Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised we haven't heard more about this film!
At the time of writing, this DVD is doing the rounds in the supermarkets, and never having seen it before took a gamble on buying it. It's really a cross between modern Battlestar Gallactica and Starship Troopers (but much less gung ho)

Why do I like this film? Well it has a good strong story line. Plot centres about three fighter pilots as part of a fleet...
Published on 4 Jun. 2006 by A reviewer called

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray From USA? Dont bother
The first disc I ordered would not be recognised- no Region error message just "Invalid format" - had a conversation with the supplier, "you need to upgrade your players software".. right- this is the only Blu-Ray I had problems with. OK- under 8 quid- bite the bullet and order from another USA supplier.. this arrived- and looked like it was OK... but no "The disk is not...
Published 13 months ago by Wraith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised we haven't heard more about this film!, 4 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
At the time of writing, this DVD is doing the rounds in the supermarkets, and never having seen it before took a gamble on buying it. It's really a cross between modern Battlestar Gallactica and Starship Troopers (but much less gung ho)

Why do I like this film? Well it has a good strong story line. Plot centres about three fighter pilots as part of a fleet having to defend the Earth against a hostile alien race. Lead actors are backed up by an interesting and established array of actors as supporting cast, notably David Suchet of Poirot fame and David Warner of "The Omen" and Star Trek (TNG) who lend enormous credibility.

Another interesting feature of this film is how command shifts from person to person as those who know what needs to be done step forward to take charge. This film is definitely worth a sequel or even a mini series to develop cast and story in greater detail.

The bad things about this film (and these are very minor ones) 1) Should have made it slightly longer even a full two hours to allow greater depth and detail. 2) Should have had much better publicity at the time of making because I am quite up on SciFi and this film completely escaped my attention until now! 3) Sadly no Extra features were available even biographies of the actors would have been good or some short interviews with cast and crew. But putting those points aside add it to your sci-fi genre category if you havent already done so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film - how does it compare ..., 31 Dec. 2003
First I must point out that I have not actually played the game, so I cannot compare it to the game.
However I still think this is a brilliant movie. It places you right in the middle of the Kilrathi - terran war, onboard the Tiger's Claw carrier. Compared to the book "Wing Commander: Fredom Flight" (which I also recomend) it has differences, e.g. "If you die, you never existed", from the film. However it still captures the urgency of the war and how it is going.
I recomend you watch this, wheter you've played the game or not. A must for all Sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray From USA? Dont bother, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Wraith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first disc I ordered would not be recognised- no Region error message just "Invalid format" - had a conversation with the supplier, "you need to upgrade your players software".. right- this is the only Blu-Ray I had problems with. OK- under 8 quid- bite the bullet and order from another USA supplier.. this arrived- and looked like it was OK... but no "The disk is not valid for your region".. WTF? Blu Ray as well as providing the excellent Picture (and mainly Sound) qualities, was supposed to remove this Region S*** requirement for good. Sadly not from the USA it seems for this Title. Don't buy this in Blu Ray from USA unless you have a Region Free hacked player (would put zero starts- it ain' available)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, let down only by the encoding., 18 Aug. 2008
By 
Anthony S. Clarke "Asparian" (Austin, TX - Kumamoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone who has seriously rated this movie [references to the bible and life changing nobel prize winning appart ;-) ] agrees it is an excellent movie. The only thing I can add is that I wish this movie would be re-released as an anamorphic widescreen DVD or in HD. As was usual many years ago, DVD encoding companies had no idea how to properly encode video to work well on 4:3 (old style) TVs and 16:9 (widescreen) TVs as really there were few to no widescreen TVs available and reading an obscure bit of the encoding manual was really optional at that time. This release has huge black bars top and bottom as the 2.35:1 ratio is fitted into a 4:3 screen space. If the choice was between this format and cropping then I would take this format any day, but a budget re-release as 2.35:1 on 16:9 (anamorphic widescreen) would be much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi Fand might think differently, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
Gary Gibson "Torpedo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
Although this film offers the usual "made in rubbish land" as a true Sci Fi fan it still ticks many boxes. I saw it in Canada and actually quite liked its innocent approach to a sci fi story built on a popular computer game. There are elements of Top Gun which were far better executed, but you can't quite help enjoy the action, characters, and simple but obvious story line. There are some big names in this film and they all do their best. For that they have to be congratulated. I have shown this film on the big screen in a home cinema set up to various guests with a fun result. The music is good, the banter is ok, and a bunch of people for a bit of fun never leave disappointed so doesn't that say everything? Go buy it if your a true sci fi fan. If not, stay clear, but you still might miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi war movie, 6 Aug. 2006
By 
Michael Gerrard (Geneva) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
Many years ago I played the computer game 'Wing Commander' and it was interesting to hear of this movie! Yes it is based on the game but no that doesn't make it rubbish! I found it very entertaining and well made. Lots of British actors and a good script. The special effects sometimes were impressive, but other times were too obviously computer generated.

Essentially this is a story told from one side's point of view. It follows the exploits of two pilots and the others on the Tiger Claw starship. There are many similarities with war films. There's a scene where a destroyer is hunting them, they mustn't make a sound and everyone on the bridge looks at one another just like in one of those submarine war films. There's even a noise like a sonar beep!

There are a few tense scenes and lots of action. On the negative side, sometimes you go from a tense moment to an action one so quickly you forget what the plot is and why exactly they're there. But that's minor, overall any sci-fi fan will enjoy this movie. It's not the best, but it's certainly worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Starts good but ends with confusion, 4 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
The movie begins good and interesting but then more the movie continues it gets more confusing.

In a distance future, Mankind is at war with Kilrathi a Cat like alien species. Meanwhile 2 young lieutenants Blair (Freddie Prince Jr.) and Marshall (Matthew Lillard) are signed for combat on board the space ship Tiger Claw. Inside Tiger Claw Blair is not very welcome by the other pilots because he is in heritage of space pilgrims that has a bad history of war sabotage. When the Kilrathi steals important navcom computer the Tiger Claw has been selected to retrieve the navcom or the faith of humanity will be over.

That's as far as I can tell from the story plot but what's happening during the movie I cannot tell. everything is so confusing, I guess its because the movie is based on the games with the same title so for the wing commander fans should like this film but for those who didn't play the games it will be a lot of question marks on the heads.

But its a guilty pleasure, the actors and actresses are doing a good job, and the action and special effects are great so its worth checking this baby out.

Verdict? See it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Flying high, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
Despite its origins as a computer game the movie took stylistic inference from old war movies and reportedly used sets made from decommissioned fighter jets, this, combined with a simple linear story placed the classy production squarely in the genre of old school sci-fi. The young guns of the cast do a fairly decent job with their respective parts and they are surrounded by a surprising number of bona fide thespians. The familiar tale of humans versus aliens is peppered thruought by references to a rich Earth history and the lead character is credited with a pilgrim's innate ability to navigate space; this adds some character depth which should have been used to stronger effect. The special effects are decent in the main but the alien Kilrathi are pretty poor. Rumour has it that a sub plot involving a traitor was cut from the final version, this hacking removed an action scene and some dramatic tension which may have contributed to some unforgiving reviews on release which is a shame because otherwise this is a fine movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 4 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
i dont know people moan, about it ( meaning film critics) not being a computor gammer
i liked this a lot very down to earth( sorry) plot and good effects and a very strong
cast , yes i liked it a lot when i saw it again i jan 2013 i was amazed that there were similaritys
to galactica for example the bridge officer uniforms meaning the captains and when the bridge crew plot a jump in hyperspace very near the same to adama s orders plot a jump to radnor anchorage i was puzzled by several things but one stood out. the profile of the tiger claw was on the computor screen of a ship , i had to pause it to get a good look or would have missed it ,it said the co was Admiral gerald , now in this film the captain was called sansky and exec commander gerald. also when commodore taggart engages the enemy ship he calls out "give them a broadside mr gerald" im convinced this is aline from gregory pecks horatio hornblower
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, not that cheerful., 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing Commander [DVD] (DVD)
This is a late 90s (and how), low-to-medium budget science fiction action flick that takes everything decent about the Wing Commander games... and flushes it out of the airlock. Most of the cast seem bland, bored and boring, especially the lead actor, Freddie Prinze Jr and there are a lot of questionable story and script decisions.

To be fair the effects aren't too bad considering they're predominantly model based, augmented with CGI (though the design of the human fighters is in my opinion terrible) and there are one or two interesting ideas and better-than-expected scenes.

Basically, if you want a cheesy, dirt cheap sci-fi fix that won't tax your brain, there are worse options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wing Commander [DVD]
Wing Commander [DVD] by Chris Roberts (DVD - 2005)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews