Of...' by 'Klashnekoff' and also the new 'Rodney P' album 'The Future'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Healthy Distrust
A Healthy Distrust by Sage Francis (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews