Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Memories
I can't pretend to be a great music expert but here's my 'ten penneth'
Here are a great many excellent 12" mixes from my misspent '80's youth. A wonderful range of artists wrapped around a very small number of turkeys.
After spending an afternoon listening to my personal highlights I recommend this to any 30 something looking to roll in nostalgia.
Published on 15 Feb 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some very poor 12" versions
There are some good original 12" versions here but there are some appalling ones too which sound as if they were quickly muddled together in the studio to fill the cd. These are the various instrumental additions. I am quite disappointed and it puts me off playing this cd to be honest.
Published 17 months ago by Mr P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Memories, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
I can't pretend to be a great music expert but here's my 'ten penneth'
Here are a great many excellent 12" mixes from my misspent '80's youth. A wonderful range of artists wrapped around a very small number of turkeys.
After spending an afternoon listening to my personal highlights I recommend this to any 30 something looking to roll in nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning value for money..., 19 Nov 2008
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
The series of 12" 80's era CD box sets highlight just what a rich tapestry of output this period had, and reading through the reviews, also how opinions divide so much over track listings.

Dealing with the track listing issue, I won't be doing a track by track analysis as others have already done so (no point in repeating others work), and I reckon if you are looking at the items page, the track listing, and my review, you will already know if this album is what you want, and if you know or like the tracks or not.

The albums in the 12" series seem to average between 30-40 tracks, so back in the day (let alone now at collectors' fairs) to buy all of the tracks included would cost at least a 120 or more. You can now buy a collection for a tenth of that price. So by my reckoning, if you buy any of these compilations and you have only a few that you like, or get hold of an old favourite that is totally unavailable by any other means, you are quid's in. For me the ultimate compliment to this series, are the other pale imitators that have been subsequently released by other labels, in a bid to cash in on the success and quality of the 12" series of albums.

Ignore the critics, these albums represent outstanding value for money, and for those of us who where around at the time (or maybe wish they were) the 12" series of CD's represent an outstanding opportunity to acquire a collection of quality tracks that realistically, would be otherwise virtually impossible to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started, 25 Mar 2005
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
12"/80s is a compilation which goes past the norm of 80s compilations, it's focusing itself on more obscure artists and features 12" mixes from the day. From just plain extended versions right through to full blown remixes - this is well worth getting hold of.
Remixing at the time wasn't just for hip-hop, rap, trance, techno and any other form of dance music, but rock artists were doing it, everyone in the 80s took advantage of the 12" record to give something special, and here is a collection of 36 of the best.
Of course, there's some cheesy 80s fodder here, like Kid Creole's "I'm a Wonderful Thing (baby)" and Soft Cell's "Tainted Love" mixed in with a classic Supremes song "Where did our love go"; but the compilation has some really good tricks up it's sleve. An example is The Cure's moody "A Forest", Human League's instrumental "Love Action" and Japan's "Quiet Life", it's sound is as fresh as it was back in the early 80s, and you can see where new artists got a lot of their inspiration from!
Other highlights are Black's accoustic version of "Wonderful Life"; Yazoo's playful "Situation"; Spandue Ballet's dancy "To Cut A Long Story" and of course my favourite Blow Monkeys record "Diggin' Your Scene", happy memories!
There's something on here for everyone, even a bit of hip hop with Man Parrish, but the bulk of this compilation is electronic, and early synth pop, with some new romatic stuff to make good measure.
The only let down for me is Aztec Camera, but I'm not really a fan of their sound. I feel the compilation is missing some classics like New Order and Steve "Silk" Hurley, maybe on volume two..... I hope....
Excellent music though, compilation obviously well thought out, and sounds like it's someone who knows good 80s music, rather than that commercial stuff a lot of other labels put out. Well done Family!
Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 21 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. Nick Pace "Ravanelli" (Knebworth, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
This amazing collection, firmly points two fingers at the cynics who knock the 1980's and its music. Sure, there was a fair amount of tack and nonsense about then but, wasn't/isn't there in any decade?
It is a first appearance on CD for many of these full versions and the charm and appeal of the album lies around the eclectic choice of tracks. Alongside the mass selling Tainted Love in its full glory are some non-obvious tracks by big artists of the time, such as The Human League, ABC, The Jam et al. Thrown in to the mix are some genuine classics by non mass selling artists like Tin Tin Duffy, Bauhaus and Hipsway and great full length versions of some mid to late 80's pop-jazz workout's by the criminally underated Blow Monkeys and Curiosity Killed The Cat.
A compilation that ranks alongside the very best of the Hed Kandi, Back To Love series.
So brilliant, i'll even forgive Kid Creole!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closet 80s fans rejoice!, 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
This is a terrific compilation and (as you can see by the tracklisting above) great value for money. The tracklisting contains very few duds (Animotion come to mind).
Any CD box set that contains The Style Council, The Jam, Scritti Politti, Fun Boy Three, Aztec Camera, ABC, The Blow Monkeys, Japan, Soft Cell & Grace Jones will always be worthy of my attention.
Hopefully we won't have to wait too long for a second volume. I'd love to see a set that includes extended mixes by The Beat, Public Image Limited, Gang Of Four, New Order and UB40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing it all back, 12 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
3 discs focusing on the 80s remix "Obsession"!
The 80s was the decade of the 12". They'd been around for a while - usually for the disco single and with "Special Limtited Edition" blazed across the sleeve - but if someone released a single in the 80s you could almost guarantee it was out on a 12" too and with that extra amount of vinyl, the chance to extend the music was too good to miss.
This LP concentrates on that.
Yeah there's been 80s comps out but the tracks on here aren't your usual "Skool Disco" fodder but are top quality none-the-less
What they show is that everyone was getting in on the remix act. From extended versions to completely restructured gems the remix in all shapes and sizes is included on here and brings back a lot of memories but is just as good for the uninitiated!
Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Access, 2 Jun 2014
By 
JEREMY Hobbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
I think all us 80s teens went for 12" singles. fantastic we can now access these mixes that, in my case, now jump and crackle on the turntable. Close your eyes and get back in the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
Looking through the list of tunes takes you right back to the days of the 12 in singles glad i bought this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You CAN use this one for making computer sound files, 3 April 2012
By 
S. Bullman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
Hallelujah! A extended mix compilation set which you CAN use for making computer sound files from - as they DIDN'T run the tracks together, unlike many others
So, if you're looking for particular extended mixes to add to to your collection, these are the real McCoy.

Not all 80's compilations are useful, but this one is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real taste of the 80s, 8 Feb 2005
By 
Crazy Bald Heid "kennyb63" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12"/80s (Audio CD)
Starting work in the early eighties and being a music obsessive I bought many of these great pop records, this shows just how good and varied the decade was.
Aside from the obvious new romantic toss there are so many good and sadly neglected artists here: aztec camera, icicle works, propaganda.
Buy it now - it is a magical piece of nostalgia for anyone who danced round the handbags before ecstasy and pop idol messed up mainmstream pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12"/80s
12"/80s by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews