Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uneasy listening masterpiece, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Thelma Hunter "seanfhickey" (sligo, ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
This is not a record for the faint hearted or not the place to start if you have the good fortune to be starting out with The Fall. What it is, is
a hardcore delight, a challenging one-off, and the early Fall masterpiece.
It's a better record than This Nation's Saving Grace, despite what a lot of critics think.
Opener, The Classical, is one of the all time best Fall songs, which is saying an awful lot-a belting hard rock tune, that somehow sounds unlike any other hard rock tune you've ever heard. Hip Priest, which of course turns up on the soundtrack to The Silence of the Lambs,is a demented and irresistible mission statement. Who makes the Nazis? is as unusual a piece of music as its title suggests.
Hex exhibits all the things that make The Fall great-repetition, forcefulness, melody(when they can be bothered) and strangeness-that gift they have of making music that sounds as if it shouldn't work, sounds somehow 'wrong', but which takes you to places no other band reach.And i do mean no other band. Which isn't to say they don't have influences-they do- but that what they do is unique.
A wonderful, disquieting and energising record. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip, Hip, Hip � Hooray!, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
Although The Fall had made their mark with albums such as "Dragnet" and "Grotesque", it was with "Hex Enduction Hour" that they really produced their first monumental classic album. This was the start of a highly creative period for Mark E. Smith and cohorts which would peak with "This Nations Saving Grace".
"Hex Enduction Hour" has some truly classic Fall moments and shows a definite maturity in the writing. The album starts off with the storming "The Classical", the clattering of the dual drums of Paul Hanley and Karl Burns rattling along at a phenomenal pace. This is quintessential Fall with Smith ranting in his own highly inimitable style. The basswork by Steve Hanley is solid and propulsive with a brilliant intuitive solo at the end of the piece. "Hip Priest" is another classic track, a tight tension in its slow, methodical build up. This piece was unforgettably used to stunning effect at the climax of "The Silence of the Lambs". The huge workouts on tracks such as "Iceland" clearly demonstrate the influence of Can with the use of repetition to produce an ever evolving, hypnotic beat.

The thing about The Fall is that on the surface they sound almost amateurish in the way they play. But actually they are very sophisticated in what they do, in the way they use their instruments, tape samples, lyrical ideas right through to the sleeve art. They are always experimenting with new sounds and ideas. No one could sound like The Fall and no one does. As John Peel so accurately put it, "they're always different, but always the same". On "Hex Enduction Hour" the use of different types of percussion for instance is quite unusual and just adds the right kind of embellishments needed. Smith always surrounded himself with the "right" musicians, especially so here. There was a brilliant empathy going on which was almost telepathic in the way they would feed off each other musically. I have only heard this type of symbiosis in a few bands such as the aforementioned Can, who Mark E. Smith is a big fan of.
"Hex Enduction Hour" still sounds fresh, invigorating and inventive even today. The Fall could make a right royal racket and here is one of the best examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album From 1981 - 82 Line Up Of The Fall., 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant as you know if you're a Fall fan, if you're not a fan get this as it's a good intro to the wonderful and sometimes quite frightening world of The Fall.
As a fan I don't quite understand what they've done with the bonus disc in this set, it's seems a bit odd, why only half of the Peel session from 1981? why not include the full session with 'Look, Know' and the long version of 'Winter'? also why only the B side of the 1982 Kamera single? why not include 'Look, Know'? there was plenty of space on the CD to do this as there's a full 20 minutes of space not used.
Gripes aside this album is so good that none of that really matters hence the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Fall album, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Iain Hoey (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
I got in to the Fall after catching a documentary on them and, quite by chance, Hex was the first album I picked up. I subsequently have bought numerous others, but can say with utter conviction that this is the best Fall album. Ever.

So if you want to get in to the Fall then definitely buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His heart organ was where it should be: Cometh The Hour, 20 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. Sp Shone "JohnnyM" (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
If, like me, you are too young to remember The Fall in their hey-day but have since discovered the maniac Salfordite troll, MES, you will have picked up collections here and there. Amoungst you have found scrappy cuts and live takes of tracks like Fortress, Deer Park, Just Step Sideways, Jawbone, Winter and Mere Pseud Mag. Plus, if you've ever watched Silence of the Lambs, as Clarice enters the guy's house at the end and is trying to find him and the missing girl, you may have spotted Hip Priest playing in the background? Then you find out that all of these tracks are on the album "Hex Enduction Hour" and you can not get a copy, or a carrier bag, for love nor money.
Well here it is. With bonus bits. Looking around reviews of other albums many Fall fans put their best album as maybe Perverted By Language or This Nations Saving Grace - but not me. This is MES at his vitriolic and artistic best. For me, HEX is the The Fall.
Thanks to Castle and the Fall lovers who had a hand in getting this re-issued.
To all you Fall fans, you no longer have an excuse for not owning this album. Drink a long draught, Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Racket, 21 July 2008
By 
Jay (West Mids) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
The Fall's refusal to stay in one musical place for long has led to many good but few great records. Sometimes production lets them down, sometimes song choice and sometimes it's the performances. The Fall's more recent releases, for example, have included some fine music but occasionaly suffer (sorry Fall die-hards)at the hands of Mark E Smith. He may be the main driving force behind every Fall record but there's no getting away from the fact that sometimes his vocals sound like a Friday night drunk, reading his order off the menu at a Chinese takeaway. Then again, that may be the appeal to some listeners. And to be honest, like or loathe what they do you wouldn't change them and on most records they do manage one or two superb songs.
On "Hex...", however, they manage more than that. There's nothing here that doesn't work. From the production, to the songs, to the performances it's the Fall's most exciting moment. Although on first play you may think "total racket" , a couple of plays later and you'll be thinking "...what a fantastic racket". It's as abrasive as sandpaper, as loud as screams and you wouldn't change a note or fiddle with a single dial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hidden classic, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
This was my first Fall album and it's just superb. Melodic bass drives most of these tracks and, along with Mark E. Smith on vocals, an addictive musical concoction is created. The lyrics are both humourous and thought provoking, and are delivered in Smith's own inimitible style. Tracks that really stick in my mind are Classical, and Hip Priest, phrases from each will stick in your mind and make you spin the CD once more to get another fix.
The bonus CD with live tracks is fantastic as well, I can only recommend this album. If you havent heard The Fall before then this is a good starter album, if you already know The Fall then you'll be aware that this is considered to be one of their best (they have released about 25 studio albums since 1979!). Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ONE that gave M.E.S. confirmed 'GODLIKE GENIUS' status.., 21 Mar 2005
By 
Jeff Markham (Walton-on-Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
...for all of us FALL afficianados. Now re-issued in a sparkling 2-disc edition which strikes the perfect balance; it doesn't lose the raw immediacy of THE FALL's stunning 2nd masterpiece on vinyl (in my humble opinion the first was SLATES, by the way, also re-issued recently and equally essential to any true FALL fan's collection and er...basically anyone else with good taste in music); it also features slippery licks, thunderous rock riffing, the greatest beatnik rap ever (HIP PRIEST) and excellent live I'M INTO CB. Simply breathtaking arch agit-pop at its awesome best. Frontman Mark E. Smith's brilliant MERE PSEUD MAG ED (rubbish glossies take note) is both prescient and wonderfully funny as a comment on current cultural wastelands from LA (another FALL song but that's a later chapter in the FALL canon) to London. From the Holy Trinity of the opening 3 tracks - The Classical, Jawbone And The Air Rifle and (remember SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, fans?) Hip Priest, M.E.S. and the boys (and girl, lest we forget Kay Carroll) continue at a frenetic but always tightly controlled canter through some of the finest English rock songs ever recorded. OH YES all of you uninitiated but younger FALL fans (well, I'm still only 38 actually but this album is THAT GOOD IT REALLY IS. If you have ever wondered what the missing link between CAPTAIN BEEFHEART's legendary LP Trout Mask Replica and THE FALL's late, mature masterpiece EXTRICATE is (sadly, not part of the current welcome set of re-releases but really worth seeking out if you can find it) this IS IT. I know I have been extending the religious metaphor of the title of this review but what's wrong with that folks?! This album really deserves its cult status; M.E.S., if you ever read this, mate, why didn't you re-title the re-issue HEX ENDUCTION AND AN HOUR AND A HALF - we would have all rushed out to buy it even quicker i.e. with the extra tracks added this is the complete record of early-mid period FALL and why would newcomers need anything else? Enjoy everyone because M.E.S. really is the HIP PRIEST although (thankfully) he's never been as "clean as a packet of chocolate treats"... JOHN PEEL R.I.P...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No review, 3 May 2005
This review is from: Hex Enduction Hour (Audio CD)
There is little that can be said about this. If you like the Fall the chances are that you already know this work. If you do not like the Fall, this is not going to change your mind. It is the perfect piece of Fallness from their early mid period, its breadth and majesty dwarfing their peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Hex Enduction Hour
Hex Enduction Hour by The Fall (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews