Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and well staged performance
The opening set is impressive in scale, inside Solomons temple with multi layered terraces, the activity of the chorus is on a par with the set.
Samuel Ramey as Zaccara is past his best, but still pretty good. Gwyn Hughes Jones as Ismael is however a real treat to listen to, a beautifully clear voiced tenor. Wendy White is only a pace behind with her excellent mezzo...
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by I. Zaneres

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abigaille, 3 sizes too large for Maria Guleghina
What must have been a wonderful evening at the Met. was ruined for me by Maria Guleghina who could get nowhere near the extremely difficult tessitura and coloratura of the role. The role is far too taxing for her.
Souliotis managed it for a few years, as did Ghena Dimitrova - but even she with her ample voice could not manange the coloratura runs. Callas in the early...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by H.J.Legge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and well staged performance, 24 Nov 2012
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The opening set is impressive in scale, inside Solomons temple with multi layered terraces, the activity of the chorus is on a par with the set.
Samuel Ramey as Zaccara is past his best, but still pretty good. Gwyn Hughes Jones as Ismael is however a real treat to listen to, a beautifully clear voiced tenor. Wendy White is only a pace behind with her excellent mezzo. When Maria Guleghina as Abigail starts her first aria, you realise she is a real showstopper. The trio Lo t'amava is a piece of real quality.
At the end of the act Juan Pons as Nabucco arrives in a chariot, he cuts an impressive figure, with his usual impressive voice. The ensuing mix of chorus and soloists is surely one of operas magic moments. The burning of the temple is quite a surprise and excitingly staged.
In act two back in Babylon the set is also expansive, Abigail reveals her prejudices and ambitions with her impressive voice. She is joined by Stephen Morschich, high priest of Baal, who does not have a lot to do but he does do it well. Pons comes into his own later in the act, he is very good in character, and has a magnificent voice.
Act three sees the return of Morschich, who confirms his earlier promise. The duets between Pons and Guleghina are most enjoyable.
Scene two is the Hebrew chorus , it is everything one could wish for, and does have a little suprise at the end.
In act four scene 1 Pons gives a moving performance in his re-awakening as a convert to the Hebrew faith.
Scene two, after the funeral march Wendy White is superb in her farewell to life as she awaits execution.
In the nick of time Nabucco comes to the rescue, frees the Hebrews, abd reveals the fate of Abigail. In true operatic fashion Abigail has a dying aria, beautifully done by Guleghina, in which she confesses how bad she has been, and asks forgiveness.
Thoroughly recommended, good picture, clear sound and a comprehensive booklet, all that you could want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this version, 7 Aug 2013
By 
E. WOOLSTON (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I do have another version of this opera on CD Verdi: Nabucco which I love but this one is not a disappointment. I loved Maria Guleghina as the warlike Abigaille; I can see why she is so popular in this role - sexy, passionate and fierce yet touching, vocally as well as in person and she really can get the part across, Juan Pons is very good as Nabucco. The staging is simple but effective. Gwyn Hughes Jones makes a very hot, sweaty Ismael but his voice acts the part especially in 'Che si vuol?' and Wendy Smith bravely takes up the baton of the relatively uninteresting role of Fenena. Samuel Ramey, a true veteran of opera, carries off the High Priest's role, although I prefer Evgeny Nesterenko on the aforementioned CD.

James Levine is outstanding in his conducting. He brings out everything that is beautiful in the music, subtle and understated and the choral parts have real depths. He is able to rein together those passages where everyone is singing something different to let you hear what Verdi had in mind when he wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nabucco, 7 Oct 2010
By 
J. Staveley "Madbard" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having wasted money on a useless DVD of this opera, I then bought this version which had all the information I needed. There were sub-titles so I was able to understand what was happening and what the characters were singing. A very enjoyable experience, excellently sung and produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great production, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this production. Singing and acting superb. I recently saw the ROH production and have to say that this is much better. I will certainly be watching and listening to this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verdi's Nabucco, 9 Mar 2013
By 
E. Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
i had never before listened to this opera and was only familiar with the slaves chorus. Reading a critique in the Mail on Sunday
persuaded me that should put this right. It is all that I could have hoped for and more. Pe3rhaps having played through it a dozen or two more times I will be able to form a more considered opinion of the performers,but, for now, I love it all.
Well packed and excellent deliver time, well up to Amazon standards
Eric Hulme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nabucco at the Arena, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an impressive setting for a brilliant opera, and the light fades spectacularly over Verona from dusk to night!

Nucci is a great Nabucodonosor and he and Abigaille (Guleghina) with Assirian troops and Hebrew Levites make a great impact; balanced by Zaccaria and his impassioned prophesying. Fenena and Ismaele are the unhappy couple in the story which turns up well in the end!

What's always dissappointing about the opera in performance is the prolonged applause between "va pensiero" and the "prophesy". This unnecessary hiatus upsets the dramatic effect of the reprimand that follows it. The homesick sighs of the Hebrew chorus should be abruptly interrupted by Zaccaria's defiant call to them and his vision of impending doom for Babylon.

The scenery was very stylized and perhaps a shade too much so; but the ballet movement sequences of the Assyrian army were credible of armed forces parading in front of any dictator.

This is however a good and well recorded version and is recommended for Verdi enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TRADIONAL PRODUCTION, 30 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. A. P. Wilkinson (UK CHESHESIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
EXCELLENT CLASSICAL PRODUCTION OF THIS OPERA FROM THE MET. MUCH BETTER THAN THESE MODERN PRODUCTIONS. WELL CAST AND BRILLANTLY CONDUCTED BY JAMES LEVINE AS ALWAYS. WELL WORTH IT FOR THE PRICE TO. BOOKLETS ARE ALWAYS EXCELLENT TO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, 10 April 2011
By 
Jordi & Olga (Girona, Spain, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Not much to add to the title, a great joy to watch and listen.
Perhaps the encore of the Slaves' choir being the top feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abigaille, 3 sizes too large for Maria Guleghina, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What must have been a wonderful evening at the Met. was ruined for me by Maria Guleghina who could get nowhere near the extremely difficult tessitura and coloratura of the role. The role is far too taxing for her.
Souliotis managed it for a few years, as did Ghena Dimitrova - but even she with her ample voice could not manange the coloratura runs. Callas in the early 1950's could cope. What a pity EMI cannot clean up the old recording to issue. Just listen to the EMI Macbeth!
Staging, presentation and DTS sound are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Enjoyable but not brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nabucco: Metropolitan Opera (Levine) [DVD] [2005]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews