Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this anymore.
This review contains no plot-spoilers! For a film this old, it's a pleasant surprise to see the beautiful DVD print transfer. There's also superb sound (no hiss, no crackles, even through headphones). Right from the opening scenes, you know this is a film that is going to be good. Then Cary Grant walks in, and you know it's going to be superb. The atmosphere of the...
Published on 9 Feb 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment.
This is a good entertainment film. Good story, actors and acting. Very good for Cary Grant fans and with a touch nostalgia for the older viewers.
Published 9 months ago by DREAM TOWN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not so clunky, 20 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
This movie holds up well enough in the 21st century. The effects are dated (not CGI but what is less convincing now?) but fit well with the B/W cinematography, the plot (no longeurs) and the ensemble acting. Grant not in his trade mark lounge suit but hey we've got Rita Heyworth! Jean Arthur taking billing over Hayworth, but not for long,to be remembered in Shane. And a still exciting ending predating "Wages of Fear". A welcome addition to collectors of those glamorous films of the 30's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1930's flying, 9 Nov 2010
By 
A. Roberts "aenr" (northeast england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting and well acted drama about airmail flying in the 1930's. The acting by Cary Grant and other stars is good and the story dramatic. The flying scenes with genuine planes are excellent but the special effects with 'Dinky' toys is poor. An astonishing amount of smoking takes place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. B. Bendel (Portsmouth. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
It has been over-rated by critics and film guides for too long. The acting is adequate but there is
surprisingly little tension, considering the seriousness of the story. I have seen it three times during
fifty years of watching movies. The real test is would I want to see it again, soon? The answer is no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
A must for fans of Cary Grant - one of his best and slightly a different approach to his normal ways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard Hawks, Cary Grant, Rita Hayworth, and Thomas Mitchell what else ...., 18 Feb 2010
By 
Massimo Santilli "kinowelt" (La Spezia - Liguria Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
Is the fate of Hawks, along with Ford and Capra, director of the largest imaginary traditional Hollywood. It is rare for him to create the prototypes of all kinds, but is almost always the one to fine-tune models insurmountable. There were several films firstdealing with civil aviation (as Air mail of John Ford, for example) but before this, everyone else seems more or less successful imitations. Punctuated by a relentless succession of night and day, punctuated by small gestures that give a subtle musicality Skin (light his cigarette from the person seizing it), has all the characteristics which make it unmistakably a film by Hawks, the director who has never made shot that possessed the vulgarity of his signature, while impressing the entire film is a suspicion of sentimentality that makes it "one of his most melancholy and romantic fantasies" (Molly Haskell). What makes it so typical of its author? The uniqueness of the place where it runs throughout (an airstrip, an office and a bar) as in many of his films, the strong camaraderie of a group subject of the narrative, action driven by dialogue, the dialectic of the sexes which always males and females fight for dominance not only mutual pleasure but a kind of organic. Film of cruel humor, grief and seduction impending fierce, is one in which, perhaps more than elsewhere, Hawks ventured to tell his life: only the danger and imminence of death justifies the respect and redeem the cynicism of men; after the battle of the sexes is possible to love, even in an airport lost in the mists of South America. In such a mechanism also actors would do any good figure, but Cary Grant, Rita Hayworth, and Thomas Mitchell are not the kind of players that leave their marks in the shot. And it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANGELS DELIGHT!!!, 27 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
Classy b+w movie that still packs a punch,jean arthur, who i'd never heard of is wonderful,and near perfect chemistry between her and smoothie Grant, with the added attraction of Rita Hayworth makes this movie a 5 star must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated Hollywood heroics, 15 Aug 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to like this movie, but I thought it was so dated as to just about cancel out the strong story line and how the story was crafted into a movie.

I like Cary Grant a lot, but here he was the no-nonsense, grim, man-among-men leader that, to my mind, played to none of his strengths. Richard Dix could have done almost as well up to the last three minutes. (Okay, I'm exagerating.)

Jean Arthur was a strong, strange actress who could hold her own with any lead actor. Here she's reduced to waiting anxiously for Grant to glance at her and to holding back the tears while she stands by her man. The subplot involving Rita Hayworth and Richard Barthelmess becomes tedious after a while. Thomas Mitchell, who seems to be in every movie made between 1935 and 1945, played Thomas Mitchell again. (Sometimes he could be great.)

It seemed to me that the tensions were self-evident; nothing was unexpected given the premise of the movie...unlike a movie with a similar premise, Wages of Fear, where your socks were scared off every time a truck approached a pot hole.

Most people seem to love this film. I dunno. There are a number of older movies that have held up well over the years. Even many which, while dated, still retain a great deal of charm. I can see how this movie would have been a hit when it came out. For me, it just seems dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Angels Have Wings [DVD]
Only Angels Have Wings [DVD] by Howard Hawks (DVD - 2005)
5.99
Usually dispatched within 6 to 9 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews