Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better with every listen...
The standard thing to think before purchasing any album is assuming it will all be similar to it's first single, although in many respects it is, Athlete have conjured up a handful of bright and breezy numbers to add to the slower styles portrayed magnificently in 'Wires'.
Chock-a-block with engaging piano riffs to accompany any emotion or feeling - be it...
Published on 24 Jun 2005 by thepickpocket

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best...
This wasn't bad. Easy to listen to and there are a few good tracks, but i really was expecting more. Wires, Half Light, and Tourist are the best tracks and Yesterday Threw Everything At Me is good, but this album is a bit too serious for me. What happened to Westside, El Salvador and Out Of Nowhere, those types of songs are why i love you!
It was a disappointment,...
Published on 1 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better with every listen..., 24 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
The standard thing to think before purchasing any album is assuming it will all be similar to it's first single, although in many respects it is, Athlete have conjured up a handful of bright and breezy numbers to add to the slower styles portrayed magnificently in 'Wires'.
Chock-a-block with engaging piano riffs to accompany any emotion or feeling - be it downheartedness, love-sickness or optimism - 'Tourist' is sure to remain at the top of your CD pile for a lengthy amount of time.
All of the songs lay claim to expertly controlled use of guitar, piano and the odd sound affect combined with sincere, honest and true-to-life lyrics which can easily be related to, which forms the structures of a wonderfully produced indie-pop creation and potentially the album of the year so far.
The pick of the bunch include the second release 'Half Light' - possessing portions of sunny and cheerful melodies and clever lyrics accurately sung by lead vocalist Joel Pott. Other stand-out tracks include 'If I Found Out', again jovial aided by the inclusion of a gospel choir providing brilliant atmosphere, 'Modern Mafia' a catchy tune based around electric guitars forming the loudest of the lot and 'I Love', a gentle album finale carefully performed to great effect.
All in all this album could push Athlete into the league of other indie sensations such as Coldplay, Radiohead and Travis and I feel they could fair well up there with the best of them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pigeonhole, 5 Feb 2005
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
It seems to me that every guitar-based indie/pop group that happen to release a ballad immediately get dismissed as a "Coldplay wannabe". Don't misunderstand, I'm not knocking Coldplay; those of us who've grown past the 'fashion victim' stage find it intensely ironic that Coldplay, who were Britain's Brightest Hope a few short years ago, are now looked upon as the Antichrist - and all because they committed the cardinal sin of becoming POPULAR (how dare they). Keane have already joined them, Franz Ferdinand are on the verge of a backlash and in time Bloc Party (and anyone else who catapluts to mainstream attention this year) will surely face the same fate. No, I'm not knocking them, or Keane, or any of the others. I just find the critics' (and some Amazon reviewers') lack of imagination depressing.
To me, 'Tourist' shows a touchingly straightforward, down-to-earth honesty that makes it more affecting than many of the albums it's been lumped together with. It's quite a different prospect to 'Vehicles and Animals', more solemn and serious, more earnest. However, I can't imagine anyone who enjoyed Athlete's debut not liking this - even if their immediate reaction is mingled surprise and disappointment at the lack of uptempo songs. The heartfelt single 'Wires' is a good indication of what to expect and also the album's finest track, but there are plenty of other gems here such as 'Chances', 'Tourist' and 'Twenty Four Hours'. Look beyond the meaningless labels so beloved of the critics, and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll Be A Big Success, 15 Mar 2005
By 
craigk1984 "craigk1984" (Jedburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
Athlete's new album Tourist is destined to be the huge breakthrough the band are obvioulsy aiming for. This is backed up by the top 5 success of it's first single Wires and also the fact that the album entered the UK Chart at No.1 recently. Despite this commercial success the album is quite a diversion from the debut Vehicles And Animals.
If you were expecting more of the same fun quirky pop music that made Vehicles And Animals such a delight then you will be initially disappointed with Tourist. Only Modern Mafia sounds as if it would fit in on that album. The rest of the songs on the album are more ballad like songs. If you like Wires you'll probably like the majority of the songs here. In my mind, the band have changed their style to try and become a larger name. In a sense they are trying to become Coldplay or at least aim for the same sort of fans they have. While in no way is this a bad thing, the only problem is that Athlete aren't Coldplay and the album suffers for that. Most of the songs are not instantly catchy with the exception of Modern Mafia.
If you pereseve with it though, the songs will grow on you considerably and it will be an enjoyable album if a little lifeless. However, it is this type of music that seems to generate large sales figures.
In summary i'd say buy it regardless as it is a decent album but if you're a fan of Vehicles And Animals don't buy the album expecting an exact replica because this is a band developing into something else rather than sticking with the same sound that endeared people to them in the first place. Instead they will attract an even larger fanbase while keeping many who originally loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best..., 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
This wasn't bad. Easy to listen to and there are a few good tracks, but i really was expecting more. Wires, Half Light, and Tourist are the best tracks and Yesterday Threw Everything At Me is good, but this album is a bit too serious for me. What happened to Westside, El Salvador and Out Of Nowhere, those types of songs are why i love you!
It was a disappointment, but its still a good album. If you like this, you'll love Vehicles and Animals, their first and best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A late discovery....better late than never., 5 May 2005
By 
A. Moriarty "mumoftheyear" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
I had heard of Athlete and had heard the song 'Beautiful' from the first album, and liked it, but I suppose I never really bothered to find out more. I don't listen to alot of radio now as I don't get time, but I do listen to a little Virgin FM when I am drving. I kept hearing 'Half light' and the tune was going around and around in my head for days before I found out who sang it. I thought that I must find out more about Athlete. The next day I heard 'Wires' as I was driving on my own, and for some reason I listened to the lyrics, as much as the melody and by the time the song finished I was actually blubbing, big wet tears! It's ages since a song has moved me so much on one hearing. It was enough for me and I bought the album the very next day. I absolutely love it! Yes, it lacks a little variation but I can certainly listen to a whole album of ballads if I'm in that sort of mood. These are all top quality and I love Coldplay for the same reason. I don't want to compare them to Coldplay, though. It's not fair to pidgeon-hole bands. Modern Mafia breaks it up a bit without blasting your eardrums. A don't know about 'lifeless' as one reviewer called it, if a song can reduce you to tears with its sheer emotion, I don't think you can feel more alive than that. I recommend it anyway. If you don't buy it, at least listen to 'Wires'. I think it's essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musically athletic., 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
It may be seen as ironic that Athlete called their second album "Tourist" as it could be considered as quintessential Britpop at its best...far from Tourist-like! Indeed if you believe the hype the band are Britpop and more! In my view though the hype is justified. Recently when the band's name has appeared it has often been mentioned in the same breath as Coldplay and Radiohead, however I would describe them more akin to a young Blur. In fact, Joel Pott the lead singer, describes the album as "quirky pop", and nothing could describe Blur better than those two words.
Joel added in the same interview that what the band love was "good melodies" and these are abundant in their second album. Whether it be the soft but catchy "Wires", or the heart-lifting "Half light" Athlete have produced a lyrically mature album that proves very emotive. If you enjoy the Indie Pop of Keane and others this album is definitely for you.
Tim Winstall who plays the keyboard for the band believes that with their second album the band have "moved up a level". Long may they maintain this level and if humanly possible lets see if they can raise it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More upbeat Athlete with hearfelt songs than quirkiness, 7 Feb 2005
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
The Deptford rock quartet knew in their minds they had to produce another heightened commercial success from its brilliantly chirpy predecessor "Vehicles and Animals" and how their new album truly reflects it is of no coincidence as it's already on a direct course for sheer genius in indie music.
Despite the band taking a slight turn in their music direction compared with the freshness of the last album, you cannot simply imply they are evocative of Coldplay, it should be merited on its own. No, any mentions of the band under the same breath of Keane should never criticise anything again. They still retain that feel good quirky pop, some nice electronic kicks but on a cleverly appealing higher upbeat scale with a large focus on richer heartfelt indie ballads and nice-natured tunes.
Tracks like the beautifully crafted "Wires", a summer anthem potential "Half Light", "Tourist" being a mellowing shift to a powerful melody, and the relaxingly blended yet brilliantly touching "Yesterday Threw Everything At Me". Other poignant tracks "If I Found Out" and "I Love" are certainly growers to appreciate its true artistic bliss.
This not only places them on the indie map of a large successful band and proving enormous hit for current and no doubt emerging fans but sets sights of really going platinum; it has large abundance of feel-good factors soothing the soul in all its tracks clearly proving maturity in their music. Let's just not hope they go slightly downhill like Radiohead and Feeder, it certainly has enough to shout about and it's kept me playing it endlessly, keep up the great work Athlete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing second album in a slightly new direction, 14 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
I have had this album for a couple of days now and have not stopped listening to it. Athlete have really pushed their music forward and produced a fantastic second album.
Fans of the debut album 'Vehicles and Animals' will not be disappointed as Athlete's trademark catchy hooks are here in abundance but 'Tourist' is just generally a more serious album with less up-beat tracks. Lyrically it is more mature and the sound is richer.
If you liked the beautiful recent single, 'Wires', I think that you will love this album as it is a good reflection of what this album is all about.
There is not a single bad track on the album but my favourites are tracks 2,3,5 and 7; the future singles 'Half Light' and 'Tourist', 'Wires' and 'Yesterday Threw Everything At Me' respectively. The album ending is it's only weak point for me; 'I love' is a tender, slow track but a bit too repetitive lyrically.
This is already a definite for one of the albums of the year 2005 and will open Athlete up to many more fans. I'd recommend buying this album and, as a great live band, getting down to see them live in relatively small venues while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new era?, 20 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
Athlete for me have always been very humbly different as british indie bands go, their old album was great fun, and their songs seemed to reflect their lives. The new album tourist seems to be a bit like personal growth. Its been a year, and as they have changed so has the music.
Being a music fan, I think most albums take a few listens to in order to really get inside the tracks and be moved to where they want to take you. Personally the new Album opens the door for you on the first track, the second invites you in, and from there onwards its your background, your foreground, your shout out loud in the car or simply to contemplate life to. Maybe thats too expressive, but I feel that this album does more than most, it touches the soul, and thats what matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a grower!, 11 Feb 2005
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this album, as I bought their debut on the strength of listening to a few tracks whilst in my local record shop.I got a taste of a few of the new tracks during their show at the Shepherds Bush Empire late last year & I must say that,after a few listens, this is a more than commendable sophomore effort.My favourites are Wires (original,eh!), Tourist, Half Light,24 Hours & Modern Mafia.Roll on album three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tourist
Tourist by Athlete (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews