Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something to note...
Something that I hadn't noticed and that is not clear on Amazon was that with this DVD includes a bonus extra is a second documentary/program called 'Colosseum : a gladiators story'. This 50 minute feature is also available as a separate DVD in its own right, so this is potentially good value and if you were thinking of getting the other one perhaps go for this '2 for 1'...
Published on 23 May 2008 by P. R. Nokes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if in the UK
Unfortunately I made the mistake of buying this not realising it clearly states it is US import, it wont work on dvds in the UK. So dont but this particular dvd if you are in the UK. The programme itself is certainly worth buying.
Published 9 months ago by alison williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Watched on TV, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I saw this on tv and decided I would love to have it, not disappointed played using multi region player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of Pompeii's fate!, 22 Jan 2013
By 
A. Ryder (Liverpool. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A very realistic and credible account of the last day of Pompeii, with stories of the characters portrayed vividly and linked to the remains visible in Pompeii today. A gripping story, really well put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very eerie, 19 Jan 2012
By 
L. Topp "toppuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is well done and in a spooky way, shows what was then and what is now. I hope they do a documentary on the ghosts that haunt the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Docu-Dramas yet, 28 Sep 2006
This review is from: Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although I have not yet bought the DVD I certaintly plan to. This wa sone of the best docu-dramas on Rome I have ever seen. Not was it historically very accurate but you were also able to get a fell for the people involved. You connected with them and that really helps you get into the story. I thought it was interesting to see the different classes in society each dealt with the disaster from the aristocracy in their great villas to the slaves and each had to overcome personal struggles at the same time.Definitly a ten out ten for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical re-creation, 9 Feb 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The documentary on the Colosseum (not quite a docu-drama, but done in a dramatic fashion that makes things a bit more interesting than a straight lecture piece) follows the story of Verus, one of the most famous gladiators in Roman history, and his friend (and occasional rival) Priscus. Verus and Priscus date from the inaugural games of the Colosseum, at that time known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, built by the Emperor Vespasian and opened by his son, Titus. Verus and Priscus were both slaves, caught in different parts of the empire during different wars, but ended up in the same quarry and had the same fate, to be selected and trained as gladiators for Rome.

The documentary works to dispel many of the false notions about gladiators and similar entertainments of the time. Many gladiators were not slaves, but rather willing participants after fame and fortune. Most gladiators did not die in the arena - in fact, survival chances were as high as ninety percent, and those who were injured got the best medical care in Rome. While animals were used as entertainment, often they would cower at the sound of the crowd and the overwhelming sense of being surrounded, which surely must have affected the human participants, too.

The match between Verus and Priscus is one of the few recorded in detail in Roman literature, and the words and situations shown in this documentary come from the records of the time. The poet Martial wrote an extensive description of their match during the inaugural games; other archaeological and historical research provided insight to filling out the rest of the story. The acting is well done, and the sets and effects are convincing, with high production values.

This documentary gives insight into worlds far removed from our modern times, and yet make sense in many ways - human nature and aspiration continues to share many common threads, even with people thousands of years ago. This is part of our own history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In case you didn't already know.., 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Just purchased the DVD Pompeii - didn't know that USA DVD's are incompatible with European DVD players. There should be a little warning somewhere. My star rating doesn't reflect the content (which I know is fantastic), but simply the fact that I haven't been able to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you live in the UK, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD does not work in the Uk. I have asked for my money back but I haven't received it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pompeii: The Last Day [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£4.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews